Ireland politics (Part 2)

Indeed -

I saw that tweet earlier and the response here has been exactly as expected. TFK, home to permanently outraged middle aged misogynists.

Hold on a second pal - AOR got brickbats too . The reaction was gender neutral

If you’re referring to me I object. I completely believe Ruane and even AOR. I would say the Nì Chofaigh one happened but it wasn’t misogyny related.

You won’t in my humble opinion. FFG will circle the wagons and cobble the required numbers together to rule in perpetuity. Sinn Féin would require almost 70 seats to be in with a shout of forming an administration and I, for one can’t conceivably see this. They’re on 35 and realistically the additional seats aren’t just there even with a sizeable wind in their backs.

The bould Blathnaid gave Baz Ashwanmy some dunt on that “How low can you go” show.

The seal has been broken, as the nice irish girls say when they’re going for a piss

Looks like you thinks wrong

Can easily see it happening. A lot of people have a set against howya dubs. Seen it when out and about with a lad I know from work. Guards would be fair ignorant to him for instance.

I refer to the context - the barman saying “do you know who I am “ and if it happened why .

Sean Fleming did a fantastic job for the government on drivetime today. He had managed for piss off the whole country.

People should shop around when voting and avoid finna fail, fine gael and the greens. Ensure that your elderly relatives know where to shop as they tend not to and stick with the old utilities like the esb/bord gas/eircom stuck on pricey plans

Someone had a word in his ear. :slight_smile:

Not like Sean to misjudge the mood of the country.

Hopefully Sean’s son is on the straight and narrow now after his 18 months in jail a few years back.

What was this for?

A TD’s son has been given 18 months behind bars for a litany of offences including stoning a priest’s horse until it was cut and bruised, assault and indecency at a golf club.

The teen, 18-year-old Peter Fleming is the only child of Laois TD, Sean Fleming.

The Fianna Fail politician has publicly apologised on behalf of the Fleming family, saying: “I am truly sorry and the family is very sorry for all the difficulties Peter caused to a lot of people along the way.”

The popular Laois TD refused to comment much further on the case this week, which saw his son put behind bars for a series of charges including assault, criminal damage, cruelty to animals, indecency, unauthorised taking of a vehicle, threatening and abusive behaviour and being drunk in public.

“Hopefully while in custody he’ll be allowed to get himself together,” Sean Fleming TD said. It is believed the politician has stood by his wayward son, supporting him at various court appearances leading up to his sentencing last week.

Before passing sentence in the case, Judge Gerard Haughton said the court and probation services had “done everything possible” to assist Peter Fleming, but that he had continued to throw their help “back in their faces”.

Peter Fleming from Silveracre, Castletown, Laois was before court on 11 separate charges that occurred over the past 18 months in the area.

You can choose your friends but you can’t choose your family.

Maybe if Sean and the decision makers put a bit more effort in and came up with something that helps those worse off. For example, rather than giving both a poor and wealthy family €100 off their lecky bill you give 10 poor families €110 and stop giving hand outs to the wealthy that they probably don’t want anyway.