You could say theyâve made it worse.
Indeed you could.
Our health system has never been as bad either.
They have failed at their job
People have always become wealthy when owning an asset.
People were more wealthy off property in the 2000s when we were buildings 10s of thousands more units a year.
It isnât a conspiracy.
Its not a conspiracy but the game is rigged in favour of those who have money. Everyone else runs to keep up. When the people who matter in your country i.e. teachers, nurses and guards cant buy gaffs then youâre fucked. Varadkar doesnt understand this. He just thinks everyone should get 40 grand off their parents for a deposit.(it would be nowhere near enough these days anyway). This is what fuels public anger, itâs what drives the hatred of ffg from anyone under 35.
Anyway, thank fuck Holly Cairns is here to sort it all out.
Funds own a tiny % of property in Ireland.
Currently their influence is growing because due to the RPZs we have seen people reluctant to move and it started the phase of smaller landlords leaving the market.
Then we had this other short termist âsolutionâ, the eviction ban, which has driven that further.
There is a lot of apartments hitting the market currently and in the next 12 months. You could say âfundsâ have more control- but that isnât going to last with current policies. Current policies will stop them investing full stop- as nobody sane puts money into developing something under such rigid terms.
As a matter of interest @Thomas_Brady, do you have a private pension? Where do you think the money for most âfundsâ come from?
Was this put up on here? Powerful. SF sent home with tae in their mugs
âRiggedâ because post financial crash we put in place the strictest mortgage borrowing rules in Europe in order to âsave us from ourselvesâ.
Varadkar makes silly statements but that is neither here nor there. We currently have an eviction ban ffs, some neo liberal paradise.
I honestly think the lads who want RPZs and eviction bans now after seeing them in action just want to see the world burn. Itâs pretty clear the negative impact theyâre having. Knowing it will drive all private capital out of the market might be the dream of many but it isnât a solution.
250k homes short @400k a unit. Thatâs more than the voted expenditure for the country in a year, and weâd still have to be building another 50k on top to keep up. You can be in favour of wanting a lot more state housing but they arenât going to be able to do it by themselves, no matter how much people crow about a Vienna model.
What was SFâs response?
1 no. Rigged because ordinary folk are unable to buy houses and new builds are being bought up by investors to rent back to the same folk. Someone paying 2 grand in rent struggles to save but that 2 grand doesnt neccessarily count at present towards them being granted a mortgage. You need a shit tonne of savings and to show regular savings on top. And god bless you if youâre self employed. I went through it and my bro is going through it now. Rigged because the much vaunted tax for developers hoarding land is still unused however much bullshit there has been about it. Rigged because the private pension owners who own apartments and gaffs dont have to pay tax on profits cos its a pension. Housing here is a very lucrative investment. Thats why there are so many pension funds in it. How about we change that for the good of society. Imagine the positive change if over a third of our demographic wasnt utterly fucked financially and unable to plan for the future. Imagine the knock on economical benefits?
2 Varadkar is taoiseach. His statements do indeed matter.
3 youve decided i want rpzs and eviction bans now have you. Fair play to you. Im in favour of rpzs., not eviction bans.
4 so worse than we were doing a few years ago? Wow. Surely thatâs an indication that current policy is flawed? Would you think we might change direction and have a rethink so? Or plough on digging a bigger hole and throwing more money into it?
Maybe Iâm wrong but I donât think this is the problem, itâs policy and political will.
Iâm not clear - and maybe some of our card carrying Shinners could inform me - but are Sinn Fein in favour of small private landlords in the market or would they prefer them out?
Any idea what the response was? @locke takes a balanced approach and has informed us that he weighs up both sides before coming to a conclusion. Surely he listened to Kwasiâs response⌠As you did yourself no doubt?
Funds own a tiny % of property in Ireland.
Have you figures on this?
Funds have invested 10bn since 2018 alone, not to mind dating back to 2008 ⌠Are you including all property like council estates built in the 1950s and single build old farmhouses scattered all over the country when you say âproperty in Irelandâ? Or would you be more genuine in your thought sharing and are alluding to prime urban rental and new builds say over the last 10-15 years? Are you suggesting funds who own houses in the hundreds and thousands have no negative impact on young people renting or buying? Thatâs a fine take on things.
The government themselves had to step in and restrict such investment schemes from snapping up so many new builds but not to worry, they only hold a small percentage of total property so nothing to see here⌠Oh and pensions. You have a pension so thatâs that all sorted now. Thatâs how things are done so march along please.
Next youâll roll out your classic⌠Well theyâre having a housing crisis in East Timor also, so thereâŚ
Thereâs been a number of government interventions re funds and alternative Investment schemes controlling and buying property. There clearly is an issue⌠You can say it, it wonât make you a sell out to your neoliberal principals. But i also presume a number of these lads have probably cashed in over recent months
Sinn Fein IRA are in favour of private landlords.
They are also of the view that private landlords should not be able to increase rents for 3 years or evict a tenant to sell the property or to use the property for themself or a family member.
Private landlords are exiting the market partly because of current policies and party because of a fear that SF IRA will seek to make their position more untenable.
You could argue the State should just acquire all private accommodation currently rented out to tenants in receipt of social welfare as itâs a national emergency.
The clip ended but it was an FF clip so theyâll hardly put up what SF said.
A very one sided analysis from you.
fear that SF IRA will seek to make their position more untenable
You did a national survey did you
SF wonât do anything radical. The 5 year party system is utterly fruitless and redundant.
Were you able to dig it out yourself? Feel free to put it up here, for balance sake.
You could argue the State should just acquire all private accommodation currently rented out to tenants in receipt of social welfare as itâs a national emergency.
The front of the Irish Times today suggests that a scheme similar to this is in operation but that local authorities in Dublin only purchased 13 properties (out of more than 400 offered to them).