Pay cuts in 2009 beg to differ
I was in the Iveagh Gardens there for the first time in my life today. Grand little spot. Seemed to be full of trainee accountants and solicitors.
The government can do anything that is not ârepugnant to the constitutionâ.
Iâve already stated that it constrains itself only by which higher authorities it sees fit (the EU for instance).
It would not be repugnant to the constitution to stop consultants on full pay getting huge amounts extra for doing private cases on their public lists. The private patients are not subsidizing the public, they are transplanting them.
It is to my mind wrong, and the govt should stop it, which they could, were they so minded.
It is alright. Part of the old UCD.
These consultants have permanent contracts. Contracts must be honoured. If the government tries to unilaterally change the contracts they can go to court and have their contracts upheld. This is very basic stuff.
Yes, of course, this is and always has been the problem with Irelandâs health system policy.
Nov 15 or 22nd is the date apparently
Wonât be the 15th, clashes with the rugby vs Argentina so they wonât want to inconvenience the good people of south county Dublin and run the risk of them heading to the Aviva straight after work and not voting.22nd is fairly nailed on Iâd say.
Both Harris and Martin were on the radio this morning and said that there wonât be an election in November. Both said there was legislation that wanted to get through the DĂ il before an election. Martin said he preferred February. I am sure they wouldnât lie.
When the election is called, it will be simply because they had no choice. There will be no liars.
I wonder what other stunts they can pull in the next few months to increase their popularity if they do leave the election until the spring?
Leave a mic in front of Pearse and Mary Lou.
The election will be in November. Otherwise they will have to run 5 by-elections before the General, which theyâre not going to do. Theyâll use this as the excuse by saying that theyâre taking the public interest in to account or some such palaver.
How long do you have to be T-Shock before you get the big boy pension?
Is there a minimum notice period for an Irish election?
I think he has to be two years to get a pension based on the Taoiseach salary, but heâd be already due a nice pension based on his years as a minister.
The notion that the majority of Oirish politicians have an actual ideology beyond feathering their own nest is comical. The Twitterati thinking Paddy McSpud from Mayo is a âneoliberalâ and not a fella with eyes on knocking out the maximum ministerial pension.
Incorrect. The likes of Mike Lowwwwwwwwwwry and the Healy Raes are also trying to feather the nest of their people.
The craic is completely gone out of this election surely with the relative collapse of SF? Itâs an absolute certainly to be FF FG again with the only question being which smaller party/independents join them. And how many votes the Gavin pepper types get but even that issue seems to have run out of steam a bit.
15 November