Ireland politics (Part 2)

I remember having to drive up to Dublin, staying in the Skylon in Drumcondra then heading out to some printers at 4 or 5am to collect the budget briefing brochures for the budget breakfast in Jury’s or somewhere the following morning. Grand mileage trip.

Heady days indeed!

PwC’s one got so big they had to have it in the Convention centre. Three choice of eggs and even kippers if they took your fancy and then you’d see poor old Cian O’Sullivan later in the day dismissed to the Laois or Kildare chamber of ‘commerce’ telling mick Muldoon how many acres he could gift to his childer before tax kicked in.

In the halcyon days by the time Biffo had emptied his briefcase you’d be cartwheeling down Dawson Street accidentally stabbing people with your Anglo Irish Bank umbrella

Sharon giving Meehawl a right going over on the news here

Not a bad way to be.

The 2’11 budget when they introduced USC was certainly one we noticed.

He’s batting her away with ease. He’s become a much better speaker over the years

Would they ever just go, actually lads things are grand, no need for any changes this year.

Brian Farrell was the man for a budget

https://www.rte.ie/archives/exhibitions/1333-memorable-budgets/1340-budget-1987/336558-budget-87/

It’s very hard to take skin off a skeleton says Kieran Mulvey.

John Bull and Francois Frog haven’t a pot to piss in but Paddy still motoring

Would you have got 58c a mile for that?

Paschal vs Pearse coming up on Primetime

Twas pence in those days.

About 40 I’d say

I know this lad is biased but surely this increase is huge given you’ve a swathe of lads doing it themselves and often being more accurate than Met Eireann themselves

Jim Power out of breath talking on Primetime here. And he hasn’t moved. Too many years eating from the trough I’d say

I’ve a lad in school who is top class at it. Had that storm thing down before it went mainstream and had pinpointed Galway and it’s coastline.

It’s gas really, we had money coming out of our ears last budget and plenty of money for one off payments and energy credits just in time for the general election.

Now, all of a sudden we have to be careful.

Micheal Martins best move was surrounding himself with weaklings and people who are just happy to be elected. Every single one of them devoid of political ambition. He seems to have a crazy hold over them. He is undoubtedly ruthless and vindictive behind the scenes. His treatment of Dara Calleary that time on the one hand but turning a blind eye to Seamus Woulfe on the other was stark. Voting no confidence in Simon Harris as Minister for health but voting for him as Taoiseach is typical of the cognitive dissonance of the man.

With climate change and the increase in weather events, we need more accurate early warning systems