Nope, Honohan is in great form this season, would be shocked if he doesnāt get a move to England as soon as the next transfer window.
While I only saw parts of last nightās game because I was in a constant battle with the RTE Player to get it to work, the bits I saw of it served to reaffirm my previous bias about Knight being a nothing player.
However Iād never seen Ryan Manning play before last night and what I saw served to dispel my previous assumption that he was a nothing player. He was very enterprising, as Ger Canning would say, and seemed to take on the role as a sort of emotional heart of the team, as did Ogbene when he came on. Manning appears to be a GOOD LAD.
I thought Kelleher could have done better for the goal, he seemed to lean back rather than stand up. But I accept he was pretty decent outside of this.
I am hopeful that Ireland were sort of caught with their pants down early on in a way that can happen to a team. I have personal experience of this sort of thing as when I try to practice a difficult new bass line I tend to fluff the first note. Like if it starts off on fret 5 on the E string, Iāll probably play fret 6 on the G string and not even hit the string properly, resulting in a sort of farting sound. But then out of embarrassment Iāll hit most of the right notes for the rest of the song. That was a bit like Ireland last night.
The first half was like Father Tedās Eurovision entry, the second half was Dick Byrneās.
Ken Early.
Seriously?
Do you not think Ken knows a lot about football?
Heās a random nerdy sports journalist with a ridiculously obnoxious voice and general annoying demeanour.
Apart from that heās fine.
I really like his voice and general demeanour and I think he knows a lot about football.
About time we gave ourselves a chance @Little_Lord_Fauntleroy
Josh Cone-ohan
Well I would safely say that Josh Cullen didnāt run the show against Man Utd.
Wasnāt it Eamon dunphy who said early had no eyes or ears.
Himself and Pitt broke, Miguel and Wilson and the likes havenāt a clue.
Very little he could do for either goal and diving to claw the ball away from the striker in the first half stopped it being game over.
Did you watch that game?
The only bits of it I saw were the own goal off Cullenās backside and about the last 30 seconds of the game. It did seem to me though through what I heard on the grapevine that Burnley competed well against the might of Manchester United which seems to be a decent reflection on Cullen, who may not be a maestro or anything but heās possibly not as shite as some people try to make out. I mean he was the main midfield player last season for a team that finished second in Division 2 on goal difference and got 100 points from a maximum of 138 which is very good going.
Didnāt you say Brighton would win the Premier League before Liverpool would?
Does that mean you have no eyes or ears and donāt have a clue?
I hate Liverpool but I think Kelleher is our best keeper.
Not that it matters who I support. Hate that nonsense of united fan canāt praise a Liverpool player or vice versa
Liverpool and Brighton owners are very pro Israel it seems.
He was very poor for the first goal. Indecisive & made it easy for yer man to score.
Log off and get yourself a cup of tea mate, itās not even midday on a Sunday morning and youāve already driven yourself demented about Liverpool.
The Hungarian fellas meltdown for the sending off was very much a blast from the past. I didnāt think fellas with combustible temperaments like that got professional contracts any more. It was like something Paolo di Canio would do.
Having looked at the first Hungarian goal for the first time just now is it not obvious it was primarily Dara OāSheaās fault? He was like a moving statue of Ballinspittle.
The second midfielder I canāt make out who timidly stood off the Hungarian player as he knocked the ball through has to take some blame too. At least I think itās Dara OāShea. Number 4. The guy nearest the goalscorer.
I donāt think Kelleherās positioning could have been any better as he has to assume the defender will prove to be some impediment to the Hungarian attacker rather than allowing him through like a kind steward at a Tipperary club hurling match gives @peddlerscross a wink as he allows him in the gate for free.
He probably could have stood up more but the assumption would surely be a low shot rather than a higher up one.
He has a great ability of making savable shots look unsavable by not trying too hard to stop them