Long
i like the look of that actually,
Hendricks is shite, looked overweight last night also
Randolph
Coleman Keogh O’Shea Ward
Walters McCarthy Whelan Brady
Hoolahan
Long
Much prefer Brady left wing also. The only changes I’d make is Whelan for Hendrick & O’Shea for Clarke. Think O’Shea is marginally better than Clarke, and we need Whelan to protect that defence as it’s septic. It would allow Brady and Walters to get further forward too.
Think it’ll be more along these lines though.
Randolph
Coleman Keogh O’Shea Brady
Hendrick McCarthy Whelan Walters
Hoolahan
Long
i stand over my prediction that sweden will be our most difficult game as the players ( bar zlatan) are very similar to us, itll be like a glorified league 1 game in terms of skill with a lot of hoofball, we hoof to Long, they hoof to Zlatan
itll be the same type of game as the shite v scotland, we’ll do a job on Belgium i think and im relatively confident of beating a poor Italy
we never really go out to win a game or take it to the opposition, bar say gibralter , we nearly fucked it up v Georgia, we piss teams off, defend , attack on the break and plonk in set pieces, and we’ll come up short v sweden
Belgium were awful in 2014 , they could be anything here but i think we;ll get a heroic backs to the wall point setting up the mother of all occasions v italy
sweden 2 ireland 0
ireland 0 belgium 0
italy 0 ireland 1
italy wont score a goal and are going out after round 1
Randolph*
Coleman Keogh O’Shea Brady
McCarthy Whelan
Hendrick Walters McClean
Long
* I’d much prefer Westwood but that isn’t going to happen.
Put Walters out wide,Hoolahan in the middle instead of Hendrick and that is the team which will start against the Swedes.The only possible switch would be Clark in for Keogh.Westwood making the squad was brilliant but equally McGeady getting selected was disgraceful,McGoldrick is a far more versatile player and Brady and Coleman can both play on the wings if needs be with Ward and Christie providing cover in the full back positions.
Are we doing a roll call for this yet?
Going to the Italy game after my tickets arrived last week!
I think we should
Doubt McClean will start. He is a liability unless there is loads of space. Good sub to bring on though
Randolph
Coleman - O’Shea © - Keogh - Brady
Whelan - McCarthy
Walters - Hoolahan - Hendrick
Long
I agree re Westwood and if that wasn’t enough Chippy also agrees with us
I am also in 100% agreement, Westwood has been the best Irish keeper for a few years. Randolph is often caught in no mans land. He is far too indecisive and I feel he will cost us points.
Westwood
Coleman Clark O’Shea Brady
Walters McCarthy Whelan McClean
Hoolahan
Long
The key being to keep Wes and Shane fit.
An injury to either would be a disaster.
I’d love to have faith in Ward and put Brady further up the field but I can’t forgive him for the finals in 2012.
Is this the official match day thread?
Anyway, pre match nerves kicking in big time. I hope that big nosed cunt Zlatan breaks his leg.
My blind optimism was close to the ‘first day out in championship for Limerick hurling’ levels about a week ago but as things got closer - this has a feel of 2012 about it. A heap of our main players are or have been carrying knocks. I’d take a draw right now
Am I the only one who would start Murphy ahead of Long in this game? I’d definately start Long against Belgium and Italy as I would expect both of those sides to look to dominate us in possession and his pace would give them a lot to worry about but I expect Sweden to set up to be fairly compact and not over commit too many men forward. I’d start Murphy and look for him to put himself about for an hour and look to bully/unsettle their centre halves and then look to bring on Long and McClean on the hour and really look to really go at them and lift the pace which both have done to decent effect off the bench.
========Westwood======
Coleman-Clark-Keogh-Brady
=====Whelan-McCrathy====
Walters==Houlahan==Hendrick
========Slab===========
I’m honestly getting so sick of the simpering I’m beginning to hope for a swift exit.
Ah here.
Fuck up…