Ireland vs Moldova & Wales v Ireland - World Cup Qualifiers 06/10/2017 & 09/10/2017

Slab will start so and itā€™ll be up to Maguire to score the winner after Murphy comes off with concussion from heading long balls to no one.

Murphy unlike Long is actually able to head the ball and put it in the direction of his team mates. Long technique seems to be just let the ball hit him in the head and hope for the best

He loves to glance a header off the top of his head and hope for the best

any of ye over there lads?
itā€™ll be an atrocious game, standard championship or League One fare, two very poor teams on paper but both capable of a performance when needed
i can see us loosing 2 or 3 nil TBH, theyā€™re on a right roll at the moment

Iā€™ve had a premonition that Wayne Hennessey makes a catastrophic mistake in the Wales goal to get us into the play-off.

cc @Rocko.

no

Losing.

Did Scunthorpeā€™s Paddy Madden lead the line for Ireland when we last played Wales at Cardiff City Stadium?

That theory is being brandied about .

Long would have been a decent option off the bench late on but so be it.

I think Ireland have a great chance tonight, Ashley Williams has been playing like a clown lately and I think heā€™s due a big mistake or two.

Iā€™d hope McGeady starts, he has the ability to create chances and makes himself available when a lot of players shy away from the ball. The fact that both teams need to win is a good thing for us.

was that the 2-2 in 2007?
i dont know
i was at Israel and Russia that night

The 2007 game was played in an empty Millenium stadium, think Don Givens was caretaker manager at the time. Wales scored a late penalty to level it. An awful drab game

No, the 2-2 was in the Millenium Stadium. I recall a Paul McShane howler. Stephen Ireland scored the winner in a 1-0 Croke Park victory earlier in that campaign. A eveningā€™s and nightā€™s drinking in the dearly departed Sackville Lounge after that Saturday 3pm kick off.

The 0-0 in Cardiff City Stadium was a 2013 friendly. RTE reveals that Madden came on in the 69th minute of this memorable encounter:
https://www.google.ie/amp/www.rte.ie/amp/468180/

Shane Long is OUT of the game tonight.

Go way?

Seriously, Iā€™m in shock. Would have been a great man to spring from the bench for the last 10 mins if needed.

+1. Historically his best showings for us have come thusly. To say heā€™s no loss is to overestimate our options without him.

can someone please explain to me why Gary Shaw hasnā€™t been called up?

Because Oā€™Neill is a fud

Oā€™kneel is to blame if we donā€™t qualify

100%

His constant chopping and changing of personnel and formation and his pigheadedness in starting Long has cost us. He is a dinosaur