Ireland vs Poland

No. The exact same eleven would be more O Neills style.

have we anything else but a second string side?

Yes obviously

Sat down and watched the game last night after being in an incredibly bad mood on Monday with the result. Don’t know why the fuck I’m bothering with this is what I thought as I started wacthing it. I was pleasantly surprised. Thought we played really well and unlucky not to win it. The Poles are a good side, technically very good. The goal was unfortunate, Peszko took it very well. I don’t actually think it was all Brady’s fault. I think Wilson’s called out to him as he tries to control the ball (Robbie, why are you facing the wrong way btw?) to pass it to him, Brady looks over and passes to him. Disaster ensues, when Brady should have been thinking and Wilson should have been shouting put it out for a throw. Brady’s set pieces were for the most part not good (they were muck really). Someone also needs to introduce Robbie Brady to Aiden McGeady. “Robbie, Aiden. Aiden, Robbie. Now can the two of you walk over to that training pitch there with a ball and figure out how not to get in each other’s way every fucking time and learn how to overlap with each other please?”. McGeady looked absolutely bolloxed when he came off.
@Bandage, I’m not sure where you’re coming from with your assertion on Coleman. Thoght he was good going forward in parts, defensively suspect, but certainly not one of his better games. Should have scored as well.
It was only about the 30th minute I realised James McCarthy was playing. He was much better in the second half and his passing was good then. But he was missing in the first half, when the peerless Wes Hoolahan was storming around the place, tackling, running, passing, generally bossing everything. Too much reliance on Hoolahan to do everything, especially in the first half. He needs someone to win the ball and give it to him and protect him. Not sure McCarthy is that man. Glenn Whelan (who was better than I’ve seen him in the past) is too busy buffering the CB’s to do this (O’Shea imperious, Wilson very good, nice tackle on Lewandowski? towrads the end). If only we had another red headed midfielder called James who plays like a fucking football equivalent of a cyclone, could win the ball, boss midfield and let Hoolahan do his thing. That would be great.
James McLean was fucking awesome when he came on. Maybe we should play him in a more central role?
Walters was good, though he drifts out of the game for long periods. Robbie (and I say this with all due respect to a man who has scored 65 international goals), aside from the frankly bizarre sight of seeing him tracking a player and making a tackle in our box, was muck. Spent most of the game looking like an old woman whinging for a free. He looked old and I’ve never seen that before. Off the bench he would be great. We don’t play the type of football Robbie needs. What we need are CF’s who can draw defenders out of the box and leave gaps for the wingers. It would be nice if we started to cross the fucking ball from the wings once in a while. We don’t cross often enough. Shane Long scored a goal, therefore he did his job. I reckon if he had a sustained run as the main forward, he’d score a lot more. Robbie won’t.
A lot to work on, but overall, it was a far more intelligent and committed performance than what I’ve seen previously. They actually looked like they knew what they were doing most of the time.
We won’t qualify of course, and we have to look at replacements for O’Shea and probably Hoolahan, who can’t play like this all the time, if he was 25 maybe, but he’s not. I’d be interested to see what Harry Arter can do.
What’s the story with Forde? Shay played well (fuck all to do really), but I thought Forde was the man?
Oh, and I’d like to see Roy Keane with his haircut from 1994 fucked out of the set up.

[QUOTE=“Fitzy, post: 1116423, member: 236”]Sat down and watched the game last night after being in an incredibly bad mood on Monday with the result. Don’t know why the fuck I’m bothering with this is what I thought as I started wacthing it. I was pleasantly surprised. Thought we played really well and unlucky not to win it. The Poles are a good side, technically very good. The goal was unfortunate, Peszko took it very well. I don’t actually think it was all Brady’s fault. I think Wilson’s called out to him as he tries to control the ball (Robbie, why are you facing the wrong way btw?) to pass it to him, Brady looks over and passes to him. Disaster ensues, when Brady should have been thinking and Wilson should have been shouting put it out for a throw. Brady’s set pieces were for the most part not good (they were muck really). Someone also needs to introduce Robbie Brady to Aiden McGeady. “Robbie, Aiden. Aiden, Robbie. Now can the two of you walk over to that training pitch there with a ball and figure out how not to get in each other’s way every fucking time and learn how to overlap with each other please?”. McGeady looked absolutely bolloxed when he came off.
@Bandage, I’m not sure where you’re coming from with your assertion on Coleman. Thoght he was good going forward in parts, defensively suspect, but certainly not one of his better games. Should have scored as well.
It was only about the 30th minute I realised James McCarthy was playing. He was much better in the second half and his passing was good then. But he was missing in the first half, when the peerless Wes Hoolahan was storming around the place, tackling, running, passing, generally bossing everything. Too much reliance on Hoolahan to do everything, especially in the first half. He needs someone to win the ball and give it to him and protect him. Not sure McCarthy is that man. Glenn Whelan (who was better than I’ve seen him in the past) is too busy buffering the CB’s to do this (O’Shea imperious, Wilson very good, nice tackle on Lewandowski? towrads the end). If only we had another red headed midfielder called James who plays like a fucking football equivalent of a cyclone, could win the ball, boss midfield and let Hoolahan do his thing. That would be great.
James McLean was fucking awesome when he came on. Maybe we should play him in a more central role?
Walters was good, though he drifts out of the game for long periods. Robbie (and I say this with all due respect to a man who has scored 65 international goals), aside from the frankly bizarre sight of seeing him tracking a player and making a tackle in our box, was muck. Spent most of the game looking like an old woman whinging for a free. He looked old and I’ve never seen that before. Off the bench he would be great. We don’t play the type of football Robbie needs. What we need are CF’s who can draw defenders out of the box and leave gaps for the wingers. It would be nice if we started to cross the fucking ball from the wings once in a while. We don’t cross often enough. Shane Long scored a goal, therefore he did his job. I reckon if he had a sustained run as the main forward, he’d score a lot more. Robbie won’t.
A lot to work on, but overall, it was a far more intelligent and committed performance than what I’ve seen previously. They actually looked like they knew what they were doing most of the time.
We won’t qualify of course, and we have to look at replacements for O’Shea and probably Hoolahan, who can’t play like this all the time, if he was 25 maybe, but he’s not. I’d be interested to see what Harry Arter can do.
What’s the story with Forde? Shay played well (fuck all to do really), but I thought Forde was the man?
Oh, and I’d like to see Roy Keane with his haircut from 1994 fucked out of the set up.[/QUOTE]
Agreed with much of that.

Keane isn’t really suitable to playing alone up front. It was never really ideal for him and it’s particularly acute now. But it was a bit disappointing how Hoolahan couldn’t manage to support him in the first half. Walters did a decent job of being up there in support of Keane but Hoolahan just drifted out of the game any time he went too far forward. My friend “Miguel” was ridiculously harsh in his post match assessment of Keane though. He said Keane “fluffed” his big chance - it was actually a decent header. And then complained about him getting in the way of Coleman, when he did fine at occupying the defender and then getting out of the way in loads of time and it was a poor hit by Coleman.

McClean would be shite in a central area.

Given is past it for at least 2 or 3 years unfortunately but he’s still better than Forde.

Disagree with most of that post by @Fitzy, especially where he says Coleman wasn’t good, Given was good and seemed to tout McClean as a centre midfield option.

ditzy should stick to AFL

The media cover-up of the disgraceful scenes outside the East Stand before this match has been sickening. I am going to write a strongly worded letter to the FAI to let my feelings known on the farcical scenes of hundreds of fans being stranded outside the ground through the actions of incompetent stewarding and poor crowd control planning and the subsequent cover-up.

That little pathway coming up along the river from Ringsend towards the Herbert Bridge (purple route) East Stand entrance is only 2/3 people wide and it was packed full of people moving along. There was no crushing but there wasn’t much of a Gardai or steward presence. Glad you got in and out safely, mate.

Thanks, pal. I’m glad someone is taking this seriously. “Yes I know your ticket says Herbert Bridge purple route but you should enter at London Bridge red route where there is already a massive queue due to the fact that we are searching people and don’t have adequate numbers to do this resulting in massive delays.” Cunts. What the fuck is the England match going to be like so.

We consistently play players out of position. Have we tried McLean in a central role? I reckon he’d be magnificent.

its quite brave of you to consider going to the England game considering how badly you were treated on Sunday

I’ve balls of steel, bro.

Wouldn’t happen with the GAA, they are ready for every eventuality and even have a Plan B for after big games…

His main attribute is running very fast in a straight line. What gives you the impression that he’d be good centrally

To be fair, GAA stewards don’t often search fans going into games. The only delay at the gates would be Tommy doing the ould one for the GAA, one for me routine at the gate. :wink:

The english game will be shit. It was shit in Wembley. Friendlies are shit. There will be zero trouble at the game but no doubt the media will build it up. Even if a load travel over they will be fucked after being on the beer on the Saturday. They will crawl out of bed have one pint and head down for the 1.00 kick off with no atmosphere. A load of pubs will stay closed until the game starts although that would only be half an hour anyway.

If there is any hassle it will be Saturday night or Sunday night and as there will be no Irish fans knocking about after a 1.00 kick off the ingerland fans will end up just fighting the Garda after picking one pub to engage in some high jink resulting in a few smashed windows.

[QUOTE=“Ebeneezer Goode, post: 1116598, member: 1785”]The english game will be shit. It was shit in Wembley. Friendlies are shit. There will be zero trouble at the game but no doubt the media will build it up. Even if a load travel over they will be fucked after being on the beer on the Saturday. They will crawl out of bed have one pint and head down for the 1.00 kick off with no atmosphere. A load of pubs will stay closed until the game starts although that would only be half an hour anyway.

If there is any hassle it will be Saturday night or Sunday night and as there will be no Irish fans knocking about after a 1.00 kick off the ingerland fans will end up just fighting the Garda after picking one pub to engage in some high jink resulting in a few smashed windows.[/QUOTE]
Agreed. I bought the tickets before they announced the kick off times. All friendlies are shit but I thought this might be a bit of craic before they announced a Sunday lunchtime kick-off. I would imagine that security will be tight on who comes over and there won’t be too many real hooligans over although the English fans looked scummy enough at the Italy game last night.

you sir are an utter tard

I’m starting to get the feeling you don’t like me.