It’s a British club to which middle class Irish lads with a void in their life have attached some misplaced sense of now irrelevant violent republicanism.
It, quite seriously, is bizarre, but if lads want to swell her majesty’s coffers, so be it.
It’s harmless enough.
It provides a safe place for them to get tooled up with an Easter lily, and sing “edgy” songs from the safety of a crowd. Maybe they feel more manly.
It is odd all the same.
Same lads wouldn’t go four stops down the luas to watch a successful Irish soccer team. Go figure.
One of the popular tropes of the haters that Celtic are only followed by “skobes” or “knackers”.
Now it’s the “middle class” who follow them.
So, what we can say is the love of Celtic is something that cuts across all classes in Ireland, yes?
Truly Ireland’s team.
the ra stooolers wouldn’t cross the road to watch a LOI game, its fascinating watching these apes justify their support of a British team
Not Irish
So is your number 1.
A love of man United does too sid.
No need to spell it out further.
Ireland beating Italy in 1994.
Actually winning a match in the World Cup against one of the world’s best teams.
Not Romania in 1990 where we won on penalties after the most dire match following a load of dire matches where we rode our luck.
Robbie Keane v Germany 2002 World Cup
It will be made up of the following moments in any order. To be clear I’m not in favour of any of these but I reckon this is the way that they’ll go.
- Ronnie Delaney winning Olympic Gold
- Ken Doherty winning the World Snooker Championship
- Katie Taylor winning Olympic Gold, may Michael Carruth will be included in the same position under the guise of ‘boxers win Olympic Gold’
- Harrington winning the back-to-back majors in 2008.
- I have a sneaky suspicion they’ll include winning the Ryder Cup on home soil.
- Grand Slam win in 2009, bit of VT about the success of the provinces in Europe as well.
- Italia 90 and USA 94 patched together in some manner
- Some horse racing bullshit to keep those odd people happy
- Barry McGuigan winning the world title
- Conor McGregor winning the second MMA belt.
- Kerry’s four in a row and Kilkenny’s four in a row covered on the same point
It would be odd to included Stephen Roche if they’re leaving out our swimmer from 1996 who shall not be named.
Have Irish sawkerr or rogbee ever won a knock out game in respective world cups ?
The soccer team have anyway mate.
Incorrect.
Against who ?
Romania
Game officially recorded as a draw .
No mate, we won on penalties.
They have indeed - against Czechoslovakia in 1958.
Who went through to the next round ??
I know but the game still recorded as a draw .
There wasn’t a single Irish player on the pitch in a game between an Italian club and a Scottish/British club.