Ireland's health service

Politicians and institutions are an accurate representation of a country, not a aberration.

We love to talk ourselves up.

We are largely a laughing stock

if you have insurance you are grand, only absolute mugs would go public in fairness, and if you do youre skipped by some unmarried tramp in her 20s with a medical card
my experience of the health service here has only been positive,albeit i must say the mental health services compared to Israel (that is unfair as its public services are incredible) seem very limited

get a proper job that pays insurance and youre grand, any fella not doing that is a reckless cunt and should have his kids taken off him if he is de prioritizing it

To an extent all nationalities and societies think they are special, but arguably no one to the irish extent of self delusion and celebration. Fueled perhaps by an over representation in Hollywood and popular culture by Irish Americans or other whites latching on to irishness as an acceptable/guilt free form of white heritage.

Greatest country in the world (at turning a blind eye to clerical child abuse)

capitalism

You are not grand with insurance

That’s unbelievable bollix

No its not.

It’s greedy opportunistic cunts messing with people’s health and shortening their lives

yes , imagine yourself w/o it tho?

Who actually took this decision? Harney was the Health Minister at the time - May 2008. She made a big play of the contract costing only 1/3 as much as it would have done had the tests been done in Ireland. You get what you pay for. Market ideology doesn’t work with something like this.

Olivia O’Leary had a good monologue on RTE Drivetime at around 6:20 this evening about it.

One of the biggest issues I see with my thankfully limited experience of the health service in Ireland is cunts with nothing to do but put down the day or a few days in hospitals.
I had the recent misfortune to end up on a trolly in CUH a&e department and it was chaos in there, one cunt in front of me appeared in with his bag packed for a stay, he tormented every passing health professional in the corridor telling them his medical history along with his life story, ended up he has a toothache and the doctor nearly had to push him out the door after recommending a visit to his local dentist, I’d say a good 90% of people there were not in any way ill, they all having a chat and comparing lunch menus etc.
Any time I’m in a hospital I see cunts like this blocking the place up and wasting vital resources because they’ve nothing else to do, it’s the same with the local GPs, a receptionist told me the single mothers use the surgery as a day out it gets the child a bit of attention, the vast vast majority of these people are simply abusing their free medical cards.
The cunts should be charged a huge fee each visit.
That’d sort out waiting lists and clogged a & e units in no time and leave the healthcare professionals to tend to the genuinely sick people.

Whatever about physical illness, you would want to be seriously mentally ill to want to spend a few hours in an Irish hospital let alone a few days.

There’s lots of them I’m told. Last summer I used to bring a fella into the hospital to his elderly mother every morning as he’s off the road, he’d spend the day in the hospital minding her and he was telling me about the cunts turning up in A & E and fuck all wrong with them, and most mornings the ‘trolley watch’ count would come on to Tipp fm and the powers that be moaning about it. Fuck them out if their not sick.

Good man @iron_mike. I hope you’re making out like a bandit.

That is really not fair.
Society couldn’t function without a significant proportion of its workers on the minimum wage.

But we think we’re great craic.

HSE director general Tony O’Brien is in line to receive substantial fees and share options this year from his role on the board of a publicly quoted US healthcare company that he joined in January.

Mr O’Brien (54), who announced last month he will leave the HSE in August, will receive fees totalling $65,000 (€54,000) a year from his work for San Diego-based Evofem Biosciences, a female contraceptive manufacturer, and share-buying options of $450,000 in his first three years.

Stock-market filings submitted by the Californian firm said Mr O’Brien joined the board in January 2018, two months before he announced publicly that he would be departing as director-general of the HSE when his contract expires in August.

The company referred to Mr O’Brien’s role leading the Irish national health service in a March 21st public statement to the stock market released in advance of its annual meeting next week.

Minister allowed O’Brien to join US firm while running HSE
As a non-executive director of the company Mr O’Brien will receive an “annual cash retainer” of $50,000 in addition to $10,000 a year from his role as chairman of the company’s compensation committee and $5,000 a year as a member of the company’s audit committee.

The HSE chief currently holds no shares in the company.

The company’s filing last month says, however, that he has the chance to buy into the company; he will be awarded options for 24,691 shares, which would be worth $181,725 based on Evofem’s share price last night on Wall Street’s Nasdaq technology-dominated stock exchange.

Extensive biography

The California firm lists Mr O’Brien’s past roles as founding chief executive of the National Cancer Screening Service and director of CervicalCheck in an extensive biography in stock market statements, along with his past role as chief executive of the Irish Family Planning Association.

The main product made by Evofem, which is run by US businesswoman Saundra Pelletier, is Amphora, a new form of contraceptive gel.

100%
in tallaght its awful as well
cunts with medical cards swarming into AE for free with no doctor referral- then if one of us goes in its 100 euro
dont get me started on cunts dumping elderly relatives there during christmas for a few days also… thats rotten stuff.
i find AE staff to be heroic in fairness, my dealings with them have only been positive

Great idea all the same.

you are right - its unfair of me to say that
i suppose in this day and age in the ROI if you have kids you just need to prioritise health insurance tho over vacations or other expenses,
many foreigners head home to get stuff done- that cervical check stuff has freaked her out so i presume thatll be done when we head back for the cup final in a few weeks, with an answer in a few days on the status of it… even a brazillian fella up at the GAA club whose kids are here is wife is off back there for some surgery he was telling me as waiting time here public was infinite
its a pretty bad state of affairs allright… i do honestly believe tho that Harris and Varadkaar are doing their best to get to fix the mess they inherited, Harris will get flak now but in fairness at least he is trying to work it

i debated doing it with the kids