Afghanistan 7/182 in their second innings v Ireland, lead by 74. Ireland looking good but need to keep that lead under 120.
49 more runs needed, 4 wickets down.
C’mon Ireland
Oireland Oireland Oireland
First test match victory.
Who did we bate pal?
Afghanistan. They don’t like it up em
Fucking have it.
Afghanistan are five south Africans and seven lads who haven’t eaten for a week.
Like Ireland apart from the eating.
The Irish captain was interviewed on BBC 5Live this evening. The interviewer, with great curiosity, asked him why he took up cricket when he had ‘so many other options, like the game of hurling’. Andrew didn’t dwell on the question for long other than to mention he played a little rugby when he was younger as well.
4 days in Islamabad and someone is all of a sudden an expert on everything between Turkey and Hong Kong
In trouble against the mighty Canada in the T20 World Cup on Sky Sports Main Event
Shocking batting effort considering they bowled ok
Late rally here. Need 36 from 19 balls
Need 22 from 9
18 from 7
17 needed off last over. Great entertainment
I’m not so sure about moving here. The transport is shit. We really should be pushing to be apart of T20 Blast or the Hundred & that requires either a good location or really good transport links.
Dart + West won’t be far away from it
34 min walk to Castleknock from what I can see. I’m assuming the plan is to have shuttle buses from there for the T20 World Cup which isn’t terrible but won’t be great for regular cricket games. Malahide is nice and you have the DART but even then I think it’s tough to imagine people travelling out there on a Thursday evening to watch a T20 game.
One option would have been to go west with the Finglas Green Line extension to reach the campus and Blanch. The route as is doesn’t make that likely though.
Or finally get on with Metro West. You could look to building that in stages, linking a DART+ West station through Blanchardstown to the airport and link to Metrolink before looking at heading further south to Tallaght and Sandyford.
It might be time to revisit the Bertie Bowl though (although perhaps the cricket stadium is taking that site). I’d go for something c. 30k. Highest tech possible for retractable seating that could host the GGA, football, rugby, athletics and even cricket. My own preference was originally to do it out on the Grand Canal near Naas Road as the Industrial areas convert to residential and other use (you could put it between the Red Line and DART SW) but we have quietly built up Sports Campus Ireland over the last decade so maybe it’s time.
A 30k stadium like that in Dublin would get year round use if done properly.
Former Ireland cricketer Harry Archer drove at garda and hit him on hand after high-speed chase, court hears
A former Irish international cricketer endangered the life of a young garda after he drove at him, striking the officer on the hand, a court has heard.
Harry Archer (23) led gardaí on a high-speed chase, before officers stood down their pursuit as it was too dangerous.
Judge Vincent Deane imposed an eight-month sentence, suspended for two years, and banned Archer from driving for six years.
The defendant, of Kelly’s Bay Rocks in Skerries, admitted dangerous driving and endangerment.
Garda Robert Cassidy told Swords District Court gardaí were on patrol at 2am on December 16, 2022, when they saw a car leave Skerries train station at speed, before driving towards the Lusk Road in Skerries at high speed.
Gda Cassidy said gardaí indicated for the driver to stop, but he failed to do so.
Archer drove along a narrow country road at high speed, heading towards Balrothery. He was doing speeds of up to 160kmh, the court heard.
He drove through Walshestown roundabout, failing to stop, before driving into a cul-de-sac near Corduff.
He did a U-turn and drove at a garda, striking him on the hand. The garda suffered swelling to his left hand, and was off sick for two days.
Gda Cassidy said the pursuit was then stood down by gardaí, as it was deemed too dangerous to continue.
In a victim-impact statement, the injured garda said he knew Archer. He said he thought he would stop the car after he shouted his name at him, but he failed to do so. He said conditions were icy on the night, and he often thought about how much worse it could have been.
Defence lawyer Kelly Richardson said Archer was a talented young cricketer who had played for Leinster and Ireland at U13, U15 and U17 levels.
He had poor seasons in 2016 and 2017 but had an excellent season in 2018, and had hoped to be picked for the Irish team competing at the World Cup.
When he was not picked, Archer suffered depression, began taking cannabis, and his drug addiction spiralled out of control.
Ms Richardson said Archer built up drug debts, and was told by gardaí there was a threat to his life.
Archer spent nine weeks in custody last year, and it was “the best thing to ever happen to him”, the lawyer said.
He was now drug-free, was back playing cricket, and looking for work.
Ms Richardson said Archer had “turned his life around”, and she asked the judge to give him one final chance, and not jail him.