Take a look at @guardian_sportās Tweet: https://twitter.com/guardian_sport/status/664021263178854400?s=09
Iām not Bandage but that is terrific.
Is Sligo rampant Protestant Country? Some of the street names up there are akin to driving around Liverpool City.
I think it is alright. Nice part of the world though
Fisk on TodayFM re poppy fascism etc now
Yep.
That monument at the gate to the park where @glasagusban sits looking at school children as he stuffs he mouth with quinoa is absolutely plastered with poppies this time annually.
A glorious opportunity for those limerick based posters so outraged by people in Britain wearing a poppy on their lapel to log off the internet for a half hour, I would have thought.
Yeah, everyone is entitled to wear or not wear whatever the fuck they want. For those that choose to wear it though, they should be aware that the modern wave of poppy mania is really just a new way to:
tell with such high zest
To children ardent for some desperate glory,
The old Lie: Dulce et decorum est
Pro patria mori.
Iāve no wish to wear a poppy and Iād agree that it has become too closely associated with glorification of the British military rather than remembrance of war dead and the consequences of war. I do however feel that you should be allowed wear it, or not, without vilification.
Good choice of poem - some of those war poets really were excellent.
Iād say weāre in broad agreement. I wouldnāt have much interest in vilifying individuals. The big picture should be called out though, early and often every year, if only for the Britsā own sake. The slide into a militaristic society can be quite quick when the vested interests can manipulate public opinion. Itās a little over 50 years since Eisenhower warned of the dangers of the military industrial complex. Itās impossible to imagine an American president making such a statement now, never mind a Republican one.
They wouldnāt have the balls to make a statement. They will just whinge and moan on here about it. Of course Limerick city is a garrison town. No big surprise there.
@fitzy The HR manager has advised that there will be a minuteās silence to observe Rememberance Day at 11am. Whatās the official Republican stance of the Central Coast brigade? Do you go for a shite and watch a few volunteer funerals on youtube to keep the passion burning or what?
Spotted a poppy wearing fucking soup taker in Cork today. An Irish youngfella who probably saw John Terry wearing it the weekend and decided it was very cool, like the fuckin livestrong bands back in the day. I looked at him like he was a piece of shit.
I donāt have a problem with remembering Australiaās fallen. If anything, it makes the argument for a republic even more water tight. I personally observe the minutes silence, though obviously I wonāt be wearing one of those poisonous flowers.
What about the jingoism pal? Never forget about the jingoism.
Let them have their jingoism. Remembrance is a very personal thing. If people want to big themselves up and start a remembrance arms race, thatās their problem. Kind of defeats the purpose though.
I for one, will not be hiding in the jacks to make a political point though.
Youāll be glad to know that I didnāt resort to hiding this year. Instead I listened to an NFL Fantasy Live feature on Sammy Watkins Jr. The volume was uncomfortably loud on my headphones but it was important to let my jingoistic colleagues know I never spared a moment for their fallen. And also to let them know not to start Sammy this gameweek.
The likes of @ChocolateMice will sit in that cafe in the park in limerick with his bird look out at that monument coverered in poppys after spending ā¬15 for 2 frothy coffees and 2 Apple crumbles and then go home and rant on the net about British people wanting to wear a poppy in Britain.
Itās a disease these cunts have I think.
Had an evening with work colleagues, most over from the UK. One of the lads served in the British army for four decades. Heās a catholic from Belfast who always wanted to be in the army. Born in the markets. Lovely man. Did 3 tours in the north during the 70ās, fought in the Maldeves and did a few months in Iraq. Had his poppy on him today at work. And fair dues to him. Had a chat to him about it and he wears it for his colleagues who were killed in service, no other reason. Says the whole tv thing has gone out of hand but itās only for a few weeks of the year. Doesnāt harm anyone. Itās your choice whether you wear it or not.