Irish People Poppy Watch

Our captain.

CNN picking up the McClean Poppy story

Out on the bike today and we were out for a longish one. Was tired and hungry when we dropped down into disley on the way home only to find the main junction fully closed off for the remembrance ceremony. We waited respectfully for about 10 mins at the barrier staffed by a bolshy looking lady steward. The polis had blocked off the A6 and were in attendance also There was a crowd of about two hundred there as they then had a line of dignitaries laying wreaths at the cenotaph.
By this stage I reckoned we’d done enough. It’s heartbreaking thinking of the young fellas sent over the top into a hail of bullets, but I always think the kind of dignitaries laying the wreaths largely as a virtue signal, are the kind who took them out of the mills and farms and sent them there in the first place, so whilst I have no problem with the two minutes silence as a reflection on the horror of war, and the way it’s always the young slaughtered in stupid fights picked by the old, I have less time for the “look at me” school of soppy-stern badge kissers.
Anyhow I half walked my way round the outside at which stage the lads followed before one, much to his own amusement, said at the top of his voice “sure you don’t like the British army anyway”. Cue some angry gammon stares and he delighted with himself.
I concurred, but said there was a time and a place.
One of the others said he was looking forward to a brawl between myself and 200 brexiteers.

Sure it’s still happening today. There’s a piece on the Russia thread where they talk about 80,000 untrained reservists being thrown into Kherson as cannon fodder by Putin. The lack of concern for human life by the elites in war time is staggering.

I just knew that was going to be good before I read it.

MOTD was a half an hour late Saturday because the Beeb were showing the festival of remembrance from the Albert Hall. It’s a wee bit disturbing.

The further time moves on from the Great War the more they remember it.

Its almost like they realise they’re in the shit and despite the few million dying, that it will never get that good again.

It’s a death cult

It’s genuinely all they have left. A cello case from the wreck of the Titanic which they are clinging to with increasing fervour.

It’s English Nationalism on the rise. The same thinking that led to Brexit and will eventually see the Union collapse.

I don’t think it is actually. I think the group of folk clinging to English nationalism is getting smaller, but more vocal.

Yeah… They’re retreating more (collectively) into empire and nostalgia. The anti EU from the older generation was/is years of resentment… ‘they’ won the war yet Gerry was running Europe.
Individually the tans are the finest but the type of jingoism they are reverting to as a country is actually dangerous in its own way. Its that of a country on the slide, or looking to excuse its continued foreign aggression in the case of the US.
Where are the young people in all this?

Increasing fervour is right. Even in how they have much greater fanfare, pomp & ceremony around it at sporting events now. It reminds me more & more of the US and how they celebrate the military at matches with US Air Force fly overs & veterans being paraded on the field. Difference was other countries used to scoff at America & take the piss out of them. Now plenty of what I would have regarded as middle of the road/fairly clued in UK media & sporting types are amplifying it without a hint of irony. They are gone mad.

Generally the young people are respectful of the poppy having been bombarded in the history curriculum with WW pornography. They are vehemently anti brexit as a group though, and hopefully getting angrier about how they’ve been ridden by the pensioners.
Most would have had no idea remembrance Sunday was on (I didn’t). They’re too busy on tiktok.

Going mad certainly. Trouble is, you can’t get fired for effusive displays. You most certainly can if some group of nomarks on Twitter decide you have been disrespectful. About anything really.

As my father would say about a neighbouring club, as individuals you’re the soundest, as a collective, I cant fucking stand ye.

The US spend nearly a trillion a year on military… More than all the rest if the countries combined. It’s a huge part of their economy and US foreign policy doesn’t need explaining… While the tans are displaying many of the same traits it’s actually more dangerous than the yanks because it’s coming from below and not the top down.

That’s how i feel about the Limericks.

It’s coming from the media, which is dangerously top down imo.