Seanie Maguire and Alan Browne on the scoresheet for Preston tonight
Young Barry Cotter from Ennis started for Ipswich tonight. Only joined from Limerick in January
Thatās mad. Thought he was a couple of years away from a first team place.
Sure Mick doesnāt give a bollix now, heāll play any Irish lad thatās available
Ipswich have only dead rubbers left so heās obviously giving lads a spin. Probably with an eye to his return to the Irish management seat
Chiedozie Ogbene also made his debut for Brentford tonight.
John Sheridanās Fleetwood Town also continue their climb out of relegation trouble
ā¬50k Limerick sold him for, I hope they have a few add ons.
has he not declared for Nigeria?
what happened to that lad Tunisan fella great player at Longford and Bohs who signed for a team in Tunisia and subsequently got an international callup, he was doing a PHD in trinity i think when he was here, Mohommad something or other,
weāve few Africans in LOI these days Fuad Sale who went from Bohs to Barnet was born in Nigeria as was Akinade i think
I didnāt hear that Dozie declared for Nigeria? And surely I would have heard. Heās got a thick Cork accent anyway and by all accounts, he was a fine Gaelic footballer too. A weird player; certainly has great pace & power but the higher up you go, heāll have to become a bit smarter to exploit better defences. If he does that, he could definitely make an impact.
Between himself, Cotter & Paudie OāConnor starting again; Limerick are a great little feeder club for Championship teams.
As for Ben Mohamed, never really heard about how he got on. Was a handy enough player.
Dozie declares for Nigeria.
New Ross native Ryan Delaney with a massive goal for Rochdale in League One tonight. A point sees them out of the relegation zone on goal difference, but Oldham and Patrick McEleney, Jack Byrne and Eoin Doyle fall into the drop zone. Itās a right battle down there, guys.
The vast majority of those Orish Nigerians will play for the homeland.
Simon Cox got 2 for Southend too.
Why is that?
Why would you think? Iād imagine they feel closer to their hereditary plus Nigeria are a better side than ROI
Stop digging for something that isnāt there fella
It was a genuine question, most young Nigerians seem to fit nicely into Irish society, St Clements school close to where I live has a substantial Nigerian community, Iām just surprised
Iām sure they fit in quite well - as did/do the Irish into English, American and Australian communities for example, it doesnāt stop them putting the motherland first when playing/supporting the national team
ROI are about 15 places above them in the rankings, itās just Nigeria have an easier qualifying route to the World Cup. They are actually shit enough.