Irish soccerball nil - That boy Bazunu will save us (Part 1) 🐐

Nah that’s what Glenn was doing for 70 odd games

And that line by you was far more mean spirited then me jokingly wishing an injury on Glenn bloody Whelan.

Its like the Dublin hurling job now…all about profile.

He wouldnt take it but Kenny would make a serious job of an underage side ala Kerr. He would appear to be able to get a lot out of and develop young players well

Some really damning statistics for Eire and Martin O’Neill here.

During the 2018 World Cup qualification campaign:

Eire were 34th in Europe in terms of average goals per game.

28th for average goal attempts per game.

41st in terms of average attempts on target per game.

Eire were 41st in Europe in terms of possession percentage - it almost goes without saying that that is the lowest of any team that finished in the top two of their group.

Eire were 38th for average corners won per game.

On average only 11 teams conceded more corners per game than Eire.

Only Andorra, San Marino, Liechtenstein and Gibraltar averaged fewer passes per game than Eire.

On average, only Andorra, San Marino, Liechtenstein, Gibraltar and Luxembourg completed fewer passes per game than Eire.

Only seven teams had a worse average passing accuracy than Eire: Andorra, San Marino, Liechtenstein, Gibraltar, Luxembourg, Malta and Moldova.

Those last 3 are just shocking.

Only 10 or 12 countries take soccer seriously and Eire is clearly not one of them.

Name these ten or twelve mate

It will be very very very very interesting to see attendances over the next few years when results get worse and worse. The debt on the stadium will look bigger and bigger ans sadly there may be further paycuts for FAI staff below CEO grade

You seem to know a bit about Soccer can you tell me something, is there any Irish player under the age of 25 playing regulalrly in any of the top leagues in Europe?

A ‘soccer man’ told me during the week that this season had the lowest number of irish players in the top league in england in history…

He has Ipswich one up after 6 minutes. Shockingly underused by O’Neill while that fud Long gets opportunity after opportunity

"The Craic Was Ninety In Copenhagen"
Not written by Christy Moore

Weren’t we the rare oul’ stock
Spent the mornin’ gettin’ locked
In the Airport bar
Where the high stools were engaging
Flew to Hamburg, Germany
Whacker’s stomach was carried carefully
Had a look around
And then four more pints, well they went down
Sure he’s an Irish football fan
Oh the craic was ninety in Copenhagen

Boarded the train at platform five
Oh what a time to be alive
Opened up a bag of yokes
Near some unsuspecting Danish folks
Then the boat train it did reach the dock
The boat she sailed at three o’clock
“Ah look at this” says Whack
"A train on a boat, sure that’s some craic”
Carry him if you can

Before we reached the Danish coast
Well Whacker he did raise a toast
On the deck of the boat, we had great sport
As the ship she sailed out from the port
Landed back on the train again
With all the drunken Irishmen
The journey didn’t take too long
As we belted out the rebel songs
Bate that if you can

That night we went to an Irish pub
The place was heaving, full of Dubs
All went in for a mighty session
In the pub they call the Rover
Whacker went searchin’ for a fight
He punched a Mayo lad twice his height
And before he fled the scene
The Mayoman’s colours changed to red and green
Whacker left and ran

Next morning went for a ramble round
To see the sights of Copenhagen Town
Oh the Palace was a lovely sight
But the Mermaid statue it was shite
Walked to the hippie commune then
We got talkin’ there to two strange men
Got out a wad of cash
Before Whacker knew it he’d a lump of hash
“Lads hide that if you can”

Took a journey out to the Carlsberg too
The place was full of horse’s poo
Had a load of pints there
And we got them for no money
Came back into the town for more
We stood outside a knickers store
As the women came out on their own
Whacker took pictures with his phone
Oh keep it secret, man

Whacker fancied his good looks
With a Copenhagen woman he was struck
A Belfast lad was by her side
And he throwin’ the jar into her
Whacker thought he’d hit the stage
He asked her for her Facebook page
Round the street they stepped it out
To Whack it was no bother
Everything was goin’ to plan

That evenin’ ‘fore we hit the ground
There were girls and fellas fallin’ round
There was an awful stink
Off the Irish with too much to dhrink
The place it looked like a battle zone
Three hours to kick-off still to go
Whacker was holdin’ up his shoes
As he drunk out of a can of booze
You wouldn’t get it in Iran

Some had a ticket and some of us not
So Whacker thought he’d take a shot
He had a look around
As he strolled about outside the ground
Got talkin’ to a Danish tout
200 quid it was the shout
And before we could shout “up Ireland”
Whacker had a ticket in his hand
We all drew up our plan

Well the stewards they said no colours green
In the Danish end could they be seen
But Whacker said “to hell with that”
As he wore an Ireland shirt and hat
He waited up at the turnstile queue
And said to the steward “let me in too”
But the Danish man turned him away
Said “No Irish allowed in here today”
His ticket wouldn’t scan

Whacker flew into a rage
Said “this ticket’s cost me weekly wage”
But Whacker was banned from the place
Then he threw a punch in the steward’s face
Then whack, the stewards whacked into Whack
Poor Whack was landed on his back
Ended up in the Danish jail
Until the Dublin plane did sail
Deported the poor man

Now five goals later Whacker’s out
At the World Cup he won’t act the lout
Like the Viking plunderers of old
Oh the Danish plundered Lansdowne Road
Still, he’ll always have the memories
Though he can’t recall too many of these
Whacker’s dream it has been sunk
And the truth is Whacker still is drunk
Oh jaysus, what a man
But the craic was ninety in Copenhagen

Fucking hell

Genius

Way too short, needs another 12 verses.

I think you overestimate your concentration span, which is better illustrated by the shortness of the post I quote here.

Probably by about 24 verses.

Stock up on the jam rags to give you the strength you need for the next few nights ‘work’.

You’ve been showing terrible signs that you’re going all menopausal lately, mate, actually you have been for a long time now.

Your friends are here for you.

Agreed on Kerr.

Martin O’Neill’s main strengths as a manager are not his playing career. His managerial record is excellent. There are very very few managers who have his experience and his success rate. He’s not perfect, but he has earned his reputation as a manager over a really long time.

Also, he was a successful club manager. Too much is made of anecdotes about his tactical details etc. He didn’t just motivate Celtic to a European final or motivate Leicester to two cups or motivate his teams to promotion or motivate Aston Villa to those league finishes. Of course that’s a strength, but he knows how to organise a team too.

He got it wrong on Tuesday. We definitely went for it too early. The second goal we conceded was unfortunately reminiscent of our concessions against France and Belgium at the Euros. If we try and play further up the park and get our back 4 to the halfway line we’ll get ripped apart unfortunately. That’s because of the quality of our defenders and of our midfielders, though McCarthy has been a big loss from that defensive midfield role. I think we could be better against counter attacks but the initial solution was to defend deeper and that makes us hard to break down until we give away a stupid first goal.

Anyway I’m not sure where this Northern Ireland play “far better football” comes from. They barely kicked a ball at the Euros - they just camped out at the edge of their own box. They tried to do the same for a couple of games against the Swiss and were torn apart but Switzerland missed a glut of chances. He’s done a very good job with them obviously, but they’re not playing expansive football and they were completely outplayed in their playoff too.

The job O’Neill did with Leicester was quite reminiscent of the job several other managers have done with similar clubs over the years. Curbishley with Charlton, Allardyce with Bolton, Pulis with Stoke. All are good motivators and could/can organise a team and make them tough to beat. But it’s ultimately primitive enough football and usually relies on having a good complement of big, strong, physical players, and O’Neill has always gone in for that type.

With Celtic it can’t be overstated how valuable Larsson was. What Larsson did with Celtic was like what Suarez did with Liverpool in 2013/14, except it carried on for four straight seasons under O’Neill. Everything hinged on having a player of the genius of Larsson. As well as that O’Neill was lucky to inherit some other really good signings by previous managers such as Petrov, Lambert, Mjallby, Morvacik etc. who backboned the team.

That said, he did a good job with Celtic for sure. But he struggled badly in the last season without Larsson and got out when he felt he wouldn’t be able to bring Celtic back to the heights of 2000-2004.

The jobs he did at Villa (apart from a decent first season) and Sunderland showed he was falling behind the game in terms of tactical thinking, especially in a creative, attacking sense, and that’s always where he has struggled.

Eire were being outplayed from very soon after Duffy’s goal. They had a mini-decent period around the 20 minute mark when Murphy’s and McClean’s chances came in quick succession but it was all quick one touch stuff and not once in the first half did they get the ball and slow things down and try to take a bit of the sting out of Denmark. Without another goal that was always going to be necessary. The players might not be the greatest in the world but most are established Premier League players. They have to be capable of better than what they’ve shown in this regard and indeed they’ve shown it in the past, against Bosnia, Sweden, Italy, France and Austria in Vienna. But there isn’t a culture of it from the top, O’Neill has retreated into his late Aston Villa/Sunderland mode, become paranoid and fearful, and the stats in that article are absolutely damning in terms of the negativity of the football. Georgia away was the nadir of this.

What happened in the second half as regards tactics was like what van Gaal did in 2001 here. The team lost all shape and a sense of panic set in. A change needed to be made for sure but one half-time sub would have been enough. We were easy pickings after that.

They weren’t completely outplayed. Switzerland had more chances over the two legs alright and that’s to be expected given they have much more quality but Ireland showed far more initiative in working the ball forward than Eire did, had Switzerland seriously rattled in the second half of the game in Basel, and they did it with a lot of good passing football too, with a poorer team.

I just texted Gerry Armstrong and he says this is bollox.

Allardyce is clearly a good manager. He has had sustained success. Curbishley couldn’t really repeat his successes and wasn’t as much of a long ball manager. Pulis isn’t a bad manager either. They’re limited enough in their style of play. They’re not fantastic managers, but Pulis and Allardyce aren’t clueless either.

Larsson was clearly a world class player. So is/was Suarez. But they were lifted to new heights by better managers. I don’t see why getting the most out of a world class manager is a negative. Surely that shows there’s more to O’Neill than motivation. Unless you think Larsson or Suarez don’t need coaching.

That was a physically imposing Celtic team but they played excellent football. They didn’t hoof their way to the UEFA Cup Final or hoof their way to 98 points in a domestic season.

[quote]
That said, he did a good job with Celtic for sure. But he struggled badly in the last season without Larsson and got out when he felt he wouldn’t be able to bring Celtic back to the heights of 2000-2004.[/quote]

I think you mean he “got out” when his wife got very ill.

The job he did at Aston Villa was excellent. That was another very mediocre team and he got them contending for Europe. They spent to achieve that but he got results to match the spending. Plenty of English clubs have tried to buy their way to Top 6 finishes and have failed miserably.

I think your familiarity with their achievements is summed up by your “apart from a decent first season.” Apart from that season (11th) he finished 6th twice. It’s quite the argument to put forward that his best achievement was that 11th placed finish.

Georgia away was very poor. But you’re giving the players credit for showing they can play in Vienna but it’s the manager’s fault that they don’t reach that performance all the time. Ireland were fourth seeds and had the fourth best pool of players in that Group. We didn’t have an Alaba or a Bale or any of Serbia’s stars. Our most technically “gifted” player is a 35 year-old player who is in and out of his team in the second tier of English football.

Premier League status may give players money but it doesn’t actually mean all that much unfortunately. Randolph was fairly brutal in the Premier League last year. Ward is a limited but honest player who had a nightmare on Tuesday after a good campaign. Duffy is a promising error-prone young centre back who wouldn’t be starting in the top flight in a less physical league. Clark is the same only worse.

Arter is a classic example of a “Premier League talent.” Billy Big Boots at fucking Bournemouth but now graces us with his presence. Finally started playing well in recent games for Ireland until he just decided to launch everything into the sky on Tuesday when under any sort of pressure. Hendrick and Brady are two regulars at a shitty club. They have talent but they’ve barely contributed in an Ireland shirt in 2 years (Hendrick’s intervention in Wales aside). McClean was a journeyman winger who is now our most important player but probably wouldn’t be picked by most EPL managers. Meyler is in and out of the Championship - a terrible league for any sort of technical development (currently in it). O’Dowda is marooned there too along with our impact sub McGeady.

And Murphy is a Championship striker at the end of his career, keeping a non-goalscoring tactical ignoramus out of the team.

I’d have plenty to criticise MON for and I wouldn’t be overly disappointed if he called it a day but the idea that he doesn’t have any tactical nous is simplistic and ridiculous.

Van Gaal had an array of talents that he didn’t know how to use properly against vastly inferior opposition. That’s a very different situation from the one facing O’Neill. I’m not sure you thought through that comparison at all.

The game was lost in the first half. Two really poor goals to concede after two individual errors that compounded poor organisation. But really, the big mistake from O’Neill was putting Arter deep and Meyler to the right so we could try and get more possession. That backfired badly. Arter panicked and Meyler was lost/wasted. But it’s easier to just blame long ball stuff.

Ah that’s ok. I had assumed you had watched the games. Evidently not.

I certainly did. Switzerland won the tie by one goal on a disgraceful penalty decision, and despite you clearly getting hurt and offended at Gerry Armstrong’s enthusiasm on commentary, Ireland played some excellent football and Switzerland certainly were hanging onto their lead for grim death at the end the game in Basel.