It's the economy stupid!

What is it with our fixation with bad news? Job losses, housing slowdown, the tiger is gone, global warming. Fookin hell if one wasn’t depressed, 10 mins of Morning Ireland would definitely darken your mood. Heard yer one from the ERSI trying to put a reasonable perspective on it this morning whilst being hit with words like depression, crash and over.

Interest rates are coming back to a normalish level after a few years of being excessively low and we’re all facing armageddon.

I’ve been working for roughly 4 years, and have more often than not tuned into the Last Word on the drive home. Without fail for that 4 years a house price crash was predicted to be just around the corner every single week.

And now apparently its here and we’re all utterly fooked, and not only that but we’re going to drown due to sea levels rising or burn up from the sun due to global warming. I dunno.

I’m strongly considering taking out a whopping loan, then packing in my job and spend like fook before a)global warming gets me :wink: a house crashes on top of me or c) I die from boredom in a traffic jam.

Have we just got the worst attitude in the world to life or is it that bad? Someone please tell me.

As an example of the typical Irish attitude, met an ould wan on Mon which happened to be a cracking Spring day. Great day I said, yeah but its going to rain on Thur, she replied as quick as a flash.

And by Christ did it rain yesterday. That old woman was spot on and all you an do is complain about her.

On the general points I heard yer wan from ESRI this morning. She wouldn’t have to put a reasonable perspective on things if her organisation wasn’t constantly bleating about the dangers our country faces.

Most of those ERSI and ecomony experts are just idiots that love the sound of their own voices (and the fees they get for waffling on about stuff on Morning Ireland, The Last Word, Primetime etc). If they keep warning us of imminent danger and threats of economy collapse then they’ll keep getting wheeled out by the media and keep pocketing the fees. That gimp from Friends First particularly annoys me with his huge forehead.

Appendage was right.

:D:D

The current economic recovery here is down to low interest rates and lower fuel costs. As soon as these start to rise again, it will be time to short Ireland again.

So if you borrow now and used the money to buy cheap fuel… hmmm.

As long as you borrow at fixed rates - yeah.

All we need are some grants to build fuel storage tanks.

Buy a pony.

Plenty of lads with the big bucks filling old shipping tankers up with oil and sending them nowhere. A no brainer if you had the wedge.

https://www.google.ie/url?sa=t&source=web&rct=j&ei=LkvRVOevFMboaM-Fgig&url=http://www.wsj.com/articles/worlds-largest-traders-use-offshore-supertankers-to-store-oil-1421689744&ved=0CCkQFjAC&usg=AFQjCNFwja9w5UXQJttlu8EU8P1_cieAJA&sig2=pCf6J1aAdPp_Bx4ig5hoAw

Ballsy