January Transfer Window Thread

[quote=“The Puke”]Given is a superb shot stopper and his all round game is solid enough…His distribution can be poor at times and he doesn’t seem to be the best organiser of a defense(although I don’t think the good lord himself could organise the likes of Boumsong, Bramble, Andy O Brien and Cacapa etc)…He is definatly one of the better ones in the league, I would probably only rate Pepe Reina higher, he is every bit as good as van der sar and cech** IMO…

**Cech isn’t half the keeper he was since he got the head injury against Reading a year or two ago[/quote]

Would say Puke that Given is possibly the best distributor of a keeper in the EPL. He is excellent with the ball on the floor or from his hand. Reina and himself are miles ahead of the others and it can be a fair advantage to have.
Like Reina, Given struggles to command his 6 yard box and has little or no presence at times. Reina has improved in this regard lately but if anything Shay has regressed. How many corners do you see him claiming comfortably? Reina has a great fist on him too that Shay doesnt.

My biggest criticism of Given is a little yellow streak he has. Ive seen a couple of goals he has let in this year where he has jumped out feet first ala Hennessy for Waterford instead of putting his hands out for it and taking the slap. The goal Felliani got against him earlier this season was a bit of a disgrace in this regard. Shot stopping he is unparallelled as he has great feet and quick reactions.

To play at a big club like Arsenal every mistake he makes would be disected to the last. Whether Shay has the character to truly dominate at one of these clubs is doubtful in my eyes.

NCC, would you rate him ahead of Doni?

they are similar enough in that they arent too tall but Doniber Alexander Marangon or Doni as he is more popularly known probably shades it on the basis of his brilliant copa america tournament - your thoughts?

Inter Milan are on the brink of a deal for Estudiantes wing-back Marcos Angeleri.

The Argentina international’s agent Miguel Pires revealed last night: “Between the 5th and 6th of January the negotiations with Inter will be completed.”

Inter intend to send young fullback Davide Santon away on-loan to make room for Angeleri, who will arrive as cover for Maicon.

Angeleri is due in Milan in the coming days or a medical and to agree a deal worth around 2.5 million-a-year. The midfielder is likely to remain with Estudiantes until June before moving to Inter on a Bosman.

Bayern Munich striker Lukas Podolski has made a ‘come and get me’ plea to Roma.

The Germany international declared yesterday: "I need to play, I cannot continue to stay on the bench.

"I think it’s time to go back to doing my job, which is playing. I feel ready for an experience abroad. Including Italy.

“I know that Roma have tried for me and I would like to go there.”

Bayern rate Podolski in the 10 million class, though his asking price is sure to dip with less than 18 months to run on his existing deal.

I see a lot of similarities too in that they’re both magnificent shot stoppers and very quick on their feet and agile but not very commanding. Both have to cope with serious deficiencies in the defences in front of them too. I’d find it very hard to pick one over the other in truth.

I agree with KIB man re Given’s distribution. I actually think he’s excellent with the ball at his feet and also pings passes out of his hands to wingers in space etc on a regular basis. I was surprised that others didn’t rate this facet of his game.

[quote=“Bandage”]

I agree with KIB man re Given’s distribution. I actually think he’s excellent with the ball at his feet and also pings passes out of his hands to wingers in space etc on a regular basis. I was surprised that others didn’t rate this facet of his game.[/quote]

Picked up an assist a couple of weeks ago, didn’t he?

[quote=“Bandage”]
I agree with KIB man re Given’s distribution. I actually think he’s excellent with the ball at his feet and also pings passes out of his hands to wingers in space etc on a regular basis. I was surprised that others didn’t rate this facet of his game.[/quote]

I agree with ye to some extent he has a decent boot on him and can pick a pass but I have seen him on far too many occasions slicing back passes into the crowd or finding nobody with his clearances when under pressure…I remember one very soft goal he gave away a few years ago against chelsea when he made a balls of a back pass…I also remember him having a few games with Ireland where he struggled with it

Given is being linked with a move to Juventus today in the Sindo…They also make out that Man City are going to pay 100 million for Buffon as a statement of intent and Juventus will use the money to sign Given(10 million) and Lionel Messsi:cool:(75 million)

Stuart Downing has handed in a transfer request and will probably end up going to Spurs…McGeady could well end up at Midlesborough as his replacement

A step up for our bouy McGeady?

Big rumours about McGeady going to Boro alright. He’d be mad to go there. Whatever about the dire straits Newcastle seem to be always in, Middlesboro are the most insignificant, unimportant team imaginable. They’re going nowhere.

Could be a stepping stone to a bigger club in the EPL though. Barry Ferguson tried that approach at Blackburn and ended up with his tail firmly between his legs heading back to Rangers. What has happened to the Bayern Munich link? Surprised not to see Villa linked with him actually.

In other news Galway man David Forde has been linked with a move to Sheff Wed. He was at Cardiff a while back but Dave Jones dumped him for Peter Enckleman. Good to see him on the up again.

Surely Man City can do better than Bellamy and Parker who they have been strongly linked with.

Villa have been linked with a striker Mila Jovanovic who I presume is from the Balkans. The Steven Duffour link seems to have gone quiet.

Was it quoted on this thread that Joe Kinnear has Barry Ferguson as his number 1 target in the Jan transfer this year? Good God*

*our catholic God, not the Hun version

[quote=“Locke”]Was it quoted on this thread that Joe Kinnear has Barry Ferguson as his number 1 target in the Jan transfer this year? Good God*

*our catholic God, not the Hun version[/quote]

d;

Sky Sports News reported this morning that Manchester City were close to signing Scott Parker. They’re now saying that West Ham are refusing to sell him. Yer man Parker was a tidy player a few years ago but has had a few long term injuries and is pretty much EPL journeyman standard now. If this is the type of player they’re going for then it’s a far cry from Xavi, Kaka and David Silva and all the other global superstars that were being mooted as potential signings.

[quote=“Locke”]Was it quoted on this thread that Joe Kinnear has Barry Ferguson as his number 1 target in the Jan transfer this year? Good God*

*our catholic God, not the Hun version[/quote]

Ferguson has been very poor this season for the huns. Fans aren’t liking him much at all.

Scotty Parker is a good player but if the Whammers can get big money for him, how bad. Was hauld off at half time over christmas for continually giving the ball away. Versus Villa I think, lost the game 0-1. GFZ isn’t afraid to make the tough decisions!!

Would prefer if Green and Upson stayed, get rid of Bowyer for one.

I reckon McGeady would have enough cop on not to join Middlesboro’ given he’s an intelligent lad. In fairness, it could be speculation due to Downing possibly joining Spurs, which would leave them without a winger. To be honest, I don’t know exactly what’s going on with McGeady. I don’t know if there’s a willingness on both sides at Celtic to settle their differences, if he’s agitating for a move or if the club are willing to sell him. I’d find it really disappointing if he leaves on bad terms on the back of being player of the season last year and with his best years still ahead of him.

if i remember correctly Ferguson was captain of blackburn & they were desperate not to sell him , Everton & Newcastle put in bids but he wanted to go back to the huns