Defoe having a medical with Spurs today for a e15m move I think
Redknapp is some slimeball. In the papers this morning saying that he wouldnt sell Defoe if he was still at Portsmouth and that it was their decision - trying to be all nice. I dont doubt that he had a quiet word in his ear to unsettle him in the first place.
Shouldnt surprise you farmer, Redknapp has always been a prick, wrapped up in the “appy arry e’s a geezer innie” persona.
Doesn’t surprise me at all MBB. I hate Redknapp and always have done.
Just like pointing out his cuntness every now and again though. Like I do with Ferguson.
Jermaine Pennant has been offered a move to AC Milan on a free at the end of the season.
How much did spurs sell Defoe for?
About 8 million I think
Think its more? Thought it was nearly double what Portsmouth paid for him?
What drugs are you on mac?..
Pompey paid 8 million for him…Spurs are now paying 15 million for him…Maybe the farmer or one of the other bean counters can do the maths on it but that is nearly double what pompey paid for him:rolleyes:
[quote=“The Puke”]What drugs are you on mac?..
Pompey paid 8 million for him…Spurs are now paying 15 million for him…Maybe the farmer or one of the other bean counters can do the maths on it but that is nearly double what pompey paid for him:rolleyes:[/quote]
Pompey have made a fair return on their investments on Diarra and Defoe. Lost 2 good players but should keep the club afloat for another while.
Benitez was offered Owen back from Real Madrid a few years ago but declined as they had only sold him for 8m a year previously. If Levy had any kind of balls or a brain he would have told arry to fuck off buying back a player for 15m that they sold for 8m 12 months ago.
Darren Bent could be going cheap now and Campbell could head back to Utd. Defoe is better than both of those but worth a fraction of the loony price Spurs are paying for him. Wouldnt it be great if Spurs went down and show up that corrupt spiv cockney wide boy arry for what he is. Havent heard the Harry Houdini line in a while come to think of it. Martin Jol must be wetting himself
Some much for all this talk of Arry and his wheeler dealer ways…15 million for Defoe and 12 million for Downing, both are way over priced…Defoe is woth 8 maybe 9 million at the most, Downing 6 milion…
Downing is shite. Wouldn’t pay 3 million for him.
Defoe is a good player. Could be better if he weren’t such a gobshite.
I would agree that 8 million would be loads for him.
[quote=“farmerinthecity”]Downing is shite. Wouldn’t pay 3 million for him.
he is nothing spectacular but he is English and left footed, a rare breed, meaning that his value is going to be some what inflated…6 million is about right…If he was right footed I would say he wouldn’t have one England cap…
I’d love to see Villa make a cheeky punt for Spurs two Welsh full backs, Gunter and Bale. We need cover at right back and I’ve been impressed by Gunter when I’ve ever seen him. Bale with the right management could be world class. Remember watching the 4-4 draw with Spurs last season and he was sensational at left back. Was man of the match against Germany away for Wales a few months ago in central midfield. Injury prone but is still young and has talent and pace that Shorey could only dream of.
Bale has a lovely left foot and plenty of pace but is cowardly as fuck and this will affect his overall development…Haven’t seen the lad Gunter play TBH…
There’s always been a premium to be paid for young English players though. Mix that with some clubs in England still having war chests of money and you’ll get fees like Defoe and Downing are commanding.
Isn’t Bale the player for Spurs who have never won an EPL game with him in the side? Jinxed.
Defoe is a cunt. The day after Wham got relegated there a few years back he handed in a transfer request. I know he wanted to go but he could a waited a week or two. Hated now down the east end Ince-esq style.
Downing is an average to good player. Very hot and cold.
[quote=“Locke”]Isn’t Bale the player for Spurs who have never won an EPL game with him in the side? Jinxed.
Defoe is a cunt. The day after Wham got relegated there a few years back he handed in a transfer request. I know he wanted to go but he could a waited a week or two. Hated now down the east end Ince-esq style.
Downing is an average to good player. Very hot and cold.[/quote]
A lot was made of Defoe handing in the transfer request that time but Alan Smith said that he was leaving Leeds at the end of the season where they got relegated whether they got relegated or not and was seen as some kind of hero. He ended up joined Man Utd then just to add insult to injury.
It struck me that the only thing Defoe did wrong was waiting until the end of the season to hand in the request.
Oh yeah Alan Smith is another absolute cunt.
[quote=“farmerinthecity”]A lot was made of Defoe handing in the transfer request that time but Alan Smith said that he was leaving Leeds at the end of the season where they got relegated whether they got relegated or not and was seen as some kind of hero. He ended up joined Man Utd then just to add insult to injury.
.[/quote]
No what happened with Smith was the season before hand when Leeds nearly got relegated he said he would stay with Leeds whether they got relegated or not the farmer…The fans thought it was brillinat that he said he would stay…The season after we did get relegated and he left for Man United of all the teams…
[quote=“The Puke”]What drugs are you on mac?..
Pompey paid 8 million for him…Spurs are now paying 15 million for him…Maybe the farmer or one of the other bean counters can do the maths on it but that is nearly double what pompey paid for him:rolleyes:[/quote]
Read it wrong Puke, thought the question was “how much are spurs buying him for”? Please accept my humble apology.