January Transfer Window Thread

[quote=“myboyblue”]
Benjani would do well not tbe knocking off his PM’s wife.[/quote]

Interesting, and by PM do you mean Prime Minister?

What’s this about?

Fuck me, serious typo there, didnt mean PM, meant member of “cabinet” of some sort. Rumour was doing the rounds early on this season I believe, not sure how true it was.

Sven used to allow all sorts in the Man City training grounds, players agents, friends, mobile phones. Sparky is a little stricter, tore Elano a new one when Elano was skiving off during training one day on his mobile. Elano not happy. Arranged to meet Chairman to seek riddance of Hughes, was told to get lost.

couldn’t believe benjani was knobbing some Zimbabwe politician so i went off and found this, you were close enough i suppose but this is funny reading, the ZimDaily i assume is some tabloid,its from October last.

ZIMBABWE HARARE - A scandal of seismic heights has rocked the Zimbabwe National soccer team with the Chief Executive Officer of the Zimbabwe Football Association (ZIFA) Henrietta Rushwaya reportedly taking care of sexual needs of a high profile premier league striker spelling the demise of the nations hopes of qualifying for international soccer tourneys.

It has emerged that owing to the ZIFA Chiefs flurry of sex appetite, the concept of confining national team players into camp to avoid activities that pacify them in the face of international matches has become a mockery.

Rushwaya is reportedly in the habit of cowing the number one coach Jose Claudinei Valinhos into sanctioning the departure of some players from camp to moonlight in secluded night spots and even to have a brief encounter off the blankets with her.

A source close to the inner circles of the leadership of the national soccer team has spilled the beans that when the Warriors were billed to face Namibia in their maiden appearance at the Rufaro Aestro Turf, two days prior to the match, Benjani Mwaruwari, Harrington Shereni and Cephas Chimedza were spotted along Harares Samora Machel Avenue in a Twin Cab belonging to Rushwaya.

Sources say the UK based striker and Rushwaya were destined for naughty social episodes at a time other warriors were languishing in camp.
Rushwaya and the player have left the senior team in a state of shock. When he comes home especially on a siesta from his overseas club, he camps at Rushwayas residence where they live literary like husband and wife

Mwaruwari is no stranger to controversy. A few years ago he was involved in a fist fight with former Coventry City striker Peter Ndlovu in Egypt over some woman who turned out to be a lady of the night

Rushwaya herself is known for being generous with her body and numerous scribes have had a go. She is a very kind boss whose generosity has won her friends especially in the media as most of her scandals are deliberately swept under the carpet, said the source on condition of anonymity.
When Rushwaya, the iron lady as she is known in some circles was appointed ZIFAs CEO she could not hide her glutton as she singularly went into camp for almost three months at the Crowne plaza where most renowned male vultures close to her had a feast.

ZimDaily rang the Plaza at the time and she picked the phone from her room and had to hang up after realising that she had been invaded by a scribe.

An employee at Crowne Plaza had this to say: This is Zimbabwe my friend. The ZIFA lady is living large here despite her having a house in Harare.

Rushwaya once worked in Vice President Joseph Msikas office and she is reportedly a no-nonsense person who does not take kindly to criticism of any sort.

It is widely believed that ZANU PF largely sanctioned her stay at the Crowne Plaza under the belief that she had the power to turn around the fortunes at ZIFA.

Efforts to get a comment from Rushwaya were futile as she was said to be engaged at Holiday Inn with the Warriors pencilled to fulfil their ‘useless’ reverse fixture with the Namibians.

In a visit to the Holiday Inn to talk to Rushwaya, a player who was busking October sunshine at the entrance of the hotel said, If you would like to see our mother figure, you can come during lunch hour and you will surely not miss her in the dining hall as she cannot miss the exercise of colliding utensils against each other.

Meanwhile Valinhos, the Warriors coach has reportedly fired a salvo at his critics that he is not going anywhere despite bleak chances of Zimbabwe qualifying for any international tourney for now as it stares a dead rubber.

Apologies for my misleading.

That article is fucking priceless btw.

There was a great story that Peter Ndlovu tells about former Leeds United legend Tony Yeboah…

In his monthly column on footyhighlights.com, Peter Ndlovu recalls a salacious incident from the Africa Cup of Nations 2006:

We had just played our final group game, ending on a high by beating a strong Ghana side but still crashing out of the tournament. At the hotel that night we decided to have a few drinks and toast to our victory. I had invited my friend, who I can’t name for legal reasons (fans of English football will remember him from his highly successful period with Leeds United), along as he had been watching the match.

The lads started giving my friend a lot of stick for his country’s loss, especially our head coach. My friend was taking it quite gracefully but, as a proud Ghanaian, I could sense his patience was wearing thin. Nevertheless, the drinks kept flowing and so did the jokes.

It came to the end of the night and some of the lads had disappeared to bed, most notably our coach and my friend. Now during the whole tournament the manager had personally entered the hotel rooms of our most lazy players (Benjani was the worst) and pulled them out of bed in the morning to get ready for training so myself and a couple of the other lads decided to repeat the routine on him. We got the keys from reception and seven of us bundled into his hotel room at 4 a.m. To our horror it was not our coach who we found in bed, it was my friend. The worst part was that he was having sex with the coach’s wife!

I quickly rounded the boys up and ushered them out of the room, frantically hoping to keep a lid on the situation. After all, it was I who invited him to the party! We found the coach in one of the hotel bathrooms. He had had far too much to drink and crashed out.

The next morning, at breakfast, I quizzed my friend about what happened and he delivered a line which I will remember all my life:

“When a man insults my country, I insult him by taking his woman“

Our manager did eventually find out about the incident and I think he separated from his wife for a period. The last I heard though was that they are back together and he’s now coaching in the USA.

The moral of the story is never to slag off someone’s country!

Ndlovu is hardly subtle about revealing the identity of his ‘friend’. A Ghanian striker who was successful at Leeds? He might as well have titled the story ‘Don’t let Tony Yeboah near your wife.

[quote=“HBV*”]
Rushwaya herself is known for being generous with her body and numerous scribes have had a go.

If you would like to see our mother figure, you can come during lunch hour and you will surely not miss her in the dining hall as she cannot miss the exercise of colliding utensils against each other. [/quote]

Very delicately put sentences there.

This is the Henrietta Rushwaya wan by the way

[quote=“Pikeman”]http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/44505000/jpg/_44505030_henrietta_rushwaya08_152.jpg
This is the Henrietta Rushwaya wan by the way[/quote]

fuck me shes rough as a badgers ballbag.

She’s no Amanda Brunker

[quote=“Georgy Comerford”]http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/44505000/jpg/_44505030_henrietta_rushwaya08_152.jpg

She’s no Amanda Brunker[/quote]

Or Lucy Kennedy

While I wouldnt be in agreement with Sven’s methods, they appear to have worked far better on the Man City squad than the current incumbent. Elano for a start is a shadow of the player he was last season. Defensively they are unrecognisable.

Sven also used to arrange for Swedish tourist groups to “drop by” also apparently.

Tottenham have signed Wilson Palacios from Wigan in a 14million deal.
The clubs finally reached agreement over the Honduras midfielder’s transfer after lengthy negotiations. And Italian goalkeeper Carlo Cudicini is set to arrive from Chelsea in a 1m deal.

Palacios has passed a medical and agreed terms with Spurs and is now awaiting a work permit before completing his registration.

Palacios has gone to Spurs for 14m.

Alex McLeish must feel a bit silly. Maybe Wenger also who recommended him to Bruce in the first place.

Dont think he is much of an improvement on Jenas myself but certainly better than Zokora.

We’ll see. Spurs have the innate ability to turn seemingly decent players to shite in no time at all.

Celtic after evans of Man City

good article below- no bullet points available

Marc Crosas, one of the new Celtic signings

Graham Spiers

The news that Celtic are continuing to chase Morten Nielsen, Chelseas talented 18-year-old Danish striker, will have provoked familiar chimes around Scottish football yesterday. In the Scottish champions desire to land Nielsen, something very familiar is going on.

In the past four weeks Celtic have acquired Milan Misun, the 18-year-old Czech full-back, as well as Michael Lang, a 17-year-old Switzerland youth international. At the start of this season Peter Lawwell, the Celtic chief executive, announced that a series of conversations with Barcelona had concluded with Marc Crosas, the 20-year-old Spanish midfield player, signing for the club, initially on loan but with a buy-out option available to Celtic.

Between Crosas, Misun and Lang arriving in Glasgow, Celtic also signed Dominic Cervi, 22, an American goalkeeper, and are also looking at Sacha Kljestan, a 23-year-old Major League Soccer player. On top of all of these players, Celtic have a young Italian, two young England players and another Czech lad at the club.

What does it all amount to? In the same month that Manchester City tried and failed to land Kak for 107 million, and a striker such as Craig Bellamy went from West Ham United to City for 14 million, Celtics transfer activity looks paltry by comparison. In fact, though, this systematic scouring of Britain, Europe and the United States for the cream of young talent is a specific policy that the club have embarked on over the past 18 months.
Related Links

• Celtic target young Chelsea striker Nielsen

• Celtic cut down by Diamond

• Are strike pair heading for Old Firm exit?

Lawwell is the driving force behind the strategy, having weighed up the finances of European football and concluded that Celtic and probably Rangers need a completely different approach to building a squad. With stratospheric transfer fees and salaries commonplace in the European game, Lawwell decided that a seismic shift was needed in Celtics approach. As the Celtic chief executive put it yesterday: We knew we had to keep competing on the European stage, but it meant taking a decidedly different approach.

When Celtic opened their new Lennoxtown training facility two years ago, Lawwell and Gordon Strachan, the manager, were in agreement that the complex on the outskirts of Glasgow was perfect not just for routine first-team training, but for the enticing and developing of exciting young European talent.

The economics of football have changed radically in recent years, Lawwell said. It had got harder and harder for Celtic to compete with the clubs from the major European powers England, Spain, Italy, Germany so we knew we had to try a different strategy. It is something weve been working on for a couple of years now and we will see where it takes us.

The top transfer fees and salaries today are pretty much out of our reach. But what we have got is a great club, a great brand, and 60,000 people coming to watch us every week. Weve also got a decent chance of playing in the Champions League most seasons, so all of these are aspects that we can sell to a young player who might come to Celtic.

At the moment it is the way ahead. We will always compete in the transfer market where we can, and weve shown that in players such as Scott Brown, Georgios Samaras and Shaun Maloney coming to Celtic. But a new strategy was required. We are trying to find and rear other exciting young talent, at a financial level that is manageable to us.

Strachan, when he was in England managing Coventry City and Southampton, has already tasted the richer waters of transfer business, but the Celtic manager agrees that youthful promise from home or abroad is a road that Celtic need to take. Central to the entire strategy is John Park, Celtics head of scouting and youth development, who scours England and the continent for talent.

Some of these players are gambles on our part, works in progress, Strachan said. But I think it is an option we have to pursue. The question is, can we make these players even better?

Milan Misun, for example, is a young guy who has come from a different culture, so hell take a while to settle. But we like what we have seen in terms of his raw energy and ability. Now well see if we can add to that.

We have to gamble and we have to be creative. For example, we could never afford a player like Marouane Fellaini a young guy who goes to Everton for 15 million. That isnt an option for us. So this is another route.

Almost as a reminder that they will continue to buy players, Celtic still hope to purchase Ched Evans, Manchester Citys Wales striker, before the transfer window closes. But something much more resourceful appears to be going on at Celtic Park.

I don’t oppose Celtic’s new transfer strategy per se. It’s what big clubs from smaller leagues like Ajax, FC Porto and the like have been doing for years - signing young, hungry talent and then selling him then on for substantial profit to more lucrative leagues after you’ve gotten decent service out of them. You could argue Celtic did it inadvertently with Stan Petrov too.

As mentioned before, UK work permit laws are much stricter than on the continent (player X has to have broken into his senior international squad etc) so Celtic aren’t going to be able to making a signing such as PSV getting Ronaldo as a 17-year old for example. They’re more restricted to the EU market (free movement of labour!), hence the signings of young players from Switzerland and Czech Republic mentioned in that article.

That said, I reckon Celtic need to mix it up a bit. I was gagging for a commanding, experienced centre back in the summer but it wasn’t to be. I can’t help thinking that if all the money that’s been spent on fees and wages for the likes of Hutchinson, McGinn, McCourt, Loovens et al was pooled together we could have gone to €5m or €6m to get a tough cunt to play at the back.

Ched Evans doesn’t excite me too much either - I’m conscious of Aliadiere, Hutchinson and Riordan and, again, I would hold off on spending 1.2m plus wages for a squad player and instead pool this money to go and get someone who’ll make a real difference to the first team.

[quote=“myboyblue”]Tottenham have signed Wilson Palacios from Wigan in a 14million deal.
The clubs finally reached agreement over the Honduras midfielder’s transfer after lengthy negotiations. And Italian goalkeeper Carlo Cudicini is set to arrive from Chelsea in a 1m deal.

Palacios has passed a medical and agreed terms with Spurs and is now awaiting a work permit before completing his registration.[/quote]

Cudicicni is a great signing for 1 million in the scheme of things,he never did a lot wrong at Chelsea and would surely keep the ball out of the goal better than Gomes.