January Transfer Window Thread

[quote=“farmerinthecity”]Who in the name of Jaysus do you want then?

Benzema?

Get real. Heskey is about Villa’s level.[/quote]

Ashley Young is Villa’s level not non goalscoring Liverpool rejects like Heskey and Bellamy.

Ben Arfa, Gudjohnsen, Zarate. Someone in that league we should be aiming for. I’d be disgusted with the ambition of signing a Heskey. MON likes his former players tho so this one could be a runner.

Heskey would improve our squad but we need someone who can compete with Carew and Gabby.

Heskey is well better than Carew - well better.

You will have to do better than that to take my title.

• Alex has revealed he’s asked for a move away to Chelsea in January.
  • Reports suggest Man Utd are set to offer Edwin Van der Sar another deal.
  • Milan have signed Brazilian defender Thiago Silva from Fluminese - he was said to be on Chelsea’s radar.
  • Ramon Calderon says Real Madrid will reveal their January signings in 8-10 days.
  • Palermo playmaker Fabio Simplicio is attracting interest from Spain apparently. Very good player this guy.

I read somewhere yesterday that Ramos wants to bring either Aaron Lennon or David Bentley to Madrid :slight_smile:

where did you read that?

It was in yesterdays indo lifted from the English version I believe…

TFK EXCLUSIVE:

Celtic are going to announce the signing of Niall McGinn from Derry City today.

He was signed from Dungannon to replace Paddy McCourt so let’s see who replaces McGinn and then we can go and sign him in the summer too.

Van der Sar signed a 1-year extension earlier today.

Craig Bellamy is giving an absolute exhibition at Chelsea today. Bring him home to Paradise.

does anyone else think mark lawrenson was bang out of order publicising his chat with S Gerard at the weekend, saying robbie keane is on the way out of anfield.
It compromises Gerard, puts more pressure on keane and makes himself look an even bigger name dropping cunt than he already is.

[quote=“HBV*”]does anyone else think mark lawrenson was bang out of order publicising his chat with S Gerard at the weekend, saying robbie keane is on the way out of anfield.
It compromises Gerard, puts more pressure on keane and makes himself look an even bigger name dropping cunt than he already is.[/quote]

I heard the conversation on the last word last night and didnt really put much pass on it as it sounded like the Irish / English moustached / non-moustached one just doing his usual name dropping. Can’t believe that its the first item on most sports bulletins today. This is the second time this year “Lawro” has created controversy like this. The first one might have been to do with the Irish managers position or something like that? Maybe his contract is up for renewal at the end of this season or something.

The Tatted Taff did well for us on Sunday but hopefully he’ll be going nowhere

Would agree with that.

I think Keane had a falling out with Benitez after the West Ham game. May be trying to teach him a lesson.

Wouldn’t listen to a word that Lawrenson says though.

Fuckin hell RTE are quare slow sometimes. This story has been in the public domain since 6.30 on Monday evening but they only carry it this morning. There’s already been counter storys with Lawrenson retracting some of what he said.

Lawrenson: Keane likely to leave 'Pool
Wednesday, 17 December 2008 07:17

Steven Gerrard believes Robbie Keane will leave Liverpool in next month’s transfer window, according to former Reds star Mark Lawrenson.

Lawrenson, who won five league titles during his time at Anfield, made the claim during a radio interview in Ireland - although Liverpool insist Gerrard does not recall the conversation in the same way.

Lawrenson said: 'I had a drink with Steven Gerrard at a function on Saturday night, and we were talking about Robbie Keane.

‘He was saying to me that they [Keane and Gerrard] share the same agent and he thinks something is going to happen with Robbie Keane in January. He thinks he’s going to be moved on.’

Striker Keane has scored just twice in the Barclays Premier League since his 20million summer move from Tottenham.

Now, in an attempt to smooth the rippled waters, Lawrenson has changed his tune somewhat.

He stated: "I’m sorry if it caused any aggravation, but it wasn’t meant to.

"Steven Gerrard’s name should never have come up in terms of Robbie Keane going in January. It wasn’t Steven saying that - it was me.

"The only connection I was making between the two was that they have the same agent and I have had a hunch for a while that Keane could go.

“That is my opinion, though, and nothing whatsoever to do with any conversations I had with Steven Gerrard. I didn’t mean for that to come across in the way that it has been interpreted.”

Still, Keane himself is unlikely to be entirely pleased with Lawrenson’s continual attacks on his 'Pool future if he does intend to stay and fight for his place.

Portsmouth have accepted a “substantial” bid from Real for Lassana Diarra, apparently Man City are interested as well.

Lads, how good is this Diarra lad?

What an idiot Lawrenson is.

Very, cunt wasnt prepared to bide his time with the gooners to take Gilberto’s place in time… fooked off to pompey, but is just what Arsenal need now… Denilson would be Diarra-lite.