January Transfer Window Thread

No, it’s not a fact. As was pointed out, Nigel-Reo Coker has never played Champions League football so it’s your opinion as to how his stamina would hold up at that level and certainly not fact. It’s a sweeping statement/generalisation to say Maloney’s a hero again. Many supporters were lukewarm about his return due to him putting money before football but supporters also acknowledged his contribution in the past. Having seen how regretful he was about things, and given what he could potentially give to the team, I was happy when he resigned. He’s still searching for his best form and trying to adapt back to playing a technical passing style in tandem with Naka, Aiden and Crosas, as opposed to the more direct, long ball approach at Villa, but I feel he’s close to getting there.

Is every soccer thread going to turn into a Celtic v Aston Villa thread.

looks that way alright hb

[quote=“KIB man”]

MON sold him back to Glasgow Celtic at a profit, having bought him on a Bosman. Maloney obviously loves Glasgow Celtic so much that he put off signing a contract until it ran out. Depriving the club of a couple of million of badly needed funds. He comes back and he is a hero. Very strange.[/quote]

Maloney was not signed on a bosman, Villa bought him for 900k but yes villa did still make a profit on him

Well, with Celtic having won a game in the Champions League last night, KIB Man has been marked absent from the specific Champions League thread. You have to pick your battles and it would have looked pretty silly questioning the collective Celtic players’ ability on that thread following last night’s performance. But it’s gas that he chose this one to launch another little pop at Celtic at 7.47am this morning. The Irish international scoring again on the Champions League stage must have hurt terribly overnight.

Didnt watch any CL games last night Bandage. Didnt think there was any point looking at the thread therfore. You had previously described the game as a friendly in any case so I wouldnt be creaming myself if I were you.

I’m delighted that McGeady scored on his return from injury. As a fan of the Irish international side, I hope one of our regulars is in the best possible form. Although I admit, I do feel a warped sense of happiness to see Robbie Keane making a show of himself. That issue has been debated to death and I have no wish to re-engage on it.

In other news, Zokora is being linked with Real Madrid. Ramos is obviously insane. Zokora is rubbish.

[quote=“KIB man”]
More of this bullshit. Maloney interviewed on his return to Glasgow Celtic, what would you have expected?.

He could also have said that he was frustrated as being on the bench. Not making much of an impression when given countless chances. He knew he was only going to be third choice wide man or even fourth. I was at the game where he made his debut at Reading. He did pretty well so I was disapointed that he failed to made an impact. Far too weak on the ball, no pace, no left foot. Still a skilful player so I’m happy for him to be back scoring again.

MON taking him off at half time against Chelsea was not his finest moment of man management. MON sold him back to Glasgow Celtic at a profit, having bought him on a Bosman. Maloney obviously loves Glasgow Celtic so much that he put off signing a contract until it ran out. Depriving the club of a couple of million of badly needed funds. He comes back and he is a hero. Very strange.[/quote]

But Martin O’Neill admitted himself he didn’t want Maloney to rejoin Celtic (although he did make it clear that he understood why Maloney wanted to return to Celtic). O’Neill tried to persuade him to stay but Maloney was not for turning. Clear that Maloney knew almost instantly that he made a mistake in joining Villa as he was regular attender of Celtic games when playing for Villa.

Caldwell not interested in Stoke move
Thursday, 11 December 2008 13:06

Gary Caldwell has shrugged off reported interest from Stoke by pledging his future to Celtic.

Scotland defender Caldwell is rumoured to be a January transfer target for the Barclays Premier League club but he insists his only concern is finalising contract negotiations with the Scottish champions.

He said in Glasgow’s Evening Times: 'I don’t pay any attention to stuff like the reports about Stoke.

'I love playing for Celtic and I want to stay here for a long time. There is no news about my contract, but I’m not concerned at all.

‘I want to stay and the club have shown they want to keep me, so we’ll get it sorted.’

Caldwell helped Celtic salvage some pride for Scottish football last night with the country’s first win in Europe this season, a 2-0 Champions League victory over Villarreal.

The 26-year-old was at the centre of the game’s most controversial moment when Guille Franco was adjudged to have elbowed him in the first half.

Caldwell said: 'He swung a couple of arms and didn’t look like he wanted to be there.

‘The assistant referee was very vigilant in spotting what he did, and if you do that you are going to get sent off. He deserved to go.’

Celtic had already been eliminated from Europe before last night’s match and Caldwell added: 'We showed against a top side we can be very good, and we could have scored more on the night.

‘So we definitely want to be back in the competition next season and hopefully we will do a lot better than this time.’

Can’t blame Maloney for wanting to leave. He was never going to be a regular and had lost his place for Scotland. MON wanted him to stay for cover. Dont think MON was overly upset when he left to be honest.

The only thing instantly clear is that Maloney’s bank account increased as a result of the transfers and that of his current club Glasgow Celtic decreased. They sold a player for 900k (Thanks Rintintin thought he was free) and bought him back for what 3m? 18 months later. Hardly the actions of a diehard Glasgow Celtic fan.

In other news, Gary Caldwell has been linked with … no not Barcelona…Stoke City.

Heskey again with Villa. FFS. Read an article at the weekend from Henry Winter that suggested that Heskey was the missing piece of the Liverpool title winning jigsaw. Unbelievable

Is that the fixture you had marked down as a friendly in the ‘Big Big Month…’ thread.

Ye would be better swaping numbers and meeting up for a wrestle at this stage.

Yes. It is indeed.

From the BBC website

Chelsea boss Luiz Felipe Scolari is urging the Blues to make a 6m offer for Amir Zaki, currently on loan at Wigan from Zamalek. (The Independent)

Wigan do not have a binding fixed-price option to sign Egypt striker Zaki permanently but had hoped to pair him with his compatriot, Middlesbrough frontman Mido, if Emile Heskey leaves for Aston Villa in January. (The Independent)

Brazilian defender Alex has asked to leave Chelsea and AC Milan and Sevilla have already expressed an interest in the 10m-rated centre-back. (The Sun)

Greek side Panathinaikos also want Alex and have already asked about signing him. (The Independent)

Chelsea have agreed a 4m deal for SC Braga striker Orlando Sa but the Portuguese club hope to keep him for the rest of the season. (The Independent)

Blues boss Scolari is also keen on Fluminese defender Thiago Silva, available on a free transfer after running down his contract, but faces competition from Inter Milan, AC Milan and Villarreal. (The Independent)

Celtic are set to make a cut-price 5m move for West Ham’s Wales striker Craig Bellamy. (The Sun)

Manchester City have also been alerted by the Hammers’ decision to make Bellamy available for 6m. (Daily Mirror)

City are poised to make a 50m offer for Liverpool striker Fernando Torres but accept the Spanish striker is unlikely to want to leave the Reds. (Daily Mirror)

Portsmouth midfielder Lassana Diarra, Blackburn striker Roque Santa Cruz and Valencia forward David Villa remain on Manchester City’s shopping list. (Daily Mirror)

Valencia say they will turn down any bids from City for Villa. (The Sun)

Manchester City manager Mark Hughes has put Bayern Munich midfielder Franck Ribery top of his January transfer hit-list. (Daily Express)

Aston Villa are battling City in a 6m scrap for Sheffield United defender Kyle Naughton. (Daily Mirror)

Chelsea are expecting a January bid from Manchester City for left-back Wayne Bridge but would prefer not to sell him. (The Independent)

Blackburn boss Paul Ince has been told to draw up a list of potential targets for the January transfer window, despite facing the sack if he does not improve Rovers’ results before Christmas. (The Times)

Ince hopes to sign a right-back, midfielder and centre-forward. (The Times)

Tottenham boss Harry Redknapp is keen on Blackburn’s 5m-rated defender Stephen Warnock. (Daily Mirror)

Blackburn are stepping up their chase for Wolfsburg’s German international left-back Marcel Schafer, who is Warnock’s most likely replacement at Ewood Park. (Daily Mirrror)

Newcastle will swoop for versatile Fiorentina midfielder Juan Vargas in January and are ready to pay 8m for the Peru international. (The Sun)

Newcastle, Everton and Aston Villa are all tracking Inter Milan striker David Suazo. (Daily Mirror)

Watford have turned down Stoke’s 1m offer for Tommy Smith and want 3m for the striker. (Daily Mirror)

Liverpool striker Robbie Keane insists he will not leave Anfield, despite being linked with a move back to Tottenham. (Daily Mirror)

Former Tottenham boss Juande Ramos will raid White Hart Lane to take Ivory Coast midfielder Didier Zokora to his new side Real Madrid. (Daily Mirror)

Ramos will turn his attention to Portsmouth midfielder Lassana Diarra if he fails to snap up Zokora. (Daily Express)

Everton are looking at taking City’s Brazilian striker Jo on loan. (Daily Express)

Toffees boss David Moyes has drawn up a list of 30 possible striker signings but Henrik Larsson’s wage demands mean the former Celtic and Barcelona frontman, who is now a free agent, will not be coming to Goodison Park. (The Independent)

Wigan have opened new contract talks with England Under-21 defender Ryan Taylor, who will be a free agent in the summer. (The Sun)

Former England goalkeeper Ian Walker has had his contract at Bolton ended by mutual consent. (Daily Mirror)

Walker could now move to the United States and join a Major League Soccer club. (The Sun)

Kilmarnock boss Jim Jefferies is keen on former Dundee United striker Robbie Winters, who is a free agent after leaving Norwegian side Brann Bergen. (Daily Record)

Jefferies is also eyeing striker Armand One, who used to play for Partick Thistle and Wrexham but is now with Turun Palloseura in Finland. (Daily Record)

[quote=“Locke”]Lots of West Ham talk from bbc.co.uk gossip column:

West Ham captain Lucas Neill wants a pay rise to sign an extended deal at Upton Park but the Australian international defender is likely to have to accept a huge pay cut in order to stay at the club. (The Times)

That Lucas Neill is a right cunt.

Rubbish teams from the richest league in the world are indeed in a position to bid for anyone given their finances. Thankfully, Caldwell’s knocked it on the head but I actually thought Pulis was at Easter Road on Sunday to watch Steven Fletcher. I don’t think Barca have expressed any public interest in Caldwell though neither have Stoke City it has to be said.

Since this topic had a licence to veer all over the place its probably worth mentioning that Marlon King was arrested on suspicion of assaulting a women.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/england/humber/7777291.stm

yes, yes he is.

[quote=“Mac”]Since this topic had a licence to veer all over the place its probably worth mentioning that Marlon King was arrested on suspicion of assaulting a women.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/england/humber/7777291.stm[/quote]

Bout time he hit the target:D

he better no be out for the weekend, have him in my fantasy team and made transfer this week already. scored a couple for hull lately.

He’s shat too. Scotty Parker should be the club captain, pure and simple. Fook off you Aussie coont.

Who in the name of Jaysus do you want then?

Benzema?

Get real. Heskey is about Villa’s level.