Joe Canning, Unquestionably the GOAT

Did you?

Corcoran was absolute a great. He was just on below average Cork teams

Joe Canning is a GREAT.

What really impressed me last Sunday was the way he took on the mantle of Leader when Burke went awol. He worked his bollocks off helping in attack & defense. Made great runs off the ball. Nailed the important frees and showed his genius in that winning score.
You could see he was up for this game but in a controlled manner. He has matured this year, he is sacrificing his normal game for the team.

Barring an absolute no show & defeat in the AI he will be HOTY.

While injured. He couldn’t run in the leinster final but yet the poor Wexford lads though matthew o halloran was in line for an all star after marking him

Agree. He’s being judged by ridiculously high standards given what he has done before. I still think he is more natural at full forward but as you say he is sacrificing his game for the good of the team, and the team are delivering all around him. How he didn’t get a man of the match nomination is surprising.

I must had that Paudie Maher, much as I dislike him, was absolutely massive.

This is a common misconception with Canning. Stick him in FF.

That was done to death for years but they couldn’t supply the ball he needed.

Playing him in the Half forward line gives him licence to roam, pick off killer passes, take long range scores and make runs into areas where he can take goal chances.

Micheal O’Donoghue has gotten the absolute most out of Joe this year & should be commended for this.

I think the best was gotten out of him in 2012 when he was FF and rotated out to midfield and back when he wanted. Best of both worlds. His goal threat is lost where is and I don’t think there’s anyone like him to manufacture goals. However is suits the talent in Galways forwards at the moment to have him where he is, they have a handful of strong full forwards.

I don’t recall Cork going six years without winning a championship match on Brian Corcoran’s watch?

You don’t get it.

Canning sets up the goals. Cooney, Flynn & Whelan if supplied with decent ball will plunder goals.

Playing Joe FF & saying he can wander out to MF is plain wrong & upsets formation. He is doing an excellent job in his current role. Galway management are lucky they have a FF line now that hold there own & thus give Joe a chance to excel.

Based on the totality of his career I’d certainly consider him a great. I don’t think I’d consider him a great if he’d done nothing after 1998, as he hadn’t done enough to justify that tag by that time.

Canning’s movement wasn’t good enough for full forward. Joey Holden held him easily enough in there a few times ffs

Is he fully fit ?

As far as I recall, after 1992, they didn’t win one until 1998.

Ah, you’re counting a victory against Kerry, are you?

I get it. I completely agreed with you, you mad eejit.

I specifically said that it suits the players Galway have right now.

In isolation, Canning himself is better suited to the role he played in 2012. His role now suits the team though.

Canning was gash at FF.

Go shit in your hat.

No because I don’t go in for such twee nonsense.

Toddle along now.

There is a valid argument that Cannings true talents have only matured since O’DONOGHUE took the reigns. Canning is a class hurler who can combine selfishness when he needs it but also has the knowhow to spot someone in a better position when it’s on.
Galway’s biggest mistake was lobbing him in full forward on the assumption he was going to win it for them.

Cork beat Kerry in the 1995 Munster quarter final.