Jordan Peterson 🐐 vs CH4

giphy (30)

It wasn’t that bad now…leave the lad alone

Here is a 101 on Jordan Peterson’s utter stupidity. He is, with endless banality, a depressive/nihilist trying to chivvy himself. EM Cioran at least remains decent reading.

And then, and then… If the 19th century had Samuel Smiles, the 21st century provided Samuel Frowns in the guise of yer man. Peterson connected, via YouTube, with the plethora of mottled (largely middle-aged) white men on every e-corner – and made himself rich(ish). But wealth derived from endemic human stupidity must be like receiving a toupee for free. Hence his endless self pity, into the bargain.

For Peterson’s ‘message’, the TFK men’s shed was like lack of ventilation for coronaviruses, a perfect mix of claustrophobia and exhalation through recreational anger. Jordan Peterson is George Hook for Irish people – Irish males – with some class of a degree. A dismaying spectacle, all in all But no surprise…

A lovely bit of night fishing. You landed the resident paid-by-the-word hack.

You know nothing. You are a sociopath. And you will never know anything.

And you are illiterate about hyphens, the real mark of a no mark, in my view.

That’s an abysmal use of the comma. Are you actually a paid writer, or is it a wind-up?

As for the sociopath comment? That gave me a laugh. Your unhinged attack on poor Sidney was the epitome of someone with a sociopathic personality. Do you recall that? It was the time you felt compelled to apologise and promised to never post here again.

@Thomas_Brady has a fanny

It doesn’t matter. @Thomas_Brady is still not to let touched

Robert Lea is attacking a point that Peterson never made. Like a lot of criticism of Peterson it seems to focus on people not liking an idea Peterson espouses but then attacking a point he has not made.

It’s fascinating that reasonably mainstream constructs of psychology trigger so many people on the left and indeed on the right drive idiotic behaviour that they claim is based on what Peterson said when he never actually said it.

Look, I do not give a flying one what any sociopath – well, not thinks: says. Move on, in the phrase. Think as well of yourself as you can.

You are the one who has a great deal of opinions – nay, weird curiosity – about me. No one asked you to comment here. I could not care less what the likes of you reckons about anything. You are the ever predictable, just another ladeen in search of politics as an alibi for your personality – another Milo Yiannopoulos.

Think as well of yourself as you can.

Look, you are talking shite about ‘right’ and ‘left’, because such is your circus top. I could not care less. If you knew even the most rudimentary co-ordinates in philosophy, you would know Peterson is as mundane and as banal as could be – as he knows himself, as per his depression. If Peterson had any wisdom, he would tell people to read William James.

I have no interest in ‘right’ and ‘left’. There is stupid and non stupid.

And Peterson did talk the most shite of shite about lobsters. He was looking for an alibi, the old story. And no philosopher of any substance craves an alibi for his own personality.

Good. So you also believe in competence hierarchies. Same as Peterson.

You are specious in thinking hierarchy can be, simultaneously, a metaphor and an inevitability. If something can be a metaphor, it is, by definition, not an inevitability, since it can be imagined as well as experienced.

Yes, I believe in hierarchies. Of course I do – by necessity. Anyone who uses language does, because language is a hierarchy that privileges intelligibility over non intelligibility. To this extent, anything functional involves a hierarchy. Big deal…

Unlike Peterson, I do not believe competence, in whatever sphere, involves a hierarchy predicated on gender and race. Men, physically, are stronger than women. But this realization is about as profound as noting the Dutch, statistically, are taller than the Irish .

He does not say that. In fact he says that attempts to achieve diversity by focussing on middle class people and equality of outcome for them ignores all the other cohorts of society so we are ultimately left with less diversity not more and targets any kind of excellence.

“any kind of excellence”… Give me a break. Peterson believes ‘excellence’ is being stymied by an erosion of ‘traditional’ gender roles. I think this stuff is historically illiterate.

Look, there are any amount of painful ‘woke’ people out there. I cannot bear the self righteousness. So I try to sidestep it, best I can. I had a proleptic version of all that craic as an undergraduate, many moons ago, jn the Sylvia Plath-Ted Hughes fandango. But even the most painful ‘wpkeness’ is not remotely as toxic as what Peterson enables.

He is, basically, a depressive that has monetized being half able to cope with his depression. Fair enough – and I would sympathize with his struggles except that empathy for the non empathetic is difficult to muster. But how anyone could admire Peterson or find him wise remains beyond me.

it comes down to beliefs. They think he is saying what they believe, distilled through the media and are getting some kind of validation from a father figure.

He was a dangerous fucker

R.I.P.

So what you’re saying is that JD Salinger was a dangerous fucker

Well, I obviously do not know whether JP is personally dangerous – and I do not like to contemplate anyone’s mental struggles . But I think he grooved certain topics and energies in toxic ways. He should have known better. This craic about us humans being animals is the oldest of old hat.

Decca Aitkenhead is a fine journalist and I think her piece, for the most part, is a good one. The Petersons are hustlers, basically. If anything, DA soft pedals a bit.

Where Peterson gets it wrong is he ignores that privilege does play a huge part in hierarchies… And it’s enacted through law.