Journalist Investigated over Teenage Girl

Serious question: what age does a “child” have to be for it to be considered paedophilia? Or does paedophilia imply that it was forced as opposed to consensual statutory rape?

i dont doubt youll find character references for him, but irrespective of who they are it matters not. Just as someone will vouch for the character of someone who smashed a brick into someones head and then watched them die but they are a good lad in the community. To be frank about it i have little time for character witnesses, especially the celebrity ones as they frequently outweigh the facts of the case and victim impact statements.

You’re making for the best discussion on this on the internet. I could see what you were getting at initally but Bandage hit the nail on the head a few posts up. Whether he’s done loads of this or only the one makes a bit of diference but not much. It’s the difference between Ian Huntley and a serial killer. If he’s knowingly carried on a sexual relationship with a 14 year old girl he deserves everything he gets.

What’s with the little references to journalists being ‘sound’ though? Makes me think your on the wind up completely here which would explain a lot.
Also surprised that the youngest woman you’ve rode is 18. Did it take you a while to blossom into the lothario you are today?

You just don’t get it. Even if he was misguided/made a mistake/wreckless/mentally ill/blaa blaa blaa he has ruined a number of lives. The girl herself, his own family etc. I don’t need to know if there were others or if its even more sinister, it fucking is sinister. The girl has said they had a romantic and obviously physical relationship. Other than a court case what else do you need? His daughter found photos and texts. This did happen.

I don’t give a fuck how sound he was/is. He abused his position. I mean we are dam lucky that this girl has not done anything to harm herself.

No idea. It’s certainly not for me to decide either of those things.

When expressing my outrage about this case though, I do take into account the fact that if Tom had done the same thing a few hundred miles away in Germany it would be legal.

That statement is almost unbelieveable, do you also reckon Gary Glitter was fundementally a decent man, this is a dirty old paedo you are talking about. All I can say is be very careful when meeting some of your internet dates if this is the way you think Thraw.

How do you know he ruined her life?? There’s 14 year old young ones out there who’d eat you for breakfast.
I know it happened. I never said otherwise. I’m trying to understand why and how it happened. And I’d care to know the full facts and details before deciding what punishment Tom merits.

Didn’t actually know this until you pointed it out. In Spain it’s actually 13 :o This is wrong imo. 13 year olds could be still in primary school ffs, making their confirmation and the likes.
I would have the age at least 16. People of 13/14 really are still kids I don’t give a fuck how much riding they’re doing among themselves.

with his proximity to underage girls, Im afraid there is a good chance he has.

thrawneen is letting himself down badly here similar to those listowel animals sympathising with a rapist. next thing he will be arguing for mick galwey as a character reference. the alleged actions are indefensible

this is one of the creepiest stories ever to be honest. He virtually made a living writing about underage camogie.

i believe there is the potential in every person to do good or evil. hitler might have been an alright sort as a kid. but when evil does occur it should be punished appropriately.

Very much this!!!

I don’t give a fuck if he was raping 1 or 100 little girls, his punishment should be severe and not lounging around in a mental hospital laughing at the judicial system.

Gary was at that craic for years was he not? And the music business tends to be full of fundamentally indecent men, so the comparison is ridiculous.

youve mentioned that before and ill reiterate what i said. If you think it should be legal for 14 year olds to be riding 47 year olds go door to door with a petition to change the law.

And seeing as were not in germanys jurisdiction, the holocaust wasnt all about the jews

Good point there I must say. Sums it up really.

so if tom humphries worked in the music industry, a different punishment would be appropriate? come on ffs, the nonsense you are talking is crazy

I was referencing Keith and Tom as being sound as I’ve been reading these guys almost every day for over a decade. If you’re into sport the journalists play almost a bigger part in your interest than the sportspeople do. Journalists tend to almost live in each other’s pockets from time to time (World Cups/Olympics etc.) so I think they are well placed to give character references, despite Art not giving them any credibility. I see his point but there’s no better way, that I can think of, to ascertain someone’s true nature.

I’m no lothario, gola, just a regular chap.

I think he’s actually pulling the piss now. Don’t think he really was at the start but has realised he’s defending the indefensible since.

Agree with the point that final judgement shouldn’t be passed until we hear the full details though…

You’re wumming now.

Either that or you are really really dumb. Or you are a paedo yourself and think this kind of lark is completely ok.

Tom Humpheries = Gary Sliotar

(
By the reports I’ve read Tom seems to have been at this craic for years aswell.

Ah come out of it, how can you say Keith and Paul are sound from reading their writings on sport ffs! you haven’t the first clue what they’re like as people.

I actually heard Kimmage was a bit of an arrogant cunt from a fella who knows him.

As for the lothario bit I was just surprised a lad like yerself wasn’t doing a bit of riding with young wans his own age before the age of 18. Even I managed that and if I fell into a barrel of tits I’d come out sucking my thumb.