Kerry babies

“Way different Ireland then “

Mmmmm , I wonder .

In some ways only

if anything it shows how far we have come.
we were a right cunt of a backwards third world quasi medieval nation back then, and it wasnt that long ago either
the Joanne Hayes and Anne Lovett cases were low points in oirish societal culture

and the fuzz were always a shower of cunts too
its gas that @thedancingbaby is in the pretendRA and his auld fella a dick in the free state peelers

I’m also a regular mass goer mate. Shame on me, eh

There was two babies. She didnt present to hospital someone reported that she had been pregnant and no sign of baby. Cops approached and she told them her child had been stillborn and buried on family farm ( father was local married man). Her family recovered body of that child.

Cops then worked theory there was twins and forced confessions that she had stabbed the other child to death. She was charged with the murder despite lack of evidence

I was only a kid when it all happened and can still remember the shock of it all. Was a huge scandal. Of course the real scandal will only now emerge

When most of the cunts for that facilitated the lies are now dead or senile.

Is it?
Superficially maybe.
The shit I see and hear in relation to local projects, school appointments etc would suggest the vhurch still have a very silent control.
Wholly under qualified teacher gets a specialised role over a teacher with masters in specific area because she is married to local Cork hurler. Parish priest seemed to be deciding factor.

You’d hear similar stories regular enough

I remember it reasonably well.
But it was also relayed to me years later down there by a couple of corker who regularly holiday there. It seemed to me it was outsiders going on what the lads were saying were responsible for either pressuring the cops or helping the family. It’s hazy enough but an influential Dub was also involved.

Apparently it was clearly obvious to absolutely everyone that she was being stitched up.

It’s the silence I have the hatred for.

That’s still exists

See plenty of it on here. Fellas immediate response to any bit of off kilter info is “show me the evidence”. They cant believe what cant easily be proven.

You worked in risk in BOI yeah?

Sweep sweeep says the sheeep baaaa

You remember it reasonably well? Given that you would have been 6/7 at the time I’d say it’s safe to say you may not have been aware of all the details…

Or as @Fagan_ODowd calls them, “the good old days”

The Garda investigation was bad but the Tribunal was worse. The tribunal was basically a not so modern version of a witch trial with Joanne Hayes in the dock and every detail of her private life laid bare for no other reason than to whitewash the guards. The tribunal judge Lynch was shameless and the report of the tribunal was largely fictional.
In reality though most people could see this and to her eternal credit Nell McCafferty called it early and called it often.

Pre 1990 Ireland must have been a horrible, horrible place to live… Women locked up in laundries, priests riding school children … no wonder some poor fuck felt like she had to murder her baby.

And @Juhniallio and @Julio_Geordio thought the loaf of bread was a coincidence - the chances of two women having babies within a few days of each other in a small town and both murdering the baby.

They wernt necessarily in the same town.

They were 70 miles away

Ok, I dont know the story here at all really, just that two babies died in close proximity

One baby was found on a beach in Caherciveen , the other Hayes lady gave birth to her baby on her family farm in Abbeydorney which wouldn’t be too far from Listowel. She presented at a Kerry hospital after giving birth (and burying the child in a plastic bag). She denied to the doctors she had given birth and with all the publicity around the case in the Caherciveen the doctors alerted the Gardai, who without any real investigation pinned the murder on her.

The cops built whole case around there being no chance it was two different people. Even when medical evidence pointed to both babies having different fathers there was a theory floated that she had twins by different men (which is apparently technically possible).