Is that a Cork or Limerick accent that heās exaggerating there? Iād rather be fit enough to do a hyrox than sitting on a bar stool not fit enough to play Junior B.
Youād be grand. Sure oul wans are doing it now
There is definitely dangers with CrossFit but I canāt see the problem with Hyrox. I did a sim over the winter and there was women in there 50s tipping around at their own pace not a bother to them.
The running is not something youād recommend for lads with bad knees/hips.
If it gets fellas moving them work away. Like everything there will be a few lunatics whoāll take it too far and do damage.
Mind over matter can be dangerous too. I know of a fella who recently ran a 10k and had done very little training but heād be uber competitive and took off at too high a pace. Ended up having a cardiac episode after 6km, no clear diagnosis after numerous tests only that his body was incapable of doing what he was asking it
. Badly crocked for weeks after it. Being monitored closely
Are you visiting daily?
A friend of mine does triathlons was telling me his heart rate is near constantly in the 170-180 zone when he does them? Is that not dangerous? He had problems with the ticker in the past as well.
Heard of two people recently who ended up in Hospital on IV drips due to dehydration/exhaustion, one after a Hyrox and one after a half marathon.
Both trying to push way beyond their physical limits for a few likes on Social Media.
Is that not dangerous?
A heart rate of 170ā180 bpm during a triathlon isnāt necessarily dangerous ā it depends on your mateās age, fitness level, and health background.
Hereās a quick breakdown:
For fit athletes:
⢠A heart rate of 170ā180 bpm during intense endurance events like triathlons is common and generally safe, especially if theyāre in their 20s, 30s, or even 40s.
⢠Max heart rate is roughly 220 minus age, so:
⢠Age 30 ā ~190 max HR ā 170ā180 bpm = ~89ā95% of max HR (intense but expected).
⢠Athletes often train to operate in high heart rate zones safely, particularly in sprint or Olympic-distance triathlons.
When it might be risky:
⢠If your mate has underlying heart issues, feels dizzy, chest pain, or irregular heart rhythms during or after racing.
⢠If recovery heart rate (how quickly HR drops after exercise) is poor.
⢠If the high heart rate is sustained unusually long or spikes erratically.
To stay safe:
⢠Itās smart for regular endurance athletes to get a sports physical or cardiac screening, especially as they age.
⢠A wearable heart rate monitor (like a chest strap) gives more accurate data than a wristwatch.
If your mate feels fine during races and is well-trained, itās probably not dangerous. But if there are any symptoms, a check-up with a doctor (preferably a sports cardiologist) is worth it.
Let me know your mateās age and race type (sprint, Olympic, Ironman) if you want a more tailored view.
Still doesnāt feel right to me but youāve done your research
I was at my physio recently who loves Hyrox - doesnāt compete himself mind, just loves the extra patients it has provided
Savage. My mate is 47 and while usually trains a decent amount, he takes summers off and therefore has recently been caning it on holidays and has hit nearly every gig in malahide castle in the last two weeks and more besides. Heās put up a few kilos during this time. Hes also planning on playing padel tomorrow then going on going on the piss again with the brothers in law. Please advise.
Replace beers with truffles
Please advise.
Tell them them to find more sustainable hobbies
Iām two torn hamstrings into.a reignited athletics career with county and Leinster medals.
Iāve the nationals end of July which Iāll run against all logic.
Jesus can we not have lads copying and pasting straight out of ChatGPT?
Tell him ill meet him in Walshes, Chaplins and the Palace on Saturday, weāll start in the Hideout on Sunday
Savage. My mate is 47 and while usually trains a decent amount, he takes summers off and therefore has recently been caning it on holidays and has hit nearly every gig in malahide castle in the last two weeks and more besides. Heās put up a few kilos during this time. Hes also planning on playing padel tomorrow then going on going on the piss again with the brothers in law. Please advise
Your 47-year-old mate has been living largeāskipping training, hitting every gig and holiday pint session going, and now planning padel followed by another booze-up. Fair play, but his bodyās likely running low on recovery, hydration, and nutrients. To survive and not wreck himself, he should hydrate well before padel, eat light beforehand, play smart (not like heās in the Olympics), and pace himself on the pints. A proper meal mid-session and a decent recovery plan the next day will go a long way. Heās earned the funābut a bit of balance now will save him from a midweek collapse or a pulled hamstring.
. Heās earned the funābut a bit of balance now will save him from a midweek collapse or a pulled hamstring
And long term back pain from sleeping in teach an madra
Believe me, Teach an Madra is a grand spot in which to reflect and ponder your next (bad) move, once you get used to it. Itās all a game lads
No one wants a dog that doesnāt bark