Kevin Kilbane

Fair fucks to the man if he wins his 100th cap tomorrow, don’t think too many would have predicted it 10 years ago, he may well be limited but has never let the side down and has worked his arse off for the 26 counties…Seems like an alright sort too…

Shay Given will also win his 100th cap and will captain the side…fair play to the two lads:clap:

An alright sort but has been mostly shite in this campaign.

Rowlands and Miller will start tomorrow too.

How many consecutive competitive games has he played now?

Or is that record gone?

Trappatoni won’t drop Kilbane for the play-off but he is obviously finished at this level now.

Humphries did a good article about him on Saturday

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2009/1010/1224256343620.html

Limited of course, but you can’t fault his commitment. There seems to be a general feeling of aggressive antipathy towards Stephen Ireland hereabouts (OK,. most people think he’s a cunt), Kilbane surely would be the diametric opposite.

Fair play to him and Given, the second best goalkeeper in the world, according to Tardelli.

Kilbane comes across as a completely alright sort. Its just a shame he’s so fucking limited, but credit where its due, he’s honest as the day is long. Felt fierce sorry for him when I saw him sink to his knees, Platoon style on Sat evening.

Why is it that the truly gifted can never have the application a donkey like killer can have? Imagine a cunt like fatboy Reid having Killers application? Ireland too. Sickening.

[quote=“farmerinthecity”]How many consecutive competitive games has he played now?

Or is that record gone?[/quote]

according to his wiki

“As of 09 September 2009 he is joint second with Shay Given on the list of all-time appearances for Ireland, having won 99 caps. His appearance against Montenegro was his 50th consecutive competitive game for his country; only England’s Billy Wright and Theo Zagorakis of Greece have achieved longer unbroken runs in competitive international football.[9]”

He has made the most of his abilities, and that has to be applauded. As indicated above, he’s more patriotic than many people born here. Definitely an alright sort and deserves his time in the sun next year, but i would be hoping he’s only a squad member from a playing point of view.

Given is class, but thought he was very poor the other night, the occassion surprisingly seemed to affect him.

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]He has made the most of his abilities, and that has to be applauded. As indicated above, he’s more patriotic than many people born here. Definitely an alright sort and deserves his time in the sun next year, but i would be hoping he’s only a squad member from a playing point of view.

Given is class, but thought he was very poor the other night, the occassion surprisingly seemed to affect him.[/quote]

I agree, I thought he was very poor for the 1st goal and that he let himself down badly for the 2nd goal.

Top lad is Kilbane:thumbsup:

Cost us four pts against the Bulgaians when they targeted him as A clear weakness,has his moments and A great soldier for the cause!

It`ll be fun to see kilbane against Ronaldo or Ribery.

Or against some shite Greeks or Swiss more hopefully.

We can only hope Sledge, knowing our luck though well get the Ruskis

True. The Russians are my least favourite draw, followed by the Portuguese. Greece (or Switzerland, should Israel win in Basel) or France would be the best draws. Paris or Athens on Saturday 14th November, I am all over it. :clap:

Athens would be my favourite destination. I`m looking forward to this play-off already.

Suisse beat the Greeks home and away so obviously Greece is the ideal draw. The Swiss were poor enough last summer too. I still have nightmares about them though. Ever since Neuchatel Xamax.

Kevin Kilbane comes across as an awfully likeable character and a credit to the Irish diaspora. Well done on your achievement, Kevin. :clap: :thumbsup:

Indeed…A bluffer for most of his career but in fairness his work rate and desire have made a him likeable…That fact that we have a less than average squad, as compared to the earlier part of his international career, works in his favour also.

[quote=“farmerinthecity”]How many consecutive competitive games has he played now?

Or is that record gone?[/quote]

Think its about 57-58 now, some achievement alright. Think it spans 4 managers aswell.