Kilkenny GAA thread

True. And I would also say that soloing with the ball kept still, from my own experience of hurling as a young fella, is easier on concentration and therefore easier full stop.

You have more control for sure.

It could be just one of those things like passing a puck out/kick out to one of your team mates rather than driving it 50 50 every time. Just took a long time for fellas to learn.

I remember hearing about one of the greats ring or Mackey maybe who used trick refs by holding the ball close to their stomach with one hand while making the hopping motion with their hurl in the other as they ran away from the ref in club games. Probably apocryphal.

Mackey.

Good, sensible point.

Apparently Mackey used get up to all sorts…

My grandfather used to tell me Mackey would tuck the sliotar under his armpit and take off “soloing”, driving the opposition mad, he’d bury a goal and flatten the keeper. Hop off a few defenders on the way out before telling the ref not to mind that crowd they’d try anything to cod you, you’re doing a great job

An inter county hurler that I hurled with would only ever solo while hopping the ball, the sight of lads bouncing off him as he did it without missing a beat was one of the finest in hurling, he didn’t do much soloing for the Cork seniors

Ben O’ Connor used to have a great trick of flicking it off the ground and back up into his hand if he was in danger of 3 catches. A very skilful player.

The hurling version of what’s known as “the Gerry Flanagan solo”.
The Leitrim lads will be familiar with this one. It involves solo-like running and hand and arm gestures, the occasional swipe with the left arm at imaginary tackles before the final release 40yds on but no actual solo. Gerry’s a legend, the box that flattened Maughan was his greatest day.

You wouldn’t catch any of the limerick robots doing that. Too formulaic.

Fixed that there for you

Cian Lynch would do it.

Kyle Hayes says hello. Twice

Richie Power is some man for a moan on Twitter. You’d imagine whatever happens at an u13 game should stay there.

Sounds like endakenny roughed up a young fella

Someone from the opposition always comes into the comments on those tweets

Some of our lads at u14 were going down with cramp the other night. I was the closest mentor and went on to help. I actually wondered if it was okay to do :man_shrugging:t3:

@Turenne we beat Blarney 3-14 to 3-10. We were 2-12 to 0-04 up at halftime :grimacing:. Great bunch of players, we just need a goalie.

I played a match once, not Hurling, up in a well known west coast town. Under 16. A father of one of the opposition ran on and put a knife to the throat of one of our lads. He was dragged off by other spectators, and the match simply resumed.

Loughlins beat Ballycallan by a goal earlier today but Graigue drove a shocking amount of wides.

Currently in the Villages new gaff (grand set up) to witness Danesfort slaughter the Lockes starting in 15 minutes.