Getting extremely serious from what i just saw on the news.
Is he gone for the summer or for good
Doubt he knows HIMself Joe. The bird will probably have a big say sure
They have over forty fires raging wild, just happens its mostly wilderness, fort macmurray was just chronic unlucky. The videos are insane. Global warming is here quicker than we think. Been july weather here the last few weeks. Water restrictions starting next week. The world is fucked.
Gambling is an issue in this country and there’s no point in saying otherwise. I feel bad after fucking a hundred quid away on a horse, wouldn’t be able to live with myself if I got in that deep and lost thousands.
Have to feel sorry for Glennon, hope he sorts himself out. Must be horrendous to go through something like that.
I think the point here is that the GPA are using sad cases like this cynically as an excuse to get improved grants from the tax payer. Addiction services for alcoholism and gambling addiction are widely available in society - why should the GPA get tax payer funded handouts when the very small minority of intercounty GAA players in need of help can use those readily available (and vital) services that are available for non intercounty GAA players? Colm O’Rourke wrote a tremendous piece on this very topic a few months back.
It suits the GPA agenda to have stories like this out there. Dessie and the boys can keep the dough rolling in and continue to feed from the trough. Are they going to help out the overweight junior b corner back who is a gambling addict? Of course not. They can fuck off and not ring the elitist helpline which only helps those who are of county standard.
Mental health budget cut by millions and the GPA have the gall to demand a massive rise in their funding to cater for a tiny subset of the GAA membership. The whole thing stinks. Nobody knows where the money the GPA receives goes. It’s just one big slush fund.
Cuan Mhuire and places like that do absolutely brilliant work - I know someone whose life they basically saved after helping him out of a terrible situation- and I’ve no issue with places like that getting increased (and deserved) government funding. Cunts like Dessie can fuck off though.
Hope Glennon has a great summer with Galway and keeps himself on the straight and narrow.
Great post
What would you think of Co Boards setting up some Helplines? Get in a few TY students to man them for example?
I hear Glennon has very selective about the bits of the story he told…
To say the least
Selective in what regard?
Safe to say he mugged John Fogarty off?
Plenty to tell alright.
Or just get them to PM in here.
Pm please
Thanks for the PM, pal.
@maroonandwhite mugged off good & proper here. Bet the Galway Co Board are happy they held back on the 24hr helpline.
I’ll take a PM please, chaps.
Was well documented in the media that he was charged with assault a few years ago.
In fairness to the tipp lad he took it on the chin and hasn’t came out in the media pretending he was going to top himself to get some sympathy
Too busy avoiding shotguns i reckon.
Jaysus lads I don’t know why you are so cynical. If one chap reading that and it made him realise that he had a problem and he could get treatment for it wouldn’t it have been worthwhile.