King Henry of Galway (Part 1) 👑

I have to agree, I have reviewed my opinion of Mulholland on a number of occasions and I have finally come to the conclusion that I was right the first time
He hasn’t a clue.

The performance against Mayo was a bit on the shambolic side to be honest. Galway started the game with an effort at the blanket defence, something that they have never really attempted to play before, but having seen the way Roscommon managed to limit Mayo in the semi-final, it appears that Mulholland just decided to copy it. The blanket defence is not just something that you learn to play overnight, the likes of Donegal, Tyrone, Mayo and to a lesser extent, Dublin, spent years fine-tuning their systems. It was clear after a few minutes that the Galway lads just weren’t comfortable with it and it played right in to Mayos hands.

To have any hope of winning the game Galway needed to put Mayo on the backfoot early on, but instead the initiative was handed to Mayo and it took our manager over 25 minutes to sort things out, with Galway reverting to a more orthodox formation from which they almost immediately began to enjoy a bit more success.

He still failed to notice that Andy Moran was taking Finian Hanley on a wild goose chase around Castlebar, leaving huge gaps in front of the Galway goal. Hanley himself needs to cop the fuck on too
If you’re going to follow Andy Moran all over the place for most of the game at least get an odd tackle in, or get out to the ball ahead of him now and again, I can’t think of one successful intervention he made all game. While all this was going on, Dónal O’Neill was being rotovated inside by Cillian O’Connor. He just couldn’t compete with the physical power of the Mayo man. It was quite obvious that Hanley would have been far better match for O’Connor physically, while O’Neill would have proved a much stickier opponent for Moran
That Mulholland failed to notice this, or was just too stubborn to change it, is a damning indictment of his tactical nous. Doesn’t say much either for his selectors, Paul Clancy and Declan Meehan.

I’m well aware that even if Mulholland had got his tactics spot on, it was still going to be a hugely difficult task to go to Castlebar and win. This Mayo team is a project that has been several years in the making and it’s pretty much fully mature at this stage. At times, it was like boys against men, Colm Boyles bone-crushing, but fair shoulder on Damo Comer let the Galway boys know early on that Mayo were in absolutely no mood to give up their Connacht Crown. Galway contributed handsomely to their own downfall however, the defending for Lee Keegans goal was absolutely deplorable, the Mayo man sprinted past 3 or 4 Galway men strolling back in the general direction of their own goal before he finished Cillian O’Connors pass to the net. With Hanley gone AWOLfrom the full back position, and O’Neill having a torrid time of it, Mayo really should have scored another goal or two. O’Curraoin and Flynn battled bravely but they have had better days together at midfield.

At the other end, Galway were kicking the ball in high to Danny Cummins, much to the delight of Ger Cafferkey and Co. In fairness to Cummins, he did manage to win a decent amount of possession, but unfortunately he left his shooting boots at home and shot some dreadful and demoralising wides throughout the course of the game. Galway also had goal chances, with Gareth Bradshaw and Shane Walsh rattling the woodwork either side of half-time, and of course Walsh also missed a penalty that would have reduced the gap to 5 with over ten minutes to go. Walsh wasn’t really in the game at all until the second half, but did well after the break
His free-taking, in particular, was quite impeccable up until he missed the penalty. Conroy only really started to enjoy some success when he was moved back in to the full forward line, while James Kavanagh and Sean Armstrong played well after they were introduced.

Strangely, there was no sign of Michael Martin
who had played quite well throughout the league and in the London & Sligo games. Michael Lundy had a decent game, he carried a lot of ball and scored a good point in the first half
I’m not convinced by him however, Mayo didn’t seem to pay him any attention him at all and were quite happy to let him have possession, seemingly satisfied he wasn’t going to cause them too much trouble. Mulholland seems to have a habit of picking rather limited players out of no-where, that he shows huge loyalty to, and Lundy seems to be the 2014 version of John O’Brien, or Michael Farragher.

To be fair to the players, they didn’t drop the heads and kept battling right to the finish
At one stage it looked like they might ship a hiding similar to last years. They face a real test in this weekends game against Tipp. If they don’t approach it in the proper frame of mind, and if they fail to give Tipp the respect they deserve it will be a long afternoon for Galway fans. There can be no excuses for Galway if they are beaten, they only narrowly beat Tipp in last years qualifiers, while the Laois team that they beat have given Galway two unmerciful hidings in the last two league campaigns. If Galway pick their strongest team, and if they are deployed properly, I’m confident they will win, but that’s a big if when it’s Mulholland picking the team.

Breathnach dropped along with 3 others. Healy starts between the posts instead, redemption opportunity after costing us the win against Monaghan in the league. Good to see Moore back.

[SIZE=5]Team news: Galway make changes[/SIZE]
24 July 2014
http://www.hoganstand.com/Common/NewGallery/connacht-fbd-galway-sligo1.jpg
James Kavanagh in possession for Galway.
©INPHO/James Crombie.
Galway football selectors make a number of changes to the team beaten by Mayo in the Connacht final.

Former Kildare star James Kavanagh lines out at left half forward. Michael Martin also comes into the Maroon attack at right full forward. Losing out are Damien Comer and Eddie Hoare.

Meanwhile TomĂĄs Healy makes his championship debut, replacing Manus Breathnach in goals. Joss Moore who was injured for the Connacht final takes over from Aonghus Murphy in the number four jersey.

Galway (SFC v Tipperary): Tomás Healy; Donal O’Neill, Finian Hanley, Joss Moore; Gareth Bradshaw, Gary O’Donnell, Paul Varley; Fiontán O’Curraoin, Thomas Flynn; Michael Lundy, Shane Walsh, James Kavanagh; Michael Martin, Paul Conroy, Danny Cummins.

Throw in at O’Connor Park on Saturday is 7pm.

where is oconnor park?

Tullamore

It’s a poor man’s O’Moores park

I’m having some difficulty deciding angle to take on the Quarter Final. Should I just declare we have no chance, that the Kerry forwards will destroy us which is a thoroughly reasonable assumption to make and probably the one most people will make or should I be coy about it and suggest Kerry are no world beaters and Galway will click on the day in the open spaces of Croke Park, thus reserving my right to use the beloved ‘I told you so’ line if we somehow did manage to do it.

Powers go Kerry 2/7, Galway 3/1. Looks about right to me
unless, Kerry are being hyped up excessively based on their Munster Final victory over a bad Cork team who probably didn’t really show up on the day(didn’t see this match so I don’t really know but I suspect the scoreline reflects more about Cork being poor than Kerry being anything great) 
and, Galway’s defence isn’t perhaps as bad as conceding 4 goals to Tippereary suggests. Gary O Donnell wouldn’t be my favourite player but he was having a solid game at Centre back before going off injured and his absence was clearly keenly felt as Tipp went on to fire home 4 consolation goals. And yes I do mean 4 consolation goals, the game was well and truly over as a contest and the result never in doubt by the time Tipp started hitting the net plus the several changes made by the line would have had a disruptive impact on things as well. The vast majority of the 2nd half was in effect just garbage time so there was a strange atmosphere to proceedings and maybe Tipp did us a favour scoring 4 as at least now we know what needs to be fixed.

It should be a fine spectacle whatever else with James O Donoghue and Shane Walsh being the 2 most exciting footballers in the country. We will probably take Kerry on man for man to a large degree as opposed to opting more for a systematic approach so they are liable to destroy us. If we do click however we are well capable of giving them a right good rattle and who knows what might happen. These lads thrived when they hit Croke Park last year before just running out of steam, the place suits them I think. As it stands I am bordering more on the side of optimism than pessimism as regards our chances, I think I might need someone to talk some sense into me!

I’m seeing a great clash between two of the last few bastions of the true game, who cling to the true philosopy of the founding fathers. Shoot-out football to be the order of the day, between two teams committed to the spirit of the game. Free-flowing football, being dictated by the old maestro Declan O’Sullivan and the young pretender Shane Walsh.
A big ask for Galway but they will come in un-inhibited, un-burdened and prepared to play football.
Mulholland hasn’t a bulls notion about tactical football and that’s his trump card. Harte, McGeeney, McGuinness and them other cunts have football bred out of young lads in favour of being “committed to funnelling back”
No freedom of thought/expression/individuality/skills

Funnelling back my hole. Did Purcell/Jacko/Matt Connor/McGarty, bother their holes “funnelling back” That’s @caoimhaoin type shit.

Prediction: Galway 4-17 Kerry 3-19. *

• Fuck-off ye Northern followers.

[QUOTE=“Boxtyeater, post: 990605, member: 246”]I’m seeing a great clash between two of the last few bastions of the true game, who cling to the true philosopy of the founding fathers. Shoot-out football to be the order of the day, between two teams committed to the spirit of the game. Free-flowing football, being dictated by the old maestro Declan O’Sullivan and the young pretender Shane Walsh.
A big ask for Galway but they will come in un-inhibited, un-burdened and prepared to play football.
Mulholland hasn’t a bulls notion about tactical football and that’s his trump card. Harte, McGeeney, McGuinness and them other cunts have football bred out of young lads in favour of being “committed to funnelling back”

Funnelling back my hole. Did Purcell/Jacko/Matt Connor/McGarty, bother their holes “funnelling back” That’s @caoimhaoin type shit.

• Fuck-off ye Northern followers.[/QUOTE]
    Smashing stuff from the wisest poster on the board:clap::clap:

Mullholland mugged off a few lads here.

[QUOTE=“Boxtyeater, post: 990605, member: 246”]I’m seeing a great clash between two of the last few bastions of the true game, who cling to the true philosopy of the founding fathers. Shoot-out football to be the order of the day, between two teams committed to the spirit of the game. Free-flowing football, being dictated by the old maestro Declan O’Sullivan and the young pretender Shane Walsh.

The majority of teams I have coached are very attacked minded boxty. Unless they are shit, that’s the only time you have to come up with a “system”.
    I played 5 backs and 7 forwards yesterday to counter act a team playing a permanent extra no. 6.
    Didn’t work out that well as that extra man beat the 2 lads we used in the role up a stick. However it confused them for a while.

Jimmy is seething.

[QUOTE=“Lazarus, post: 990571, member: 286”]I’m having some difficulty deciding angle to take on the Quarter Final. Should I just declare we have no chance, that the Kerry forwards will destroy us which is a thoroughly reasonable assumption to make and probably the one most people will make or should I be coy about it and suggest Kerry are no world beaters and Galway will click on the day in the open spaces of Croke Park, thus reserving my right to use the beloved ‘I told you so’ line if we somehow did manage to do it.

Powers go Kerry 2/7, Galway 3/1. Looks about right to me
unless, Kerry are being hyped up excessively based on their Munster Final victory over a bad Cork team who probably didn’t really show up on the day(didn’t see this match so I don’t really know but I suspect the scoreline reflects more about Cork being poor than Kerry being anything great) 
and, Galway’s defence isn’t perhaps as bad as conceding 4 goals to Tippereary suggests. Gary O Donnell wouldn’t be my favourite player but he was having a solid game at Centre back before going off injured and his absence was clearly keenly felt as Tipp went on to fire home 4 consolation goals. And yes I do mean 4 consolation goals, the game was well and truly over as a contest and the result never in doubt by the time Tipp started hitting the net plus the several changes made by the line would have had a disruptive impact on things as well. The vast majority of the 2nd half was in effect just garbage time so there was a strange atmosphere to proceedings and maybe Tipp did us a favour scoring 4 as at least now we know what needs to be fixed.

It should be a fine spectacle whatever else with James O Donoghue and Shane Walsh being the 2 most exciting footballers in the country. We will probably take Kerry on man for man to a large degree as opposed to opting more for a systematic approach so they are liable to destroy us. If we do click however we are well capable of giving them a right good rattle and who knows what might happen. These lads thrived when they hit Croke Park last year before just running out of steam, the place suits them I think. As it stands I am bordering more on the side of optimism than pessimism as regards our chances, I think I might need someone to talk some sense into me![/QUOTE]

Galway are on the way back but it’s too soon. Don’t let patriotism influence you, Kerry will definitely beat them.

Kerry funnelled like fuck against cork and Pat Spillane was a ferocious man to funnel himself.

Why?

Mullholland mugged him off.

Nonsense, if Mullhalland manages a win over Kerry it will be a right mugging off and quite a happy one. But one qualifier victory over Tipp does not a mugging off make my learned Queens-county friend.

I think you are probably right but it’s a lot more fun letting patriotism influence you especially when every other cunt up for raceweek will be telling us we’ll get stuffed. Fuck ye all, Gaillimh abĂș!

[QUOTE=“Lazarus, post: 990988, member: 286”]Nonsense, if Mullhalland manages a win over Kerry it will be a right mugging off and quite a happy one. But one qualifier victory over Tipp does not a mugging off make my learned Queens-county friend.

I think you are probably right but it’s a lot more fun letting patriotism influence you especially when every other cunt up for raceweek will be telling us we’ll get stuffed. Fuck ye all, Gaillimh abĂș![/QUOTE]
Jimmy has been hugely mugged off here, you not so much. Mullholland must stay on.

[QUOTE=“caoimhaoin, post: 990767, member: 273”]The majority of teams I have coached are very attacked minded boxty. Unless they are shit, that’s the only time you have to come up with a “system”.
I played 5 backs and 7 forwards yesterday to counter act a team playing a permanent extra no. 6.
Didn’t work out that well as that extra man beat the 2 lads we used in the role up a stick. However it confused them for a while.[/QUOTE]

isnt coaching a gga team in Australia the equivalent of coaching an under 7’s team in Ireland?

Conceding 4 goals in a row to a tipp team out on their feet ain’t pleasant. Either way, all aboard the band wagon, seeing your county in croker in august is the real business end of the championship.

We play the purest football in ireland, if every team played like us itd be a joy of a game to watch, but the gaa bottled cleaning it up with this black card shite. A sin bin would do the job perfectly.

[QUOTE=“maroonandwhite, post: 990992, member: 1406”]Conceding 4 goals in a row to a tipp team out on their feet ain’t pleasant. Either way, all aboard the band wagon, seeing your county in croker in august is the real business end of the championship.

We play the purest football in ireland, if every team played like us itd be a joy of a game to watch, but the gaa bottled cleaning it up with this black card shite. A sin bin would do the job perfectly.[/QUOTE]
There is no black card man. They have clearly disregarded it.
You are right, it could be an amazing game if they stopped bottling it.