Even as a Galwayman I have to admit we got a small rub of the green that day. Conneely was unreal between the sticks, Bernie Forde kicked a goal when most south Galway lads would struggle to kick a football, and the entire Limerick defense stood still waiting for a whistle allowing PJ Molloy an eternity to lift and strike the second goal. I would never begrudge Limerick an AI win after it, they fought to the last whistle that day and Cregan was a joy to watch.
Ah look ye deserved it that day. We really left it after us the following year when Sean Foley decided to use his hurley as a machette
Cregan damn near beat us on his own. One of the great all Ireland displays. It never seems to get mentioned but he was absolutely brilliant, and a joy to watch.
Even though he was one tough nut, I think PJ himself would agree Foley was attempting to slap down on his hurl. PJ ran with a forward tilt with the head down and got caught in the face. Don’t think it was a malicious stroke, although reckless. It was the turning point though.
It was still a sending off though and as you say a turning point. We still managed a draw that day which really makes me feel like we left it behind us. Replay was a cracker with Cregan dragging us into it again only for John Connoly to break our hearts
How ye lost Offaly that year, I ll never know
We tired badly in the second half, probably a result of the two tough SF games. Leaving Forde on with his head in tatters didn’t help. Fair play to Offaly though for fighting back, although I still get annoyed thinking about the little bollix throwing the ball into the net.
I wouldnt worry about that one
Ye were totally robbed in 85 with that goal
Jesus a blind man could see it was over line
Christ when I think about it that was some Galway team between 80 and 90
Ye won two and should have had another 3 (probably 4 if you include 89)
My father often says he was the best player he’d ever seen and if he played for Cork, Kk or Tipp at the time instead of limerick he’d be mentioned in the same breath as Ring and Mackey.
My auld lad just said there that’s utter nonsense. A brilliant player, but can’t be compared to those 2.
Mackey was from Limerick you dipshit, so your reasoning on Creagan being more feted if he was from somewhere else is bizarre.
That’s a clamping.
Mackey, I presume you mean, was from a different era. If you could read properly you’d see there was a reference to the time they played. Limerick played one game a season more often than not in Cregan’s era.
Utter nonsense? Dipshit? What has you so worked up? Who should give a fuck what you think of the comparative merits of players from 40 to 70 years ago? Are you for real???
“My dad said what your dad said is wrong” -who the fuck cares, what is this play school? It’s an opinion and since neither of us saw any of the above for real we’re not best placed to comment are we? You thick fucker.
It’s beyond stupid you even bothered to reply to try to contradict my report of a second hand opinion.
Anything else you want to say can be answered with Ra ra ra ra ra ra ra fuck off.
Yeah, his auld lad said. That’s incontrovertible alright. You a lawyer?
Do you even realise the irony of this post?
I posted a second hand opinion that was presented as nothing more than that. Kev took major exception to this and tried to disprove it as a fact on the basis of his daddy said.
Do you understand what irony is? Did you read the posts? You thick fuck.
He’d have to be up there. He was by far the best player on the 73 team. How many different positions did he play for limerick? nearly all bar in goals I think.
Why post it in the first place chap?
What were your expectations?
Enjoy the photocopying tomorrow skin.