Kurt Cobain - The Voice of a Generation

Were ye all 15 when he passed away?

Kurt is forever young and all these fuckers today contemplating their navels and the rushing onset of middle age and decline.

Cant wait to see the Foos this summer. Should be off the chain.

Incesticide :metal::clap:

I was 16. There was a mass put on for us in the cbs and the girls in the convent for coping purposes. We were sad but jaysus the girls were inconsolable. Priest tread very carefully with his words that day especially as it was a suicide, only error he made was calling it ā€˜gunge musicā€™.

A girl in my brotherā€™s class in school committed suicide shortly afterwards. She was a massive Nirvana fan.

As a result Smells Like Teen Spirit was banned from the Power House nightclub in Mohill.

yes

I was older and his passing didnā€™t affect me much. I still give the Unplugged record an oul spin from time to time though, that was my favorite Nirvana record.

Any of the old lads see them that time in Cork? @caoimhaoin was surely there, actually id be fairly sure he knew Kurt personally.

Delete that ffs.

there was fuckall at it, about 28 people, but the whole of Cork will tell you they were there

Were you there yourself mate?

I was. It was unlike anything I ever saw before or after. People likened it to being there when the statues moved. Kurt was a god and we worshipped at his feet.

Iā€™m glad he killed himself.

of course he was there!

He was about 13 at the time :joy:

He was some man getting into henries when he was 14

Kev was there. We had a set to. Went toe to toe out the back for about 15 minutes. I grabbed his girl that he was with, Gemma something or other, he lost it. I gave as good as I got but he nearly killed me if Iā€™m honest, he was a hardy fucker for a 14 year old. I pulled a knife but he got me in a headlock and I blacked out. He was gone when I came to, and all that was left was a crude flyer with his bebo page scrawled on the back. Weā€™ve been close friends ever since. Iā€™d kill for him now.

I regret not going to see them in the Top Hat in Kingstown. Pal of mine was a Sonic Youth fan and asked me to go along but I had another engagement and declined.

Iā€™ve had Nevermind blaring in the car all morning. The strange thing is that I hadnā€™t realised it was Kurtā€™s anniversary until about 10 mins ago when I had my first look on here today.