Lance Armstrong

He says he is giving up fighting but…,
He never doped (untrue)
He never tested positive (untrue)
He is going to continue to fight cancer (nice erroneous point)

Typical response from him. Change the subject back to cancer survival at all costs.

This should go some way to cleaning out the small minority of offenders left in the peloton.

Do you have a link to his statement? I amazed for such a “fighter” that he is “giving up”.

There are lots of questions though:

Who wins these tours now or are they forever scratched off?

Is there any criminal charges for anyone?

What now of the position of Pat McQuaid who positioned himself in the Lance camp?

What do the people with the Livestrong yellow bracelets do now?

Excellent news. Desperate attempt to keep some semblance of a reputation by keeping evidence out of public domain but only certified weirdos will argue his case now.

Des Cahill said this morning is like Christmas morning for some people when you wake up and aren’t sure if it’s true and wish it wasn’t. He must have had very disappointing Christmases.

They should put an asterix next to his tour wins. No point giving them to another doper.

The people with yellow bracelets should shove them up their arses. Well at least his apologists anyway.

@lancearmstrong: My official statement re: @usantidoping’s pitiful charade http://t.co/sSRadWD0

This is surely the end for the sport of cycling, it is all built on a lie and can’t be trusted. Much like snooker.

Interesting list here of the testing record of the runners up to Armstrong.

I think for the sake of the sport they should declare the podium results from these years void.

1. Lance Armstrong
  2. Alex Zülle (‘98 busted for EPO)
  3. Fernando Escartín (Systematic team doping exposed in ‘04)
  4. Laurent Dufaux (‘98 busted for EPO)
  5. Ángel Casero (‘06 implicated in Operacion Puerto)

1. Lance Armstrong
  2. Jan Ullrich (‘06 implicated in Operacion Puerto)
  3. Joseba Beloki (‘06 implicated in Operacion Puerto)
  4. Christophe Moraue (‘98 busted for EPO)
  5. Roberto Heras (‘05 busted for EPO)

1. Lance Armstrong
  3. Joseba Beloki (‘06 implicated in Operacion Puerto)
  4. Andrei Kivilev
  5. Igor González de Galdeano (‘06 implicated in Operacion Puerto)

1. Lance Armstrong
  2. Joseba Beloki (‘06 implicated in Operacion Puerto)
  3. Raimondas Rumšas (Suspended in ‘03 for doping)
  4. Santiago Botero (‘06 implicated in Operacion Puerto)
  5. Igor González de Galdeano (‘06 implicated in Operacion Puerto)

1. Lance Armstrong
  3. Alexander Vinokourov (Suspended in ‘07 for CERA)
  4. Tyler Hamilton (Suspended ‘04 for blood doping)
  5. Haimar Zubeldia

1. Lance Armstrong
  2. Andreas Kloden (Named in doping case in ‘08)
  3. Ivan Basso (Suspended in ‘07 for Operacion Puerto ties)
  4. Jan Ullrich (‘06 implicated in Operacion Puerto)
  5. Jose Azevedo (‘06 implicated in Operacion Puerto)

1. Lance Armstrong
  2. Ivan Basso (Suspended in ‘07 for Operacion Puerto ties)
  3. Jan Ullrich (‘06 implicated in Operacion Puerto)
  4. Fransico Mancebo (‘06 implicated in Operacion Puerto)
  5. Alexander Vinokourov (Suspended in ‘07 for CERA)

The whole things looks as though it is a set up by the pinko liberal media.

Yeah David Walsh is the Sports Editor for The Sunday Time, a complete pinko liberal agenda driven title.

Agreed. I firmly believe that Ullrich was a better cyclist than Armstrong and there are strong indications that he wasn’t at it to same level as Armstrong (hematocrit levels much lower etc)but he wasn’t clean either so you can’t award them to him.

A few other personal thoughts that bug me…

• He came back in 09 and was juiced up. He was coming back to a much cleaner peloton and the justification for doping that he had earlier in his career (they are all at it) was no longer there yet he chose to dope anyway and gain an enough advantage over clean GC guys like Evans, Wiggins
  • The bullying and intimidation of those that fought for a clean tour during 99-05. His treatment of Bassons was cowardly.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7q8Y0uL-4oA
    eature=player_embedded

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MIl5RxhLZ5U
eature=player_embedded

• His questionable use of charity for financial gain. Livestrong.org does some great work and is non for profit. Livestrong.com though is giving Lance a big earner

Anyway this is a good day for the sport. Again it will be argued that it is terrible news but cycling now is incomparable to how it was back even four years ago. There are for sure some dopers left in cycling but they are easier to pinpoint and are the exception not the norm. There are some massive elephants in other sports imo.

They should just legalise some drug that everyone can take and let them at it.

This should be in the things that are right. I noticed that armstrong totally misrepresented the judges comments in his statement

I’d bet my house winners of two grand tours this year are clean Julio. Cycling is different sport now. “All at it” argument simply isn’t true anymore.

[quote=“larryduff, post: 151729”]
I’d bet my house winners of two grand tours this year are clean Julio. Cycling is different sport now. “All at it” argument simply isn’t true anymore.[/quote]
We might hang onto this post, for posterity ‘n’ shit.

Armstrong will likely be sued by SCA insurance company now. They lost a case against him in 06 when they refused to pay out bonus on his 7 tour wins claiming he had doped. Incidentally Armstrong lied under oath then.
http://www.velonation.com/News/ID/12122/SCA-Promotions-will-monitor-USADA-case-against-ArmstrongUS-Postal-Service.aspx

have to go as far as 8th place in some tours to find a ‘clean’ rider

Christ, some of the replies on here would make you cry:

http://www.anfearrua.ie/topic.aspx?id=1250983

Deary me. Armstrong sure knows how to spin a story. Fact that people are still questioning whether or not he cheated is some achievement from his team.

Larrybluff is trying to spin what is a very bad day for cyclying into some kind of victory - you couldn’t make it up :lol: