Lance Armstrong

thats crazy stuff, dopers are dopers you cant distinguish between those who cheated a lot and those who cheated just a little bit.

also doesnt matter whether he could have achieved without doping. if roche took anything, for any reason whatsoever, he is a cheating cunt and should be treated as one

its cunts like him and all the others down through the years that led to armstrong and others blowing the roof off it

Heā€™ll be taking it off your wan with the strap on as well.

Dr Bill Tormey ran for the Dail last year. You may remember him for his cringe worthy appearance on Vicent browne in the lead up to it, he was alongside Lucinda creighton the same night.
he made and utter cunt of himself, he appeared half pissed.
he is without doubt one of the smarmiest smugest pricks i have seen on tv

I just showed him whoā€™s boss by text anyway.

lets move to smashing tunes gentlemen.

Thatā€™s Dr. Bill ā€œGeebagā€ Tormey to you Thrawneen.

You shall know a person by his company. Tormey can be found with his good friend Marc ā€œNational Frontā€ Coleman most Tuesday and Wednesday nights on Newstalk. Itā€™s like an Irish Rush Limbaugh Show.

While for me thereā€™s little doubt that Roche was a doper his victories still mean something to me. Thatā€™s probably because Iā€™m old enough to remember watching the last week of the 1987 Tour live on RTE each afternoon and because I shouldnā€™t, but do kind of buy into the notion that doping wasnā€™t as bad or as systematic as it became once EPO came in, and because I do believe that himself and Kelly were pure class in any event. Although he wouldnā€™t have won the Tour in '87 had LeMond been fit. But itā€™s interesting how Rocheā€™s (or Rossi or Rocchi or whatever he was called in the Conconi files) form improved again and the injuries completely cleared up once he went back to Carrera for the 1992 season.

Iā€™d still love to know how much traditional blood doping as used by the likes of Lasse Viren and other Finnish distance runners in the 1970s went on in cycling in the 1970s/80s though. It must have been used although Iā€™ve never heard much about it.

Francesco Moser has already admitted to using it for when he beat the world hour record in 1984. I donā€™t know much about it being used from then on though.
Iā€™ve already said I donā€™t give a shit about Rocheā€™s doping. Itā€™s little league stuff (except the Conconi stuff, but that didnā€™t win him the triple crown).
My quarrel with Tormey and Pat Kenny is that clip is that they basically treat Walsh like Bassons. Thanks be to fuck Walsh had the courage to keep on going. 10 years later heā€™s got his reward. Heā€™s owed an apology.

Tormey sent me a couple of ridiculous texts. Head in the sand stuff.

Iā€™m pretty sure I read somewhere that heā€™d been a member of Fianna Fail, Fine Gael and Labour at various stages in his life. Certainly was a member of the latter two.

Just read the last 14 pages of this thread as Iā€™d neglected it for ages.

Thraw could you throw up the textual exchange between you and that spanner Tormey so we can adjudicate on who owned who in that contest.

[quote=ā€œSidney, post: 152163ā€]
Iā€™m pretty sure I read somewhere that heā€™d been a member of Fianna Fail, Fine Gael and Labour at various stages in his life. Certainly was a member of the latter two.[/quote]

I was sure Twormey was labour! Iā€™ve been gone too long.

Forgot that I was texting him off Webtext :shakefist: So youā€™ll have to contact him for my texts.
Iā€™ll lash up his responses at some stage.

Sean Yates and Stephen de Jong are gone from Sky now.

Balbec, Iā€™d kindly ask you to review your posts on the last couple of pages and reconsider your opinions.

Roche cheated. It wasnā€™t at the same scale or probably didnā€™t have the same effect as Lance, but he cheated and Walsh should be lauded for having pointed that out. Plus, heā€™s still choosing the wrong side of the debate, is a continued apologist for those who allowed the sport to be ruined, and is far too pro-establishment to take seriously anymore. If he doesnā€™t change his mind he should fuck off out of the sport forever.

I called myself a hypocrite on this already, Rocko. Should they all come clean? Of course they should. Should there be a clear out in the sport? Probably yes. Will that happen? I am not sure it will, if people are scared to lose their jobs now for telling about the past it may not happen. . Should Walsh get credit for chasing the Lance story? Yes, But I think that he was a bit OTT going for Roche over stuff he might have done at the end of his career. That is all.

+1.
Nicoā€™s comments about Walsh and Kimmage having an agenda against cycling were straight out of his dads handbook. Both have been hugely positive for the sport although I do think they could have gone after other sports (Kimmage had interviews with both Nadal and Warne and didnt question them on either occasion).

[quote=ā€œlarryduff, post: 152170ā€]
+1.
Nicoā€™s comments about Walsh and Kimmage having an agenda against cycling were straight out of his dads handbook. Both have been hugely positive for the sport although I do think they could have gone after other sports (Kimmage had interviews with both Nadal and Warne and didnt question them on either occasion).[/quote]

Did Kimmage not imply recently that he wrote about Nadal but it was axed by the lawyers?

The only pieces I heard of that were cut by the lawyers were two about Armstrong after his comeback. He is convinced it is one of the reasons why he was let go of the Sunday Times.

Tennis is rotten to the core, betting-wise anyway, I wouldnā€™t know about doping.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nFgoAAOxnfs
eature=watch-vrec

:clap: Lest we forgetā€¦

[quote=ā€œlarryduff, post: 152172ā€]
The only pieces I heard of that were cut by the lawyers were two about Armstrong after his comeback. He is convinced it is one of the reasons why he was let go of the Sunday Times.[/quote]

He said a number of his articles were pulled and then one of the reasons for letting him go was that he wasnā€™t in the paper enough.