Lance Armstrong

[quote=ā€œIl Bomber Destro, post: 152271ā€]

Guardiola tested positive for steroids and itā€™s a well known fact that Messi was pumped full of steroids as a kid. They did the same as Armstrong only one is being vilified in a sport where drug abuse is rife whereas the other two did it to take advantage of a relatively clean sport - you can argue that Messi was too young to be able to make a moral judgement but his lack of guilt about the fact that he owes everything he has to cheating and steroids is galling. If he had any sense of dignity he would hand back all his Ballon dā€™Ors.[/quote] He had a growth hormone deficiency you idiot

Sent from my GT-S7500 using TFK App

[size=4]Eamonn Sweeney: Two choices, one last chance[/size]

What Lance Armstrong[/url] should say on Oprah. "Iā€™m sorry for being one of the biggest cheats in the history of sport. Not just because I took drugs to help me win the [url=ā€œhttp://searchtopics.independent.ie/topic/Tour_de_Franceā€]Tour de France but because I then spent years insisting, in the face of evidence which became overwhelming, that I was actually the victim of some huge conspiracy.
Iā€™m sorry that I bullied the people who tried to reveal the truth about me. I slagged them off on Twitter, I had my lawyers pursue them through the courts, I attacked them at press conferences.
Iā€™m sorry that I didnā€™t just take drugs myself but was instrumental in organising the doping carried out by my subordinates on the US Postal Service team. Iā€™m sorry that I paid large sums of money to the UCI in circumstances where some people could later allege that this was akin to a bribe and that I offered a similar payment to the United States Anti-Doping Agency.
Iā€™m sorry that I compromised team employees by asking them to transport drugs and syringes. Iā€™m sorry that I let down the fans who maintained that I never doped, probably because they couldnā€™t believe a guilty man would so brazenly proclaim his innocence. Iā€™m sorry for threatening the livelihoods of more honest people than myself. Iā€™m sorry that my position as the worldā€™s most famous cyclist encouraged other cyclists to go the same route and made it impossible for cycling to tackle its drugs problem.
Iā€™m sorry that when my former masseuse Emma Oā€™Reilly told the truth about me I tried to bankrupt her and, in her words, ā€œdemonised her as a prostitute with a drinking problem.ā€ Iā€™m sorry that when Betsy Andreu[/url], wife of my former team-mate [url=ā€œhttp://searchtopics.independent.ie/topic/Frankie_Andreuā€]Frankie Andreu, told how Iā€™d admitted using drugs to her, I said, ā€œshe hates me,ā€ and portrayed her as being motivated by ā€œbitterness, jealousy and hatred,ā€ and accused Frankie of lying ā€œbecause heā€™s trying to back up his old lady.ā€ And Iā€™m sorry that UCI president Pat McQuaid described the cyclists who conclusively blew the whistle on me as ā€œscumbags.ā€
Iā€™m sorry that during the 1999 tour I told the young French cyclist Christophe Bassons, who was known for his anti-drug stance, that he ā€œshould get out of cycling.ā€ Iā€™m sorry that I told the Italian cyclist Filippo Simeoni, whoā€™d testified against Dr Michele Ferrari[/url], that Iā€™d ā€œdestroy,ā€ him. Iā€™m sorry that I paid [url=ā€œhttp://searchtopics.independent.ie/topic/Ferrariā€]Ferrari[/url], whoā€™s serving a lifetime ban for doping offences, $1m and lied by claiming I didnā€™t have a close relationship with him. Iā€™m sorry that when Greg [url=ā€œhttp://searchtopics.independent.ie/topic/Greg_LeMondā€]LeMond criticised Ferrari I offered one of LeMondā€™s former team-mates $300,000 to say heā€™d seen him take EPO. And Iā€™m sorry I chickened out and refused to co-operate when the USADA finally had enough evidence to damn me.
But I know itā€™s not enough for someone to say theyā€™re sorry, theyā€™ve got to prove their repentance in a concrete manner. Thatā€™s why Iā€™m going to do the following things.
Itā€™s pretty clear that I couldnā€™t have avoided a positive drugs test without assistance from people in the higher echelons of the sport. USADA said that the doping programme carried out by my team was the most sophisticated in sport. I will be meeting with them to detail exactly how the programme worked so that they can foil similar programmes in the future.
I will be returning the prize money I won during my career, the sponsorship money and the money I won in libel cases from newspapers who told the truth about me. This may put me in financial trouble but sometimes a man has to do the right thing. Iā€™m sorry that over the years Iā€™ve impugned the integrity and character of journalists David Walsh and Paul Kimmage and suggested they were pursuing some kind of vendetta against me. Now Iā€™d like to acknowledge that they acted honestly and I was the one who was in bad faith all along.
Iā€™m sorry. But Iā€™m not going to cry or make excuses for myself because it takes a real man to beat cancer and compete in the Tour de France[/url]. And only by making a complete, sincere and abject apology can I prove that Iā€™m still the same [url=ā€œhttp://searchtopics.independent.ie/topic/Lance_Armstrongā€]Lance Armstrong who did those things and not the shameless con artist I subsequently became.
Thank you Oprah for giving me this opportunity to come clean."
What Lance Armstrong will probably say on Oprah.
ā€œIā€™m sorry. But mainly for myself (sniffles). Iā€™m afraid that there have been times in my life when I didnā€™t make the best choices and, through no real fault of my own, things happened that maybe shouldnā€™t have happened.
But the important thing to remember is the hope that my victories gave to those suffering from cancer and those who were helped by the Lance Armstrong Foundation, now trading as Livestrong.
I know in my heart that people are alive today thanks to my foundation. If I did wrong in some way, okay. But to admit that would have damaged the cause to which I have dedicated my life away from cycling. And to do so would have damaged the community I really care about, the Cancer Community (Tears).
I want to ask those people who tried to tear me down: if people believed that I was a cheat, what would have happened to the Lance Armstrong Foundation? Would we have raised all those millions of dollars to help cancer patients? Would it have been worth destroying all that Iā€™d built? I hope theyā€™d have been able to live with themselves. Because people with cancer donā€™t care about a USADA report, they care about hope. And it wouldnā€™t have been fair for me to take that away from them. (Tears).
In cycling, Oprah, all the leading riders were taking drugs. Coming to Europe from America, I was amazed to discover this. And if someone did take drugs to help their performance, well all they were doing was levelling the playing field, right? I won those Tours de France fair and square. I had no advantage over anyone I was racing against. Youā€™re lucky, Oprah, because you can make your living here in the USA. But I had to compete in Europe. And the Europeans didnā€™t like to see an American winning a race theyā€™d always won. Above all, they hated to see a guy from Texas[/url] winning when my friend [url=ā€œhttp://searchtopics.independent.ie/topic/George_W._Bushā€]George Bush was making the world safe for democracy. They donā€™t like us over there so they hounded me.
I never made anyone take drugs. The thought that Iā€™d do that (voice wavers), God (fights back tears, carries on bravely). Floyd Landis[/url] and [url=ā€œhttp://searchtopics.independent.ie/topic/Tyler_Hamiltonā€]Tyler Hamilton[/url] canā€™t blame me for their poor choices in life. Theyā€™ve got to take responsibility for their actions just as Iā€™m doing now. Iā€™d say to them, guys donā€™t let your lives be destroyed by resentment and bitterness. Itā€™s not worth it. There are a lot of things I wish I could say but for legal reasons I canā€™t. And a lot of things I wonā€™t say because my mom raised me better than that. In the words of that great American President [url=ā€œhttp://searchtopics.independent.ie/topic/Richard_Nixonā€]Richard Nixon, ā€œOthers may hate you but those who hate you donā€™t win unless you hate them and then you destroy yourself.ā€
Listen, Lance Armstrong is going to bounce back from this. You know this is small stuff compared to being told that youā€™re probably going to die from cancer. But I beat cancer. Iā€™m a winner and winners donā€™t quit.
Those journalists and critics donā€™t matter to me. What matters to me is the Cancer Community, and my kids. And I want to be able to look them in the face and say straight out that if I did anything wrong, Iā€™m sorry. Really. (Tears).
Thanks for giving me the chance to get closure on this issue. Itā€™s time to move on and to learn to love sport and myself again. Everyone makes mistakes in their lives. Iā€™m sure your viewers have done things they wish they hadnā€™t done. But itā€™s how you come back from these mistakes which defines who you are. From now on, Iā€™m going to live stronger. (Big hug). Hereā€™s my momā€™s recipe for Texas Style Bar-B-Q Spare Ribs. God Bless America.ā€
backpage@independent.ie

• Eamonn Sweeney

They were the cards he was dealt, he decided to (or was decided for him) to juice up and make his glory that way. Iā€™ll give you a scenario, Faldo, the poster on this board, heā€™s a retard - now if modern science can come up with some form of super drug that will make his brain exceptionally strong and Faldo takes this super drug and becomes a genius and wins all sorts of accolades for his intelligence and becomes a member of Mensa etc. I will still call him a cheat - exactly like Messi is.

[font=Arial]
[b]Oprah Winfrey[/b] ā€[size=3][s]@[/s][b]Oprah[/b][/size][/font]
[font=Arial]
Just wrapped with [s]@[/s][b]lancearmstrong[/b] More than 2 1/2 hours . He came READY![/font]

Unsurprisingly, sounds like he has all angles covered.

Sounds like the cunt has admitted everything, but not clear who heā€™s blamed it on yet. Heard a couple of soundbites on radio this morning of a few idiots from Austin and theyā€™ve changed their opinion on him for letting their city down by cheating.

Tears et al. This could be Lanceā€™s greatest performance yet.

I donā€™t believe those tears were naturally produced.

There will be lads seething with Lance when he slips this noose.

Lance has already been hung. This interview is the last gamble of a man desperate to salvage something for his toxic brand.

The next big sports star to be embroiled in a doping row will be Rafa Nadal.

Is Lance Armstrong a bit like the Catholic church? Preys on vulnerable people, preaching utter shite, robbing money, covering up widespread abuse, megalomanic, vindicative etc

Interesting comparison. Lance certainly sees himself as some kind of Godhead for sure.

t sure if itā€™s been mentioned but Armstrong has said he is ready to testify against others :lol: cheeky fuck

I think it has leaked out that he will testify against others in positions of high authority but not against other riders. It will be interesting to see who the sneaky cunt burns in an effort to save himself. Verbruggen, McQuaid and possibly even all the way up to The Dunph might have a few sleepless nights this week.

This is only starting to kick off. This will go right to the very top.

Walsh says Lance has been reaching out to people you would not believe. Even Walsh is astonished.

Saw that tweet Fagan, what exactly did he meanā€¦? I am only half way through the book so I donā€™t have the full story.

[quote=ā€œKinvara, post: 152292ā€]

Iā€™d imagine he is talking to journos who would be happy to blow the whistle on those higher up the chain.

I suspect Lance is taking a scorched earth approach to this thing. Its going to tremendous viewing.

I agree. He will take everyone down with him. And why not?