those lads generally make better coaches/managers too.
I was cack-handed til I was 10/11. Left hand on top but naturally right handed and would strike from the right. Think we had a summer camp and someone came in (might have been George Frend) and I changed overnight . Was still shite though.
The old cack-handed is grand when you start to play a bit of golf though. My auld fella was a right handed hurler, and fairly decent, so when he took up golf in his late 50s, he was a left-handed golfer, and quite decent at that too
Its like with anything, you only get better from testing yourself at a higher level
Informative.
For what it’s worth chief, layoff on the name calling. If you have an issue with a poster, put them on ignore and move on.
John Conlon is notably onesided. Happens a lot when a lad was dominant underage.
All left side. Passing is always a last resort too.
Look, the other approach did not work. And I do not see much concern when I am on the end of the namecalling.
Yes, very much. That said, I admire JC as a hurler and as a person.
Use the ignore function, try it out for a while and see how it goes. I think it works anyway…
Spot on… As @Big_Dan_Campbell said the star was seen as a match winner to be left alone to do his thing instead of being coached for the day he reached the level he would meet his equal… Bad habits can only develop…
A gent, his family home is in the next field behind the old hurling pitch in Doonass, the Galvin’s grandfather’s home is the other house. John despite being big for his age put a lot of time into his hurling from a very young age. Was on the pitch morning noon and night. Boarding in Flannans helped as well.
A quiet, unassuming gent
I’ll deviate with a soccer story that is probably transferable to all sports.
I played an u15 game one saturday down in Ballinacurra, had a stormer, coincidence struck the Boro B team were playing the same opposition that afternoon and were short 2 lads. Myself and another fella got called on to play, adult football at 14
I was put in right full, and was doing ok, the fella I was on was useless and I got cockier and cockier, I was going back getting the ball off the keeper and centre back and holding on a bit too long.
they had a big huge fast cunt up front that obviously had enough of me, Monahan was his name, anyway I held on a bit too long and Mike absolutely fucking measured me. From that belt on, for the rest of my life, I moved the ball way quicker.
Fair enough – and I appreciate the sentiment and you saying it. But there are rather odd dynamics going on here…
I’ve actually done that now anyway. I apologise if my jealousy jibe caused offence but I can assure him this is my only account
CACK HANDERS XV
James Dempsey
Adrian Tuohey
Daithí Burke
Peter Kelly
Gearóid McInerney
Brian Hogan
Peter Barry
Ollie Baker?
James Maher?
Fergal McCormack?
Tim Crowley?
Diarmuid ‘Gizzy’ Lyng
PJ Molloy?
Brendan Lynskey
Joe Deane
SUBS
Michael Coleman?
Mark Corrigan?
Paddy Corrigan?
Anthony Cunningham?
Pa Dillon
Joe Dooley?
Tony Doran?
Gerry McInerney
Martin Quigley?
Darren Stamp?
Have never met JC but only ever heard good things about him. Spoke really well last week about the current crisis.
Were all the Corrigans cack-handed? I’d know one of their brothers quite well. He settled in Tipp. Think he might have played a few times in goals a few time for Offaly. Lovely golfer
Well, they both hurled lhot and favoured backhand side. But it is quite possible one or both are lefthanded. You might ask the brother?
@anon78624367 - reply function seems to be gone Khak Handed.
Yes can be positive for development, absolutely. If not managed correctly though lads can get a free pass in certain areas that comes back to bite them later on.
I played all my hurling as a right handed lhot. For some reason that’s how I first picked up the Hurley. My poor father was from Carlow and might as well have been looking at a hole in the ditch. It was never coached out of my at school, which was odd, but I played in goal so it may be was not as much of a hindrance there. Though one time I remember standing in the goal up in the Mount Sion field and two old timers were bemoaning the state of the club and one of them says to the other, sure the goal man can’t even hold the Hurley in the right hand.
I realized when I went outfield that it was an affliction and I tried to coach it out of myself but it was too late then and I just got on with it. There were benefits to it, like catching the ball in your good hand which for a big mullocker like me was a boon. I could also hit a line ball off my right side with a lovely fade, which took the ball right in on top of the goalkeeper.