Lawnmowers

People would literally make up anything for a few likes on social media. That’s the way it’s gone these days.

2 questions:

1. Does the max size for a robot lawnmower refer to the site size or the lawn area?

2. How much are you talking for a strimmers for standard garden work i.e. weeds outside boundary fence, edges etc. Max budget of 500 euro

Fuckit you’d get a grand strimmers for 250 quid or less I’d say. Mine cost me about 200 a few years ago and it does the job grand

Can you switch between blade and string with it?

I was looking at a Husqvarna for about 350 the other day but reading up through the thread it appears the quality of their products isn’t what it was. I was i the Co-Op the other day and the cheapest was 600. I suppose farmers would need something more heavy duty.

Yes. I rarely if ever use the blade

What brand is it?

Get a battery powered one with interchangeable blade/wire. You’ll get a good one to suit your uses for under €200. If you want something more powerful you’re looking at petrol powered but they’re overly juicy for ordinary garden trimming - much too powerful for edging etc. Amazon is your friend here.

Get yourself a Stihl FS55. No fuckacting.
Its a great yoke. Comes with string and blade.

A word of caution on blades, don’t use one. If you need to cut anything that big, a strimmers is not your best option. Typically, brush ground is littered with stone- while you’ll handle the kick, the strimmers might not. Plus the blade can spread a lot of small pieces of stone in every direction.

A schoolbag harness and bull-horn handle are a great combo, the over-the-shoulder strap is only a cod.

Around the 350 mark with a deal, the 2 stroke is hard bate.

Max size is the mowing area

That sounds ideal for what I need. As well intentioned as @anon67715551 was above, a man in the countryside needs the reliability of a petrol motor and the noise of it to announce to his neighbours that there is a bit of work going on. The battery life of the electric ones wouldn’t fill you with confidence. I have a bank on one side of the site of 45 metres covered with docs and thistles so the Stihl sounds like the job.

Does the bike handle come included or is to be purchased separately?

I see a crowd call Beatty’s in Loughrea (presumably pronounced ‘Bayttys’ in South East Galway) have it for 349 so will give them a ring today.

You’re throwing money away with a battery strimmers, petrol is your only man. We got one second hand years ago and it’s a dream

Are you in Limerick? Hourigans on Broad street will look after you

As far as I know she’s sthandard.

You’d be doing well to cut docs and thistles with a standard strimmers. Nearly need a brush cutter (43cc) with blade.

The mother has a big birthday coming up. Hard women to buy for, asked what she wanted as we were going to send her to the states to her friend. Deadly serious asked for that strimmers.

@StoneCold didnt, at the outset, indicate that he required an agricultural brush cutter which it’s now evident is the weapon he wants. @FatChops has identified exactly the machine that’s needed.
I might just point out that the Stihl or it’s equivalent will tear flower beds to shreds should you lift your head to shout at a neighbour who might be cycling by and lose your focus.
Best of luck with it, a serious piece of kit.

Goggles mandatory and a good thick jean helps when a stray stone comes whirling out of the rotor and hits your shins

Would you not go all out and put a pair of shin guards on under a pair of steel top capped wellies??

Serious prize here for small money entry if any interested in a robot Lawnmower

Where is the Kerry overnight stay in - sounds questionable!

Lixnaw