Apparently Tom Dempsey said the job was done at the end of the 70 minutes and then had to eat his own words 3 minutes later. It reminded of the heartbreaking ending to the 2011 4th round football qualifier against Limerick.
Galway only beat Carlow by 11 points today. Theyâre beatable in Wexford Park. It would be typical Wexford to get a result there but falter away to Antrim or Carlow.
Be typical of Galway to beat Wexford and Lise to Antrim also.
I think Wexford are marginal favourites Vs Galway who are unlikely to travel well albeit Johnny Glynn may be available for a last ten mins of route 1
I donât think Galway have lost to Wexford in championship since the 1996 All-Ireland semi-final but theyâre certainly not the same team they were in 2017/18 when theyâd keep Wexford at arms length for a 9 point win.
Because Johnny Murphy was reffing & because it was puck out - free - dead ball - puck out - free - dead ball absolutely putrid shite there was plenty of time for shite talk too. As an aside, I thought itâs meant to be so professional now that backroom folk analyse referees. Did nobody tell the Wexford players not to give away soft frees?
I digress, I think it was 1-19 to 0-18 after around 67 minutes when they were saying Dublin havenât threatened a goal, we can safely say itâs job done etc. Then in injury time at 1-20 to 0-18 Tom Dempsey announced that if it was possibly job done already it was definitely job done now as theyâd need 2 goals & havenât had a sniff of one.
There was a typical piece of Spratt commentary after around 55 minutes when Donal Burke was hitting a free.
âSuch a brilliant freetaker Tom. He never looks like missing & keeps them in the game with his frees.â
âHeâs just missed that one Liam.â
Describe the last goal please. Dunbarâs point to make it 1-21 to 1-18 after their first goal gave them the chance for the last attack. Did we not have cover back there or did we concede the puck out & let them launch it in towards goal from their half back line or what?
Commentators eye.
We won Leinster the last time Dublin snatched a draw against us with a last gasp goal in the opening fixture of the round robinâŚ
Pretty much yeah, a quick puck out to their left half back and he just lobbed it inti the square. Ball broke, O Sullivan picked it up lovely and buried it. Ref didnt even let fanning take the puck out, just called full time.
2 big high balls in, not dealt with and dubs won the breaks and scored goals. Very reminiscent of some of the goals Westmeath got last year, just any sort of a high ball on the edge of the small square and we look like conceding.
Some of our playnwas woeful, and some forwards were lucky to stay on as long as they did. Never got into the game at all.
@binkybarnes will be seething that Wexford play Kilkenny again on the final day. Hopefully Kilkenny have 8 points on the board by then and ease off a bit in Nowlan Park.
As youâve alluded to, DĂłnal Burke had a couple of uncharacteristic wides today from frees as well. Mustâve missed 3 in total whereas I donât Chin missed any. Gman made a very good comparison to the goals conceded against Westmeath last year. Much will be made about Liam Ryanâs absence but he was on the park when direct route caused us issues in that game. Matthew Oâ Hanlon actually had a reasonable game at full-back but unfortunately couldnât bat that one out of the danger zone at the death.
The ideal scenario for us is Kilkenny beating Galway and Dublin. Therefore theyâll be already assured of a place in the Leinster final before we meet them in the final round of games. Assuming we take care of business in Antrim and Carlow then weâd have the safety net of a Kilkenny team going at 75-80% in the final round of games. I still have hope that we could scalp Galway though. We were awful last year in Salthill and they still only beat us by 6.
. For the third year in a row! Kilkenny look like they have some injuries heading up to salthill next week so it may not work out like that
Johnny was good today.
Sigh.
Only one winner that day.
Wexford and Dublin seem to draw every second year in the round robin? Youâd be well up in bookies backing it every year
Chin missed 2 frees in the first half, and Fanning wasted 2 as well, hit long into keepers hands. Chin had one then fairly central near his own 65 that he got, and it was badly needed at the time. Hed missed the other 2 so couldnt miss another long one.
I couldnât make it to Salthill yesterday, but by the sounds of it we were not convincing at all.
The wexicans have every chance of turning us over on the 4th of May. Our run against them since 1996 has to come to an end sometime. KH is pretty tactically inept, so I can see him going route wan. Which might actually work vs Wexford though.
Just like our minors vs Kilkenny, hadnât lost to them at that grade since 2010. That was well and truly buried on Saturday.
I had to download snappy chat & click through Buff Eganâs shite talk to see the Wexford-Dublin highlights.
I really find it hard to fathom how Wexford would not have had their fullback line intact, the half back line 5 yards in front of them to block off any runners from deep & a plus one & a plus two back there for the last attack to snaffle up any breaks.
They need one more goal, letâs make sure weâre set up with bodies back & spaces blocked off. For a long ball to break around the full back line & a chap just to run onto it from further out & bury it was really bad. Ball watching & not being prepared & alive to it.
Very poor game management.
Buff Egan seems to be a curse to whichever team he hitches his wagon too; ye Wexford supporters need to tell him to fuck off down the N25 and start following Waterford.
Limerick supporters gave him a torrid time and the county have had unprecedented success since
Buff is loved in Laois and was a vital part of our Joe McDonagh success in 2019
He posts them on Instagram now too FYI Information