I can only apologise if Laois are responsible for burying another nail in Wexford hurling. I will say there were some bright sparks for them yesterday in OMP, that centre forward looks like a prospect, when they scraped over the line against Laois. There’s till hope for ye lads. Granted Laois murdered yer senior footballers a few weeks ago and the minors beat yer footballers yesterday but Shur look it, swings and roundabouts.
Any time I hear the names Gusserane, Starlights, Shelmaliers, St. James’s, Castletown etc., I think to myself “ah, so youse are the lads that are killing Wexford hurling”.
Wexford are just too harmless/inoffensive as a county to ever be much good.
Wexford were brutal in that first half. Not playing long ball with that wind and Lee Chin was criminal. At least Galway had the excuse of not having a ball winner for arsing about further back. Two poor teams.
I walked from the Black Box car park to Salthill and back out again. A ceannt of a walk cc @binkybarnes but a lovely day for it.
The wind wasn’t too bad there yesterday.
We did go long at times but Galway cut it out easily.
How does relegation work in a 3-way tie?
Is it overall scoring difference or a mini head to head?
Not sure. Pal.
This is very true.
Very true.
Massive lack of knowledge too.
Thanks pal.
‘96 was great wasn’t it?
We were lucky to be alive for it.
Because there won’t be a repeat in our lifetime.
Don’t cry because it’s over
Smile because it happened
Wexford hurling people swing between being mostly morbid and pessimistic to wildly optimistic when the team throws a few shapes at all.
That’s where I’m at.
I’d be optimistic.
But the facts are not very supportive of any consistent run of success occurring.
Dual players are the probiem in Wexford. Most players in Wexford are playing both at club level. That’s why they are falling behind.
Every time Wexford hurling is going bad, it’s like ‘look over there it’s football’s fault’
And therin lies the problem
Zero introspection
The hurling snobs will never accept ye
That’s lazy.
The kids don’t play enough hurling.
That’s not football’s fault.
The kids don’t play enough football either.
That’s not hurling’s fault.
But we are not doing enough of either code to be successful.
Wexford kids do GAA once or maybe twice a week.
It just is not working.