Laois under Cheddar 2013-2015 and Eddie Brennan 2019/20 are classics of this genre.
This is the endless cycle of Laois hurling.
Laois had a nice team in the 1980s but didnât win anything. Then they bottomed out.
Laois had a nice team in the mid to late 1990s.
After being absolutely pulped by Wexford in 1994, which was a nadir, they regrouped and nearly beat Kilkenny in 1995, losing I think by two points.
Then they lost by one point to Offaly in 1997 and three points to Kilkenny in 1998.
That was a nice run of credible, respectable performances.
Going into the Leinster semi-final of 1999 against a by now very quickly emerging crack Kilkenny team, Laois were patronisingly expected to put up stoic resistance before going to down to a single figure margin defeat.
Iâm pretty Kilkenny had five goals past them by 20 minutes in and won by about 30 points. That was the end of Laois hurling, until the next mini-revival and series of credible, respectable performances, followed by another bottoming out and nadir, and so on.
Kilkenny should explode up the POWER RANKINGS
Dublin or Wexford have Offaly in Tullamore on the horizon in the âpreliminary quarter-finalâ. At this moment, youâd back Offaly.
Itâd be great if we could swap tipp out as wellâŚthe cuntsâŚ
Great boost for the much maligned Leinster Championship with two of the so-called weaker counties making the U20 final.
Duignan has Offaly purring. Youâd hope they dont let up this weekend and steamroll over Carla in the McDonagh.
An Offaly side back to where they were from 2010 to 2013 where they were capable of making a home game against Dublin/Wexford close to a 50/50 game and capable of getting within 10 points of Kilkenny and Galway giving them the occasional scare would certainly be a significant boost for the Leinster championship.
Theyâre in the All Ireland qualifiers and will fancy a crack off anyone in GOCP. Their biggest decision now is who they want to play in the McDonagh Cup. Carla or Laois/Kerry. They get to choose this weekend.
Yeah they could fancy a cut off Dublin if they get them in the A/I series
Theyâve had Kerryâs number all year anyway. Should be winning it whoever they get youâd think
Iâd imagine theyâll rest a few sore bodies this weekend, and it could leave the door open for the rastas. Laois made some shite of themselves letting that lead slip in Cullen Park. Dan got a two game suspension for abusing the ref after it, seething so he was with the penalty decision and the amount of injury time played
Purring and humming
A wake would brighten up the day for anyone from Offaly.
Iâd be careful there mate, glass houses and all.
And wakes are great craic when done right.
+1. Joe Dooley and Ollie Baker did some decent work in Offaly during those years. They played out a cracking draw with Galway in a high scoring thriller in 2010, turned over Wexford in Tullamore in league and championship in 2012 and gave Kilkenny a good fright in 2013. Brian Whelehan really struggled when he took charge at the beginning of 2014 then.
How many of the current U20 team played in the All-Ireland minor final last year? Adam Screeney wasnât even playing because of injury last night apparently.
The biffos are back lads⌠theyâll start as huge favourites next Wednesday and rightly so. I just hope we are ready for Duignan Offaly machine.
Fantastic i wasnt aware of this⌠an epic build up to the game awaits. I back @Bandage to win any pre game mind games
Whatâs the capacity of Carlow?
If this doesnât get north of 10k then we may as well forget about it.