Leitrim Football 2013

Emlyn Mulligan is disappointed by the behaviour of the four players axed from the Leitrim panel.

Wayne McKeon, Shane Moran, Tomas Beirne and Conor Beirne have all been dropped from the Ridge County panel this week for a breach of discipline and captain Mulligan told The Irish Examiner that he finds their behaviour “extremely disappointing” with a Connacht semi-final against London looming:

"Listen, the County Board issued a statement there on Tuesday night, but on a personal level it’s just extremely disappointing. It’s the opportunity we have to reach a Connacht final for the first time in 13 years, and they don’t come around too often.

"As a group of players and management, we’re just really disappointed with the behaviour of the lads.

"Action had to be taken. No more than any other county, we have rules and regulations, and one of the punishments was automatically being put off the panel.

"We had the same situation last year with a player but it’s disappointing because four is a large number and it’s the quality of the players who have been got rid of too.

"But look, we’ll battle on, we’ll put the head down. It’s not going to stop us in our quest to make a Connacht final for the first time and hopefully it will just pull us together and get the attitude right for June 23rd.

It’s a kind of a thing in Leitrim - Leitrim will never progress if these boys aren’t punished for their mistakes and I suppose that’s looking at the long-term effect.

"In the short term, it will obviously affect the team going into the London game but we’ll just have to put that to the back of our minds and just put the head down.

"The players would be very seldom putting a foot out of line. I’m just truly and utterly disappointed, I suppose, as captain of the team.

“But, at the same time, as captain I want to be leading out 15 or 20 fellas who are willing to put everything into it for the cause of the Leitrim jersey and the Leitrim supporters.”

Having a go at the players via the media is a bit ill-judged by Mulligan.

He’s not mad he’s just disappointed mate.

Living in Dublin its possible he may have misjudged the mood back in Leitrim on this matter.

I guess I should find out what the four players did though. What was it?

Wayne McKeon’s girlfriend gave birth yesterday. Not sure if that has anything to do with it.

I will down home at the weekend and will have direct access to relations of two of the players who were kicked off the panel so will find out exactly what happened.

Needless to say I will post it here.

Mulligan should keep his mouth shut. There were rumours that he was drinking two years ago but wasn’t kicked off the panel as he is best mates with James Glancy. Glancy on the other hand grassed up McKeon and Mossy Beirne for doing the same thing.

Was it Mulligan who got off drink driving a few years back? He’d do well to keep his mouth shut if it was.

Where did the name ‘The Ridge County’ originate?

I’d like to put on record my support for the stance Barney and George have taken.

This is not being small minded or defeatist but the fact of the matter is the Nestor Cup is Leitrim’s Sam Maguire.

You wouldn’t see Kerry, Mayo, Donegal etc players on the lash 3 weeks before an All Ireland semi final.

I was in London when the oul lad texted me the news. He didn’t have the identities at that stage but did finish the SMS with “Presume 2 of them are the Beirnes”. They’ve burned their bridges with the county team at this stage you’d have to think. It’s an awful shame as Mossy looked in superb shape in New York.

McKeon is without question the biggest loss of the quartet but he has previous aswell.

You’d think a home semi final against London and an opportunity to play in a Connacht final would have been enough incentive for the boys to toe the line.

They will be the losers here.

Please God, there’ll be bonfires all over the county on July 21st and the 4 boys will be left to regret the few pints.

Keep the Faith. Onwards and Upwards.

LIATROIM ABU

[quote=“Mac, post: 779777, member: 109”]Was it Mulligan who got off drink driving a few years back? He’d do well to keep his mouth shut if it was.

Where did the name ‘The Ridge County’ originate?[/quote]

Yes he did.

I never heard of ‘The Ridge County’ before.

[FONT=Calibri]This is bizarre, the more I think of it. Leitrim already played one diddy team and have around a 2-month break before playing another diddy team. So what if the boys want to go out for a few pints and whisky chasers in between? Look at the Dublin team, for example - they go out on the lash after every championship match, even when it’s coming to the latter stages, and it never did them any harm*.[/FONT]

[FONT=Calibri]* Note I said “them” and not people Diarmuid Connolly batters in McGowan’s.[/FONT]

[quote=“Bandage, post: 779833, member: 9”][FONT=Calibri]This is bizarre, the more I think of it. Leitrim already played one diddy team and have around a 2-month break before playing another diddy team. So what if the boys want to go out for a few pints and whisky chasers in between? Look at the Dublin team, for example - they go out on the lash after every championship match, even when it’s coming to the latter stages, and it never did them any harm*.[/FONT]

[FONT=Calibri]* Note I said “them” and not people Diarmuid Connolly batters in McGowan’s.[/FONT][/quote]
So in short, you’re saying the Leitrim management run a tighter ship than the Dublin one?

Yes, unnecessarily so.

[quote=“Mac, post: 779777, member: 109”]Was it Mulligan who got off drink driving a few years back? He’d do well to keep his mouth shut if it was.

Where did the name ‘The Ridge County’ originate?[/quote]
Mulligan’s a guard Mac he can do whatever the fook he likes London must be creamin themselves now they have great shot at beating us,I heard some of the manor and Melvin Gaels boyos were drinking about bundoran last weekend farmer if they were there’s some serious double standards goin on

A single comma?

Ah here, I saw this North Leitrim / South Leitrim bullshit over on the Hoganstand website too.

Both Barney and Dugdale are in the south of the county. The 4 players are from the south. FFS, two of them are club colleagues of Breen.

They’re hardly showing favouritism.

Leave the 4 boys to it. Get behind the lads who are 100% committed to the cause.

[quote=“thedancingbaby, post: 780131, member: 48”]Ah here, I saw this North Leitrim / South Leitrim bullshit over on the Hoganstand website too.

Both Barney and Dugdale are in the south of the county. The 4 players are from the south. FFS, two of them are club colleagues of Breen.

They’re hardly showing favouritism.

Leave the 4 boys to it. Get behind the lads who are 100% committed to the cause.[/quote]
I don’t know about the other lads DB only our own I don’t care about this north south shit I’m just worried about that money you put on us at 33-1 a few months back

A lot of anger around Mohill last night at the treatment of the four players. Mossy, McKeon and Moran went on the beer last Sunday in Drumshanbo, Ballinamore and Mohill. Conor was separately on the beer in Gortletteragh.

They were wrong undoubtedly but they were just stupid. There wasn’t cases of repeated warnings about drinking, it was a once off. And it’s a full month to the London game.

Mossy has put in serious work fitness wise over the last 6 months resulting in 2 stone being lost. He also pays a truck driver to cover for him when he goes training. He is also not a big drinker. He is meant to be gutted.

Also at training on Monday or Tuesday night the four lads were asked to stand to one side while the rest of the panel and management went into a huddle. They then delivered the news to them.

[quote=“farmerinthecity, post: 780776, member: 24”]A lot of anger around Mohill last night at the treatment of the four players. Mossy, McKeon and Moran went on the beer last Sunday in Drumshanbo, Ballinamore and Mohill. Conor was separately on the beer in Gortletteragh.

They were wrong undoubtedly but they were just stupid. There wasn’t cases of repeated warnings about drinking, it was a once off. And it’s a full month to the London game.

Mossy has put in serious work fitness wise over the last 6 months resulting in 2 stone being lost. He also pays a truck driver to cover for him when he goes training. He is also not a big drinker. He is meant to be gutted.

Also at training on Monday or Tuesday night the four lads were asked to stand to one side while the rest of the panel and management went into a huddle. They then delivered the news to them.[/quote]
FFS I’m getting really pissed now what way is that to treat 4 grown men sounds like something that would happen in national school,I don’t know if I’ll bother my arse goin to carrick now fuck the whole lot a them