Leitrim Gaa 2022

Fair play to Breffni,all the games are on the wireless

Big win @anon67715551 I told you to chaaaaaaarrrrrgggggeeeee during the week I hope you took heed

Go on Fenagh.

No cup won tonight, safety in Senior more or less assured for another year.
A tremendous contest, we were lucky not to be 10 points down after 5 minutes after Beirne had reeled off 1-02 in 3 minutes before our cĂșlbaire denied firstly Beirne (again) and Flynn 2 piledrivers.
We steadied the ship and the O’Rourkes got their game plan going. Donal and Jack wrested control at midfield and Oisin McLoughlin found the net after a clever set-up from RoR. We got over the shell shock and turned 2 up as our full back line turned over a lot of ball.
The second half progressed much as the 1st - trading scores but to my mind (parochial) we kept them at arms length. Our forwards created and took the chances on offer and while our half-backs had a ropey evening our defensive system held up.
Mohill will still win the county final. Beirne kicked 1-11 - a point from a sideline 13m out and bounced a replica off the crossbar with his left foot later on - what a performer. A great sporting contest, a few oul’ yellow cards but not an ounce of malice or mouthing. Mohill are a fine side - we’ll see them again.

Mar focail scoir: While there’ll be phenomenal quantities of porter drank in the village tonight the thoughts of every Fenagh man go out to the late Marian McKeon - sister of legendary clubmen Patrick and Peter Guckian who passed away Thursday at 52 from the Bad Lad. Marian’s hearty laugh would have cannoned off the walls tonight were she with us.

The Lord giveth and the Lord taketh away
.Fly with the angels Marian.

Called it

Sounds like a cracker.

https://www.finalwhistle.ie/gaelic/event/leitrim-sfc-2022-mohill-v-fenagh/

Massive game for the champions,for Mohill too.Im really liking this new format.Fenagh table toppers next Sunday no doubt

A very tough away game for ourselves.16 PTS will hardly bate the Willies

The “White Mans Graveyard” is never an easy one, they are dogged fuckers and will be keen to take the spoils. Every club are after the win at this stage for varying reasons, semi-final spots, preservation of status and avoiding the dreaded relegation battles.

Leitrim Gaels are in pole for the 1st semi-final spot but we’re not expecting an easy ride from Dromahair. Be a cracker in the town - everything on the line

Manor will need to come prepared for a battle but you know this.

Can one of the @Leitrims kindly explain the format? Genuinely interested.

As I’ve said multiple times our back line is not good enough.We concede too many goals.We’ll score enough to win most games but we won’t bate Fenagh/Carrick/Mohil/SOH or the Willie’s.We’ve some good young lads coming the but times a ticking Paddy won’t last forever.If he gives it another 2 years I can him moving to full back and protecting the square.I said earlier in the year that I thought Fenagh could win it and I’d say you thought I was joking but ye can bate anyone on the day.Mohill/SOH are obviously the favourites but I wouldn’t be one bit surprised if ye do it and I’d be very happy to see it as Donal Wrynn has been a huge player for Leitrim for the last few years.Hes a player I’ve huge time for.

There’s a draw every Sunday to see who’s playing the next week.10 teams.8 for the quarter finals 2 for relegation.

How many games do you play in the 10 team group?

How is the draw done? Seeded, based on results that weekend or totally open?

Not sure how many games but there’s no seeding open draw every Sunday.Only thing is if you were at he last week your away next week.

I think it’s great cause you have to go full bore every week no such thing as holding back for the big one in week 3or whatever

10 teams and 4 group games - 2 in your own pitch and 2 away and no repeat fixtures at this stage. After the preliminary group stages the top 2 are automatically in the semi-final while the next 4 progress to a quarter final meeting to determine the other semi-final placing. That’s 6 accounted for.

The bottom 4 contest the dreaded relegation group which is knockout so if you win the 1st day your saved and the remaining 2 engage in mortal combat with the winner surviving another season.

The trapdoor now opens on the loser and they drop to Intermediate. It’s easier to escape from Alcatraz than it is to get out of Intermediate here, trust me, we contested the senior final of 03 and dropped down around 06 and spent 12/13 years plugging away.

Ye’ll be safe so after next week.

You’re tempting fate a bit as the 4th game, while at home could throw up any of CoS, SoH or Manor who’d be stiff opponents particularly if their season hung on it.
Donal was in fine form yesterday evening, drove 2 long rangers over from the 45 or so, shaved the post with another and lasted the hour well. He has a new pair of white boots that look a bit daft on him to be honest