Limerick GAA 2022 - Dual Kings (Part 1)

If its not flooded

It was the last day.

Just back from Stade de Frank.

We came, we saw, we were dead and buried but ultimately we walked over every single one of those cunts, namely that human clapping seal Sheedy.

What a day. What an occasion. Amid all the upheaval over the last 16 months some things remain constant - this Tipp team can’t beat Limerick when the chips are down. They know it, we know it and now the whole world knows it now. That’s why we’re champions.

The second half was the greatest 35 + mins I’ve ever seen one of our teams produce. Heart, grit, balls, spirit, honesty, integrity, skill, trust - they had it all and more. Simply outstanding.

It was an incredible atmosphere. Once we tapped over the first couple of scores upon the resumption everyone knew what was coming, the crowd sensed it and bellowed their approval. The pathetic Tipp following, which numbered maybe in the hundreds, were stunned beyond belief. They didn’t come close to selling out their allocation and for good reason looking at their second half display.

The Kyle Hayes goal was just great sporting theatre, the place went mad. I was just lucky enough to be there and see it in the flesh. The first Munster 3-in-a-row since Tipp in ‘89 and our first since the days of Mackey. Three Munster titles in 24 months, from 1982 to 2012 inclusive we won the grand total of 2. A special group. Halcyon days.

Just rounded off the perfect day. No covid shite, just getting to meet up with friends, the drive down, the lad selling the flags in the van in Buttevant, quick couple of pints before, the walk out, Sheedy acting the ape on the line. Just normality and not a single mention of the Delta variant or NPHET. Good times.

Gillane got his kick up the hole but it led to the desired response. Even better that he landed one on that tramp Barrett and got away with it. Thought Lynch was MOTM though, even when all at sea in the first half he was the one player who kept us above water. Different class. Then again you’d be hard pressed to find one of them who didn’t utterly dominate their man after the break. It was even better than the drawn ‘96 or 2007 first replay comeback.

Stopped off in a pub on the way home, Holohan would have been bulling as they were serving indoors but, again, it was just some normality which we all crave. Everyone buzzing, pints, chats, slagging. Fantastic. It’s called living. The zero covid head bangers would have been apoplectic.

Now for the semi final in three weeks. We mightn’t win the AI this year but that today was one of the great, great days. I’m shattered and off to bed. Kiely for Taoiseach, Kinnerk as Tánaiste.

36 Likes

10 up there and well deserved

@dodgy_keeper :clap: Outstanding little sumarry there. I concur completely on the All Ireland, we might not win it as I’m certain a similar display v KK or Galway sees us beaten, but fuck all that, win the All Ireland or lose the All Ireland this year, just stand back and admire these boys. When the fuckin chips were down today and annihilation beckoned, we saw what they were made of once again.

Exceptional. A team for the ages.

The Limerick team to play Clare in the Munster Under 20 Hurling Championship at LIT Gaelic Grounds this evening at 8.05pm

1. Conor O’Neill (Ballybrown)

2. Chris Thomas (Doon)

3. PĂĄdraig Harnett (Ahane)

4. Michael Keane (Adare)

5. Emmet McEvoy (Na Piarsaigh)

6. Colin Coughlan (Ballybrown)

7. Cormac Ryan (Doon) Cormac O Riain

8. Jimmy Quilty (Blackrock) (Captain))

9. Patrick Kirby (Patrickswell)

10. Diarmuid Hegarty (St Patrick’s)

11. Cathal O’Neill (Crecora Manister) Cathal O’Neill

12. Adam English (Doon) Adam Inglis

13. Bryan Nix (Newcastle West) (Vice-Captain)

14. Aidan O’Connor (Ballybrown)

15. Donnacha O’Dalaigh (Monaleen)

Substitutes:

1. Conor Hanley Clarke (Kilmallock)

2. Cathal Downes (Kildimo Pallaskenry)

3. Liam Lynch (Mungret St Pauls)

4. Eddie Stokes (Doon)

5. Fergal O’Connor (Effin)

6. Brian O’Meara (Mungret St Pauls)

7. Ronan Fox (Ahane)

8. Patrick Reale (Knockainey)

9. Ethan Hurley (Newcastle West)

Interesting to see Clarkey’s young fella going down the Hanley goalkeeping route.

Not all that surprising after seeing him at minor. Serious hands on him but conditioning might be an issue

A good keeper, serious puckouts. Very close to starting, toss-up between the two.

Talent to burn, he could do anything really.

His only route into inter county hurling

The Limerick Minor Hurling Panel 2021 has been announced as follows :

Ahern Killian (Blackrock)

Condon JJ (Knockaderry)

Connery Pierce (Kilmallock)

Connolly James (Staker Wallace)

Dennehy Liam (Glenroe)

Dillon Ewan (Effin)

Dore William (Dromin/Athlacca)

Field Mark (Monaleen)

Fitzgerald David (Kildimo/Pallaskenry)

Fitzgerald Joe (Monaleen) (Vice Capt)

Fitzgibbon Mike (Cappamore)

Fox Harry (Hospital/Herbertstown)

Gavin Mikey (Ballybrown)

Harrington Vince (Na Piarsaigh)

Hayes Con (Newcastle West)

Kearns Wayne (Na Piarsaigh)

Kennedy Paddy (Garryspillane)

Langan Darragh (Monaleen)

Lynch Tomas (Doon)

Maher Kevin (Doon)

McMahon Ciaran (Kildimo/Pallaskenry)

O Brien Shane (Kilmallock)

O Byrne Rian (Crecora/Manister)

O Carroll Cian (Croagh/Kilfinny)

O Neill Ryan (Effin)

O Riordan Michael (Bruff)

Quaid Killian (Murroe/Boher)

Riordan Mark (Castletown/Ballyagran)

Rowsome Gavin (Ahane)

Scully Cian (Dromin/Athlacca/Banogue) (Captain)

Sheridan Euan (Murroe/Boher)

Whelan John (Newcastle West)

Manager Kevin O Hagan (Mungret/St Pauls)

Coach Ger Barry (Killeedy)

Coach/Selector Liam Reale (Hospital/Herbertstown)

Coach/Selector Mark Keane (South Liberties)

Coach/Selector Liam Hammersley (Cappamore)

S&C Darragh Droog (Mungret/St Pauls)

Goalkeeper Coach Aaron Murphy (Hospital/Herbertstown)

Stats Pat Keane (Newcastle West)

Stats Mike Cotter (Bruree)

Kitman Darragh Bennis (Patrickswell)

Liasion Officer Eamonn Phelan (St. Patricks)

Physio Stephen Corridan (Fedamore)

Doctor Daniel Power (Monaleen)

Medic John Daly (St. Patricks)

Academy Paul Browne (Bruff)

Academy Patrick Jones (Hospital/Herbertstown)

They’re at nothing with only the one goalkeeping coach. For shame.

Only 16 named in the backroom. They kept the other five names out of it

No need to show our full hand so soon…

A fourth Munster title for Quaid, Hannon and Mul. A fair achievement considering they all soldiered through some fairly barren years.

Would you say dropping Gillane worked or failed?

fifty fifty

Depends if he was dropped for on or off-field reasons. Only the PM group know the story there.

Any word on Ritchie English’s injury?
Or Adam English’s ?