I canāt understand why Kilkenny didnt try to go a bit more zonal on the puck outs? Grand the movement was good but the ball still ended being hit into the same pockets of space everytime
There was a bang of man united under the sir Alex Ferguson in the last few years about Cody and Kilkenny nowadays.
He seems to refuse to adopt modern strategies around puck outs. Thereās surely little reason eoin Murphy canāt be like a Quaid or the Galway keeper with those driven arrows at lads. He was looping high ball down on top of us. That is what we want.
Against the majority of teams thatāll work but not against Limerick.
Ya Iām not talking playing a traditional 5,6,7 but maybe playing them in a line 30 yards across. If Limerick do win a puckout straight down the middle itās not the worst result compared to last Sunday.
There was one play that drove me demented (as a neutral). Murphy wins a ball from a short ball and has Mullen by himself on the 45. He ignores him striking it down to the extra Limerick man.
10 seconds later itās a Tom Morrissey point.
I reckon Murphy is told to keep it simple but this was so blatantly obvious youād have to wonder does Murphy take pleasure in winding up.
Maybe thatās why the full forward line was quiet. If you follow the Limerick half forwards Gillane and Flanagan are going to go to town on you.
I think Kilkenny possibly thought that it suited them for Limerick to do that. Possibly didnāt realise how accurate NQ actually is and they backed themselves to win the dirty ball in a crowded third. By the time they realised what actually happened, they were already shipping water.
Sir Alex Fergusonā:grinning:
Thats a extremely valid point.
Ive been thinking about it off and on since Sunday.The fella had acres of space all day.
Doesnt make sense when traditionally we assign man on man and especially for All Irelands.
Did the KK management not rate Hegarty beforehand?
Was Paddy Deegan told to not mark tightly and play his own game? Even after the first 20 mins of damage,no reaction from anybody.It just doesnt add up to me.
It was the losing of the game.
Well I have sympathy for him when Hegarty goes very deep as that shouldnāt really be a wing backās job but there were times where Hegarty was going to a ball in the forwards and he just stood off him
God be with the days when we saw Jackie Tyrell waiting at the side of the pitch for Lar Corbett to come out for the second half.
You wont get that level of desire with
alot of the individuals in this particular crop and thats obvious.
Its either in you or not and that extra 5% cant be coached.No shame in it either.
Surprising Kilkenny didnāt come up with a plan for Hegarty going on what lads are saying here
I would put 2014 miles ahead of ā97. Clare-Tipp was exciting without having the same level of skill on display as Kilkenny-Tipp. That 2014 final was just off the charts. Iād put last Sundayās final above ā97 too.
I dare say the 2000 final had much superior skill on display to the 1956 final but skill level alone is not how finals should be ranked.
The 2014 drawn final was very good and all but ultimately there something slightly unsatisfying about it. That might be down to it not having a definitive result or it might be down to the hurling in it being a bit too clean and bloodless, a fault that could be similarly levelled at this yearās final.
The last ten minutes of the 1997 final had it all, the centrepiece being Fitzgeraldās save from Leahy, a true ICONIC moment to rank up there with any moment in any final. When you boil it down, drama is the most important quality in a final and that was the most dramatic last ten minutes or so of any final anybody alive can remember, in that it had unexpected twists and turns, a comeback, lead changes, it swung one way and back again and almost back again. Much more dramatic in real terms than 1994. Plus it was rich in accessible characters, context, narrative, and a deep, bitter rivalry.
1995 and 2013 (draw) are probably the closest to it in terms of real drama. Clare are the drama kings of hurling finals.
Has anyone (outside of Limerick) actually come to the realisation yet that Eoin Murphy is not actually a very good distributor of the ball?
An outstanding shot stopper, yes, a brilliant hurler, yes. But puckouts and ball distribution?? Distinctly average bordering on poor. Light years behind Nicky Quaid, and thatās being kind.
Now ask yourself this questionā¦Modern day Goalkeeper, what is his primary job? What does he do most? Whatās most important?
Hint: It aināt pulling off outstanding saves v Dublin in Parnell Park in a Round Robin Game. In fact, it isnāt about pulling off outstanding saves at all. Sure most of them can do that ffs.
And yet, youāll have apes on here telling you Eoin Murphy is a better keeper than Nicky Quaid All the token gesture All Stars to Kilkenny in the world wonāt change the fact that Nicky is miles miles miles a superior Goalie. And thatās not an insult, thatā¦is just a fact of life
Galbally is bouncing lads
It was a mad rush by Casey to get the team back on the bus.
Cody has always been pragmatic and told his goalkeepers to drive it as long and as hard as possible.
He told Herity once, āif youāre going short, go 100 yards short and if they canāt win it up there, Iāll put someone else in there who willā.
Would you trust Browne and Kenny to snap cleanly puckouts drilled to them from 60 yards? Thereās a reason Murphy doesnāt trust them.
Well Iād say thatās kind of a vicious circle, donāt practice them, then canāt trust them etc. KKās hurling looked very sharp Sunday, they could easily play it out short to those lads.
The question is then whether Murphy, if he was allowed to go short, could do it. At the moment itās a bit of a moot point, because itās not his fault.