Away and shite you Cunt
Huge scrap apparently.
Weâre qualified now
And entitled to aim for a lot more than that at this stage.
Ah itâs different for us to be fair itâs about developing lads for senior, thereâs nothing really to be gained in winning it, personally Iâd prefer to see a Croagh/Kilfinny or my old ancestral home GB winning it and progressing Cc @dodgy_keeper @Gary_Birtles_Lovechi
Yes, very true though Iâd say the lads on the team arenât thinking quite that way.
Just back from Kevin Long Park, Feenagh.
Premier intermediate result - NCW 0-19 Bruff 1-14
A monsoon all the way through the second half made for impossible conditions. Credit to both sides who were full of honest endeavour amid a biblical downpour.
Overall, NCW deserved it. Just had a better spread of scorers. Eoin Hurley, Bryan Nix and young Con Hayes all chipped in with two or three scores each from play.
The ageless warrior Mike Mc also fired over two worldies. Has there been a better dual club servant across the county in the last 10/15/20 years? Heâs some yoke.
Bruff will be disappointed. They led thanks to an early Kyle Dillon goal after good work from Bobby OâBrien created the chance. Immediately after, they had a gilt edged chance to extend the lead to 7 but Chris Browneâs effort went high and wide.
NCW woke up and dominated from there to full time, without ever being overly comfortable. Lead by two at the short whistle but met a Bruff storm on the resumption, four quick fire points putting the Southsiders two ahead. Again Newcastle responded, amid the deluge, as Eoin Hurley nailed a few difficult frees.
Following on from last weeksâ win against Effin it has been a great week for Paul OâGradyâs charges who are now bang in the mix for a semi final slot.
Four time All-Ireland winner Sean Finn, re-positioned to the attack, got injured at the start of the second half but played on even though he could barely move. He eventually went off late on, he hit one wide in that second period but otherwise wasnât really in it after grabbing two points in the opening half.
Their scores dried up as the game went on - Patrick Finn landed two beauties from wing back in the second period - and overall the better team just about edged it.
All credit to the Feenagh/Kilmeedy club. Pitch was in top nick as ever, loads of stewards to sort the parking and everything in fine fettle generally.
How did the youngest Hurley fare?
Thanks for that.
Was Diarmuid Kelly playing?
Was always going to be tight. Mike Mac is some warrior tbf to him.
Did ok, the conditions were never going to favour the young lads. Ethan wore 12 but was stationed in the half back line.
NCW have a fine crop of young lads there. Keep them away from soccer, rugby football and Gaelic football and theyâll earn promotion sooner rather than later.
Yeah, Diarmuid was playing. Still impressed in patches but wasnât as dominant as he can be.
Winning a battle like that will bring those young lads on enormously.
Itâs a wide open championship at this grade.
I was told they have around 12 lads that are dual starters which is fair going
Senior A
Friday September 9
Ahane vs Kilmallock @ 6pm in Doon
Saturday September 10
Adare vs Na Piarsaigh @ 6pm in Ballybrown
Doon vs Patrickswell @ 6pm in Kilmallock
Honestly, itâs hard not to see three relatively handy winners in these three games. Kilmallock are on a different level altogether to Ahane, and I reckon theyâll win by 12 or so. Na Piarsaigh, similarly, are on a different level to Adare; I think theyâll win by 15. Maybe Patrickswell will put it up to Doon, and this one should be a lot close but I reckon Doon will win by 6. Looks like three teams are through here and unless the Well actually get a win against Doon, it will likely come down to the last day and their game against Adare for the quarter-final spot.
Senior B
Friday September 9
Mungret/St. Paulâs vs South Liberties @ 6pm in Claughaun
Saturday September 10
Blackrock vs Kildimo/Pallaskenry @ 2pm in Ballyagran
Big win for Ballybrown this evening to get back on track after last weekâs defeat. Without Josh Adams, Colin Coughlan sent off halfway through the first half while two points down. But apparently Aidan OâConnor and Bryan Griffin really stepped it up, and the Bouncers collapsed from a very favourable position. Ended with Mark Quinlan also getting sent off. So that moves them to 6 points with a game to play. Still most likely will have to get a result against Liberties in the last game, and presumably will be without Coughlan.
Ourselves and Liberties can also move to 6 if we beat Blackrock & Mungret respectively. Mungret fucked away a win against Garryspillane, and certainly not impossible that they beat Liberties but Iâm going to go with Liberties by 2, Nash to cause havoc. Blackrock beat us the last time we played; in the Premier Intermediate final replay of 2019. Still a particularly sore one for us, no harm in having that to focus the mind after the emotional high of last weekend. Blackrock have stayed up two years on the trot by winning dogfights, you wouldnât back against them if it went down to the final game.
Premier Intermediate
Saturday September 10
Dromin/Athlacca vs Monaleen @ 5pm in Fedamore
Sunday September 11
Cappamore vs Knockainey @ 1pm in Kilteely
Effin vs Glenroe @ 6pm in Kilfinane
NCWâs win tonight moves them to 7 points, Bruff stay on 5 with two games remaining. D/A were beaten by Cappamore, somewhat against the odds last week, itâs hard to make them favourites against a Monaleen side who will go top on Friday night if they win. Iâll go for Monaleen by 5.
Cappamoreâs win moved them off the bottom, and Knockainey currently occupy that spot. In a lot of ways, this could be a vital relegation decider, the way the group has panned out. Cappamore were county finalists last year and thatâs a great win over Dromin/Athlacca. Finding form at the right time? Knockainey did stay close to a good Glenroe side, Iâd say this will be some battle. Iâm just going to go by Cappamore by 1 on the basis of last weekendâs result meaning that theyâve found some form after the break.
Glenroe vs Effin is an interesting one. Effin have slipped to 5th after last weekendâs loss to NCW while Glenroe topped the group coming into this, and remain the only unbeaten side. In great form, clearly, drew with NCW and comfortably beat Monaleen. Effin have had two big wins and two defeats where they werenât really in contention either. But Iâm going to go for the shock in this one and tip Effin to inflict a first defeat on Glenroe. Effin by 2.
Intermediate Group 1
Saturday September 10
Bruree vs Caherline @ 4pm in Hospital
Sunday September 11
Feohanagh vs Murroe/Boher @ 1pm in Ballybrown
Bruree gave Croom some hammering last weekend, and itâs hard not to see them pick up yet another win with the form theyâre in. Bruree by 9. A much-improved performance from Murroe/Boher last weekend and were unlucky not to beat Na Piarsaigh. Feohanagh were greatly helped by Seamie Flanagan scoring a hat-trick in their victory over Caherline. Is he getting married this week? I think Murroe/Boher might sneak this one by 2.
Intermediate Group 2
Sunday September 11
Croagh/Kilfinny vs Kilmallock 2 @ 1pm in Newcastlewest
Granagh/Ballingarry vs Pallasgreen @ 1pm in Bruff
Hospital/Herbertstown vs Knockaderry @ 6pm in Kilmallock
C/K are three from three; I donât see them slipping against Kilmallock who got a vital win last weekend against Pallasgreen, after the East side had a first-half red card (surprise, surprise). C/K by 7. G/B werenât overly impressive in their victory against Knockaderry, but still ran out comfortable winners in the end. Dodge still has it, he dictated the play, but Knockaderry were very poor. Pallasgreen on-form are a completely different proposition but Iâd still fancy G/B to get the win on the basis that they have more scoring threat. G/B by 2. H/H vs Knockaderry is interesting. I wasnât impressed with Knockaderry last weekend. Theyâre very dogged but so reliant on Mark Danaher frees for scores. H/H have a bit more about them but arenât exactly spectacular either. Whoever loses could very easily find themselves in a relegation play-off, and Iâd have to tip H/H to win this by about 4.
Junior A Group 1
Saturday September 10
Ballybricken/Bohermore vs Crecora/Manister @ 6pm in Cappamore
Sunday September 11
Blackrock 2 vs Dromcollogher/Broadford @ 1pm in Ballyagran
Staker Wallace vs Templeglantine @ 1pm in Feenagh
With two games left in this group, C/M are top, in a very favourable position. B/B are also still just about in contention but need a win after dropping points against the Stakers last week. Should be an interesting battle, Iâm going to tip C/M to get the job done this year. C/M by 4.
Drom got back on track after a horrible start by thumping Glantine. Still just about in it but canât afford any more slip-ups. Fancy them to dispose of Blackrock comfortably enough. D/B by 12. Templeglantine slipped up badly last weekend, but still are ahead of the rest of the pack, having won two games. At the outset, you would have said theyâd beat the Stakers but they got a good point last weekend. Again, the winner is still in with a real shout of qualifying. Iâll go with Glantine by 2.
Junior A Group 2
Saturday September 10
Ahane 2 vs Kileedy @ 6pm in Croagh
Claughaun vs St. Patrickâs @ 6pm in Na Piarsaigh
Sunday September 11
Castletown/Ballyagran vs Monagea @ 3pm in Dromcollogher
Killeedy still unbeaten, with Cian Magnier Flynn absolutely flying. Ahane have been cannon fodder for everyone and if someone is going to expose Killeedy, it wonât be them. Killeedy by 17.
Claughaun & Patâs could potentially be a rowdy affair; Patâs are still winless despite having one of the best hurlers in the country. Nothing easily given in this Championship though, and theyâre pretty much certainly out. Claughaun are still well and truly in contention, and I think theyâll grind out the win here by 2 or so. But they will need to keep the head in a local derby.
Monagea have been very decent and fought with Kileedy until the very end, only losing by a point. Hugely impressive hammering dished out by C/B against Patâs. I backed them at the start, and although they lost to Claughaun, Iâll tip them here again to win by 3.
Junior A Group 3
Sunday September 11
Ballybrown 2 vs Feenagh/Kilmeedy @ 12pm in Croagh
Askeaton vs Mungret/St. Paulâs 2 @ 6pm in Ballybrown
Doon 2 vs St. Kieranâs @ 6pm in Claughaun
Think Ballybrown lost another player or two this evening from their juniors, F/K should beat them handily to stay in the race. F/K by 6. Askeaton are winless, will they have Willie back this weekend? If they do, they could beat Mungret who arenât all that. If they donât, they could be in serious bother. Askeaton by 2. The top two face off then; last yearâs county finalists, St. Kieranâs, versus Doonâs seconds who had been very impressive but drew with Mungret last weekend. They did lose Darragh Stapleton who is a big player at this level. Iâm still going to back them to sneak a win over Kieranâs but should be worth a watch. Doon by 2.
Junior A Group 4
Saturday September 10
Old Christians vs Tournafulla @ 3pm in the Bog Garden
Sunday September 11
Garryspillane 2 vs Patrickswell 2 @ 6pm in Caherconlish
K/D beat the Mushes as expected this evening. Probably a long shot to see them qualify at this stage, after being beaten by Christians. This is the only junior group which already looks predictable, which is a bit of a shame. Christians should at least put it up to Tour, but I fancy Tour to have too much. Tour by 7. The Bouncers gave a walkover last weekend which is a bit of a joke. We were desperate to go up Junior A, and I know a couple of other sides who are wasting their time at Junior B level, and then you have teams giving walkovers at the level above. Unless there is a very very good reason (in which case could the fixture not have been refixed?), thatâs a joke. Patrickswell will win this handy anyway; the Well by 14.
A Kieranâs defeat opens it up for our crowd.
Thatâs shocking. Thereâs plenty of sides whoâd give an arm to be junior a as well, I know you have to earn it, but thatâs a right pity that they are giving walkovers, wasting a spot up there.
What did yer man do to Colin Coughlan to get him so wound up?
Fucked his Hurley over the fence