Limerick GAA 2023 - League champions means nothing now 🐐

They’ll be playing Doon

Fair play @Aristotle :clap:

Unreal achievement in fairness

Its massive. Not an overnight thing by any means.

I’m very pleased for them.

Great result for K/P today.Shaun Barry was unreal on the frees,don’t think he missed any and slotted over a beautiful sideline to finish it off in injury time.Congrats @Aristotle onwards and upwards.

Utter madness the way group two panned out. If Mungret could have scored a winner, after spotting two points in stoppage time, they’d have knocked out Liberties. Ballybrown out on the head to head to rule.

Fair play to Kildimo Pallas. They were worthy group winner, recovering from a shaky loss one day one, they did it very well from there.

They improved every game since losing to Mungret.A free swing against Adare or the Well now.And I’d fancy our chances against either.We were poor enough in the first half but still went in level.A lot better in the second and hopefully the 3 weeks will give Kyle and Darren time to heal up.

Ur very sure.do u not think ur starting team is old?could come against ye?

Lads it’s a draw for the quarters.

Up to Senior A and into a county quarter-final, one part of the job complete. First time in 80+ years that a team from the parish has made that stage of the Championship, and first time ever for my half of the parish. That continues progression, we have been moving in the right direction almost constantly in the last few years, now we’re up with the big boys for next year.

We weren’t at our best today, I’ll be the first to admit that. In the first half, Garryspillane were the better team, they outfought us and outworked us and probably should have been ahead, we were lucky to be going in level. Kyle being on one leg didn’t help, probably limited the type of ball we were trying to play into the forwards. He was stood inside at full-forward and did win ball but they were beating us on the things we have been priding ourselves on, breaking ball & dirty ball. And that’s what Garryspillane always bring, the likes of Gearoid Power, Declan Barry & Bryan Heavey caused us some big problems in that regard.

But, in fairness, we responded in the second half and saw out the victory. Started to get to grips with their puckout and the breaks, and maybe shut down their space a little bit. We never got clear of them, they hung there and it was only in the final few minutes that we pushed the gap out beyond 3, the subs bench again making a big impact which is probably our biggest area of improvement from 2021 to 2022.

Kyle was heavily restricted but still got a good point and won a lot of frees. Darren was very lively, probably should have had a goal, it flew just over the bar. Cathal Downes scored 0-3 from wing-back, a really good performance from him in front of John Kiely. Shaunie Barry… immaculate on the frees and a top, top class sideline at the end. Never any doubt in my mind that he’d nail it. And is there a better player in Limerick at winning dirty ball than him? Cian Lynch is probably the only one, he’s just so so good at it.

Another strong display from our backs, Cían Hayes & Luke O’Keeffe really strong. Paudi Hartigan also really lively in attack from the bench once again, both himself & Dylan Corrigan added some fine scores on introduction.

So we move on to a quarter-final, and we’ll have a right ole rattle off it. I think the top 4 teams are still probably ahead of us in terms of overall depth & the quality of hurling they’ve been playing in recent years. But that doesn’t mean they’re unbeatable. I don’t think any of them have been beaten in Championship by a team outside the top 4 since Ballybrown beat an already knocked-out Na Piarsaigh in 2016; and they also beat Doon that year (I remember Na Piarsaigh lads being very very annoyed about that Doon game at the time). It’s been a long time but it’s going to happen at some point…

I trust you folk are aware that a hape of your County Board officials and indeed Mr.Kiely are on a fund-raising jolly in J P Clarke’s saloon bar on McLeen Avenue in NYC as we speak.
The cheeky fuckers are even sporting gilets with the logo of Clarke’s emblazoned on them.
The place appears to be rammed solid and the :pint: are flowing…

Talk about encroachment….

Did Kiely fly from Caherconlish directly after the match or did he leave at half time?

I’d say @anon67715551 might be a bit out of date with this one, as Kiely had a fairly big queue for signing hurleys that he had to get through at about 7pm in Caherconlish :joy:

And with the trucks crashed outside, and the traffic backed up, I’d say he’d be doing well to make New York this evening.

If ye were going to adopt a hurling team, makes sense to start at the top

The Private Jet is an incredible yoke.

@anon67715551 has mugged himself here a rare event but he’ll learn from it and drive on

We’re finished for years sure.

Very unlike him

Not the case. A fine of around €250. Ballybrown used two juniors in their senior match so they’ll be weaker again for the Relegation semi. themselves and Ahane could lose their third team (junior B) if they are relegated.