Limerick GAA 2023 - League champions means nothing now 🐐

I watched the first and second replay in person, completely wild days

It’s only football

@Watchthepost whats going in underage football in ncw?

A walkover last night at u19s (although walkovers from clubs away to Galbally aren’t that unusual ).

And I see they are Div 3 in u17. No way should NCW be allowed into Div 3 football.

Yerrah once ye are winning all Irelands what else matters

U19 is an abomination of a grade, particularly at this time of year

Some amount of amalgamations at underage these days

Its terrible. “Player retention” my bollix. You’ll have some report issued in a few years lauding how there was a 90% increase in retention of 17 year olds, with no mention of the fall off of 18 year olds.

As I understand it, a clean split between under 17-adult grades was the goal. Two years of stronger players likely involved with the adult sides, leaving cert, holidays, summer jobs, concerts and under 17 games provide too many challenges to get 18/19 out on a Friday evening in June/July

Doon did not take part in under 19 last year.

With population increases why are sports clubs struggling at underage? You see it across a lot of sports now

A lot of those amalgamations might be just at a particular age as opposed to full amalgamations. Plus you’ll really only see the benefits of increased populations in another few years. We’d see it ourselves where we now have great numbers at 7s and 9s.

Teams should take this approach. Assimilate those coming out of under 17 in the adult club. Add another junior grade.

Under 19 seems to be an abomination in most places where I have spoken to people.

But you see it in a few sports amalgamation at age groups. Its great to give players meaningful squads to play in but is there a societal issue or an effect of migration due to the crash, people in their 20s/early at that time would be parents now but would have moved from a lot of the rural areas

PlayStation, ability to stay connected to pals via social media etc… Long go if you didn’t go training you didn’t see anyone for the summer as a young teen

They have a very strong u19 side this year I think, but that walkover was because LC night was last night hence all the walkovers given at minor. From what I’ve heard they are still very strong at most underaged in football, the u17 must be an exception. Division 3 is a bit mad but from what I’ve seen their numbers are still through the roof

They have a couple of lads on each of the underage county squads. Abbeyfeale have always been the stronger underage football club but NCW have always had better player retention and much stronger adult depth because Abbey drink themselves into the ground.

Friend of mine was saying he had the pleasure of seeing Cian Lynch in a pink bucket hat while eating his breakfast out this morning. The Limerick lads are more than just trend setters on the pitch.

Yet lads on here think it’s good for clubs to give up 7 months of the year and then play games in July / august when the worlds your oyster.

The next generation have so many options compared to previous ones.

Clubs are playing leagues since March in most counties

A fine sash on the jersey