Limerick GAA 2024-25

Lamp it down the field as far as they can on top of the big forward. Real sophisticated stuff.

Sometimes it works.

You don’t get it fella…hurling has moved on from whacktics

Yep, bunch and break

It does. It’s effective. That’s what I said at the start.

Hard to get a real appreciation for the puck out tactics if your not going to matches and only watching the Sunday game for your insight plus listening to a few podders

Cork are the literal definition of whacktics. Whack it as far as possible as often as possible. And fair play to them.

Brian Hayes is basically an evolved form of Brian Begley.

The movement of the other forwards around it is sublime. Against Limerick last year they played their zonal system against them and had wing forwards crowding the middle for breaks or to take a pop pass if the ball was won clean. Hoggie and Connolly are also pulling away on diagonals and if they don’t receive ball they’ve cleared the area for Hayes.
It’s chaos but well designed.

Sure he said himself he’s barely watched Cork at all. He’s like Mark Landers, hearing a report on the radio and then bluffing his way through analysis.

At least Landers played the game

Barrett and Fitzgibbon are also coming from deep a lot more this year and being picked out by their forwards while at full gallop

American football is very apt here. What Limerick need to do is to jam the receivers at the line of scrimmage and dont let them get clean separation.

What were the illegal means?

I didn’t see anything borderline on hayes or the cork forwards under long deliveries in the A/I final, clare were very aggressive in attacking the ball in the air.
Clare got a run on them in the second quarter and Cleary caught a couple of these bombs and they seemed to move away from Hayes as the main puckout target

This was a great debate I’ve generated here today.

You should take over Liveline mate

Cork have saved hurling you’re not allowed challenge them or their whacktics.

It was nothing under the direct contest.

It was the Clare half back line basically stopping the runs of the Cork half forwards by holding/wrestling them. This allowed the Clare midfield of Kelly and Malone to get back and pick up the break.

Niggly auld shite.