Limerick GAA 2026

He should be taken out and shot with a knob of his own shite.

DOD proved again how he’s our stalwarts. What a player.

Any word of Cathal or AG? Hope they make semi final.

And the bull Stood up when needed. We are in good shape

he’s reffed three already so won’t get the sympathy one hopefully

Thank god for that

Dan Morrissey and Darragh O’Donovan

Two men for the hard day!

Anyone know if Fintan Fitzgerald was about to come on at some stage?

Cork only scored 1 goal from play in the second half. Only managed 3 shots from play aswell.

Incredible defending from the Limerick defenders

Have cork any history of that?

Hard to know where to start with that.

A real mixed bag.

Thought the backs were excellent. We really limited corks forwards. Apart from frees they couldn’t make a dent really.

Quaid was superb. Limerick being a little more brittle has really shown how good Quaid is as a shot stopper. Made one absolute worldy of a save.
They talk about key men for Limerick but once Quaid goes it’s all over.

Finn held his own, nearly caught for toe once or twice but managed to do enough.

Nash wasn’t able to get as involved up the field as much as usual. Limerick weren’t playing it through the lines as much as normal. A lot more balls skipping lines to get around Cork. He kilt Tim O’Mahoney

Dan is the man. Superb again.

They rained puckout after puckout down on top of Byrne’s but he held up brilliantly. It’s so obvious at this stage that he always has a few bodies around him too in support.

WOD didn’t get on a pile of ball. But he defended the FB line well and that’s his role now.

Hayes another good shift. Not taking as many balls into contact the last few games and he is the better for it.

DOD a serious shift. His distribution is top class and as others have said he has been badly missed the last few years.

Lynch. Not his most influential game. Again because they went more direct he didn’t get on as much ball as usual. Still did his bit and was good at the end when the game was in the fire.

Hegarty. Worked his bollox off again. When he moved in FF he won the game. Created a lot of problems up there. The first yellow was harsh, but he was lucky to stay on the field at the end because that should have been a yellow. Took the goal brilliantly.

AOC. Frees were horrendous, did well enough from play but also hit a few sloppy wides from play too. One where he spun around and snatched at it when he had loads of time was really bad. And that short free to Byrnes :nauseated_face:
They’ve kind hitched themselves firmly to him taking the frees, but it might take some of the pressure off him if he wasn’t on them. He’s not an 80% free taker. Gillane probably isn’t either. But he’s definitely more clutch.

CON. Poor now. That one where he had about four goes at picking the ball :see_no_evil: ended up getting a nice score for a finish. But that’s him. Hopefully the knee injury isn’t too bad. He’s still a starter all day with his work rate etc. I’d say it was precautionary and he was playing shit too so twas an easy enough call.

Gillane. Thought he was alright to be honest. He won a load of ball, and a few frees. Was wasteful enough at times. But it was very harsh to take him off, unless he is carrying an injury as some have suggested.

Bull. Not great. His first touch is very untidy. He waited for a ball at one stage too and tried to shield the defender with his arse. But the defender just ran past him. That kind of thing won’t do at the this level. He needs to sharpen up.

Casey. Super first half. Faded out of it second half and then burst back into life to get a couple of big balls at the end when it was needed.

Tom was steady on intro. Two nice scores. I still think he’s an impact sub. But he is an option for frees too.

English. Worked hard. A great run to setup Hego for what should have been a goal. Harsh enough to drop him imo. I think the team named is a better team than the one that started.

Reidy wasn’t on long didn’t do much bar hit a bad wide.

Kiely is not looking outside his core 20 of the lads above plus mike Casey.

We were pretty shit really upfront. A ball of wides. A ball of missed frees. Two sideline cuts that didn’t even come into play. That short free shite.

We made an absolute bollox of managing out the game too. Were very lucky to get away with it.

Conditions were very tough, the pitch was like an ice rink with the wet grass and rock hard ground underneath it.

Great to win one below in the Pairc though. Our record not just recently but over history is absolutely horrendous down there.

On cork I thought they were very poor. Tim O was nailing the long range frees in fairness to him and if Rob Downey keeps going I’ll have to change my opinion on him just being a big galoot.

We made an absolute hero out of Collins in goals. Should have buried a few more. He was left with easy enough stops on most of the efforts. One very good save in fairness. He’s a bit of a liability too though.
That cork full back line is there to be hosed. Limerick weren’t clinical enough to do it today. But I wouldn’t bet against Galway making a better fist of it.

At the same time Cork were shit and we only bate them a point. Fitzgibbon is obviously a big loss for them too. If there is a round three there’ll be nothing in it.

You couldn’t rule out Galway either after yesterday, very impressive and Clare lying in the long grass too. You’d imagine Dublin are finished after that bating.

I reckon Marty Morrissey is @Percy

Hayes was very good down the stretch but hit two if not three abysmal short balls into Collins.

Conditions were absolutely abysmal in fairness. I couldn’t get over how greasy the pitch was when I invaded it. (Better luck next year PUC stewards)

Probably harsh on AOC and his frees. The misses were from very tough positions considering the conditions

AOC gets a lot of shtick as he is ultimately an 8/10 or maybe even a 7/10 freetaker. From open play though I have been very impressed with him this year he is a silky hurler who has plenty of workrate and is well able to win his own ball.

He was waiting there to come on for the last few minutes.

What a great win playing below par - thought the Bull was motm, stood up and won frees and got scores when we needed it most. POTY wrapped up now surely

Hope Cathal is ok. Today was a day when we were not finding and never got into flow.

So much more improvement in us. DOD is such a class act, a warrior.

He is obviously showing something in training so

Hayes shouldn’t shoot outside 35 yards

Every time you win a Munster is a fairly special day and today was no different. The players will all say that last year’s result made no impact on this year and that’s probably true, but they go through sessions to exorcise those demons.

Supporters don’t get to do that really and it was pretty fucking shit losing a Munster Final on our own patch, especially when there was a bit of expectation coming in. Penalties or not, it wasn’t a nice feeling. So it was nice to get one back in that regard, even if it is just another game for the players.

Conditions were shit. I don’t know how much the wind came across on TV but it was tough to play against; both keepers were barely breaking the opposite '65 on puckouts. Collins was getting a bit further than Quaid but he has a monster puck, it really showed how strong it was. And then it was shitty & wet too, very greasy. Rewards more skilful players and we saw plenty of that from both sides but it also leads to more basic errors, and maybe loose touches that you get away on other days not coming off.

I thought we did fairly well in the first half overall, thought we worked really hard. I thought the penalty was soft- Kyle definitely didn’t pull him to the ground. Okay, arm probably shouldn’t be there but, if that’s the case, what’s the difference between that and what NOL did at the other end? Consistency in those borderline calls is even more important.

We responded well with our own goal and worked a few nice scores but did miss a few chances too. Cork then had a little period of dominance when they managed to pin us back on our own puckout. They opened their lead out to 6 and if they had stretched it further, they’d have really put us under pressure. In fairness, we responded extremely well before the break to only go in 2 down: O’Neill got a nice score (after multiple attempts to rise it) and O’Brien got a lovely point.

Second half, it did feel like we were quite dominant in a lot of aspects but didn’t put it on the scoreboard. We’re going to have to do something about that shooting accuracy.

Also conceding silly frees- we gave Cork some unnecessary scoring opportunities, I felt. Once we got a bit more disciplined down the stretch, they weren’t getting many shots off. It was a day for backs and, generally, I felt our backs were well on top and defending well, just a couple of silly frees.

We were pressuring puckouts at both ends but we didn’t take a couple of goal chances from turnovers and also left a few other scores after us.

Cork always seemed able to keep 2 points ahead but it did feel like we would get that burst at some stage if we ever sorted our shooting. A Cork goal would have been the only concern but they didn’t really threaten again after the one they did get. In fairness, what a finish from Hayes- you’d be very disappointed to let it in but it was very opportunistic.

Casey was probably quieter than he normally is but that’s why you leave him on the pitch; the score out on the sideline to put us up was magical. And outrageous skill from Hego to set it up.

For me, there was only one real contender for man of the match- Darragh O’Donovan. Immense. He just showed why he is so important to this team and how much we missed him last year. Wins so much hard ball, always in the right position and is so composed in possession; his deliveries to the inside line are consistently top-class. We just don’t really have another player that fulfils the same role.

As I said, it was a day for backs and I thought all our 6 did well. Half-back line fairly imperious to be honest. I was a little worried about the bunch & break early on but Cork didn’t really get a lot of joy off their long puckout with the wind outside of the first couple. They tried to target Byrnes wing with the runners for the most part but they ended up langering a few on top of Kyle in the second half and that didn’t go so well for them, it actually just started bringing Kyle into the game.

Dan is a block. Fair play to Hayes for the finish for the goal but, generally, Dan did really well on one of the most dangerous inside forwards in the country. Connolly barely pucked a ball, Buckley got one lovely score- the other one was absolutely wide and Finn actually defended it really, really well.

Was tough for forwards but I don’t think ours were shit or anything, just a few misses and maybe the deliveries weren’t all as good as they needed to be.

Gillane did some things very well and I would say his wides were uncharacteristic tbh. You’d imagine he’ll be better the next day. SOB got a lovely score in the first half and should have had another in the second half, probably didn’t get fed enough. Thought his work rate was up.

I did think we looked better balanced when Adam came on at midfield, Lynch went to 11 and Aido went inside. Aido’s movement inside is top class and we should have fed him more- Lynch hit him one shit ball way over his head, English delivered him a lovely one and he got score. Work rate from Aido was top top class today- a lot of big tackles.

Big impact from Tom once again but let’s pray CON is fit. He didn’t have a very prominent game but that second half with the wind would have been made for him tbh.

I’m not going to labour the point on Owens, I just don’t think he’s a great ref but it is tough to ref in those conditions too. I feel like he isn’t consistent with himself at times and that would be the biggest frustration. It did feel like he gave Cork some very soft frees in the first half and I know that Cork supporters felt he went the other way in the second half. I suppose you can’t win as a ref.

Came home absolutely saturated, traffic was fucking appalling but, still, a glorious day.

Oh captain my captain

Some fight for jerseys over coming weeks - AG and Bull not guaranteed