Limerick GAA - Box Office

In fairness I thought he was good in the first half but totally faded. We were swamped at centre field after the break.

Still, it was WOD’s first proper outing. Wouldn’t be too harsh on him. There’s plenty to work with, he has the engine and athleticism to make it once his hurling sharpens up. He took a bit too much out of the ball at times today but hopefully it’ll improve with experience.

CLARE ARE SHITE @caulifloweredneanderthal @ChocolateMice LIMERICK WILL BEAT US NO PROB

Match on in Cork next Sunday apparently,Cork won the toss.

That was quick are you sure?

A quick toss it would seem Joe.

Yeah, Jerome has it up on twitter that it’s a double header next Sunday with Cork v Down in football. Winners of Limerick - Cork will play the winners of Galway - Waterford apparently.

Frank probably rang Spike at full time and they agreed to a coin toss over the phone. Frank called it and we were happy to willingly accept this, no doubt.

“Yeah, I called heads and it’s definitely heads here on the coin in front of me.”

Ah lovely a handy path to the final!

The thing is I like him and think he has the raw tools to make it but I’m saying he was disappointing today. Hard to see him being good enough to start championship at moment.

Disappointing to lose, but I wouldn’t be as downbeat as some people I talked to. Obviously going long spells without a score, only scoring four in the second half and only two from play is bad but we’ve been playing shite for so long, it was grand to get a runout against a decent team. Galway are just that bit further ahead of us at the moment, they knew exactly what they were doing when they woke up, that little bit slicker and very, very aggressive.

Galway got stuck into us, lots of little niggly fouls that the ref let go and we didn’t play the referee. Just a little bit more streetwise.

I thought English was good, probably the best of the full-back line. Casey’s hurling was a little slow, Richie Mc was mostly decent. But in general, we kept Galway quiet in terms of goal chances, Richie made the foul he had to the one time it looked like it might be on. But they were able to isolate Burke inside a few times and that’s not smart.

Hickey was the one man winning high ball. Few typically poor passes which did cost us but in general, he had a good game. Hannon was decent. Byrnes- poor, just stupid shooting from distance. Forwards got fuck all ball in the second half and a lot of it was because Byrnes was driving the ball wide. I mean… by all means take the shot with the wind if it’s on, Galway did it a lot in the first half, but he was waiting until he was under pressure. Silly.

Jim-Bob had one of his quietest ever games, got on a bit of ball but it bypassed him a lot. WOD struggled to impose himself too, you’d miss Browne in there, probably would have picked off a few scores. Think you need to have a midfielder who is able to rack up a few points from play.

The work rate of the forwards was just not good enough in the first half. Galway were walking out of defence and tacking on points from distance with the wind. We just let them do it, and that will have to improve. Things didn’t go Hegarty’s way, his hurling wasn’t up to scratch today and Galway were hanging off him from every puckout, knew they were all going his way. Dowling did pretty well, was the best of this line. Dempsey did well for the goal and scored a nice point but the game kind of bypassed him a lot.

Lynch looked very sharp in the first half, took his goal well. By far his best game of the season. Mulcahy was sharp too, always busy, got a couple of nice scores. Kyle was excellent too, point from a very narrow angle and laid off some lovely ball. Think he really made a claim to start come Championship.

Not really much impact from the subs. Nash worked hard but looked rusty, touch was a bit off. Morrissey never really got going and I’d say Pat & Colin Ryan didn’t touch the ball, or Ronan Lynch.

You up the intensity and stop their backs coming out so easy in the first half and we probably win that game. Galway much better at working the ball up to field, it was madness in the second half- forwards barely got a touch of the ball and that was the fault of the delivery. No real alternative on the puckouts either, Galway were always going to beat us in the air. There are some encouraging signs but still a lot of work to be done.

He must be 23/24 and is pushing on to Be just having the raw tools. Likewise hegarty. As I said at the start David Dempsey is a smashing player will grow into it. Hayes had a fine outing in the opening half at 14 so no doubt a load of limerick lads will want him moved to 6.

Is Byrnes a bit of a teachers pet? Surely Kiely must be sick of him hitting wide & wide in games where his forwards need decent supply from the HB line especially.
From most reports I read here after games it’s a constant complaint of his greedy poor shooting.

He thinks he’s the new Mark Foley.

One other thing- goals. When Dempsey actually did run at them, he opened them up and Lynch buried it.

There were a few times, particularly in the first half, where Hayes or Lynch got the ball and were one-on-one with their marker and were happy to go backwards. I’d be encouraging them to take their man on, both are well capable. If you don’t actually create the chance, you might win a free. There was another time where it opened up in front of Mulcahy and he just tapped it over. Which is grand, I suppose, we did struggle to score at times so I can’t really blame him. But if we want to be really challenging, we need to be ruthless.

I think that will be one thing that Nash will bring. He does like running at defenders and going for goal.

We’re fucked. Fucked, I’m telling ye!

Winning possession and immediately running away from goal is a disgusting habit for any forward. As you said, take on your man & at least win a free or worst over carry it.

John McGrath in Tipp is great for taking on his marker.

Byrnes saw the Galway half-backs and midfielders in the first half firing over points from ridiculous distances and I presume he thought “I’ll be doing in the second half when we have the wind”.

However, all of those Galway scores came when they were under no pressure. They had won the ball in defence, burst out and laid it off to a man in space. It was poor from Limerick. In the second half, Galway knew well what they done in the first and did not let us have any space. Their work rate is very impressive.

So when Byrnes was taking shots, he was under pressure and they went wide. He is well capable of scoring 3 or 4 points a game from wing-back if he’s bursting out of defence with a bit of space in front of him. One time he had have that today, he continued to carry and Galway closed him down. Galway obviously realised the threat he posed. Just need to be a bit smarter.

For me, he’s out of form at the moment and was poor again today…must have hit 3 poor wides and another couple of hopeless balls into the forwards.

I can’t understand that second half performance…it was flat beyond belief…the players just didnt have the legs to up the ante at all.

We actually reverted to TJ tactics with the breeze hitting one aimless ball after another…it was baffling…considering the start we had in the first half…where we did hurl well at times with measured balls and took some excellent scores.

Said it earlier…but English, Hannon and Hayes were v good…and I’m glad we didnt draw Clare.

Glad we didn’t draw Clare, but we’ll learn nothing against Cork. They might beat us if we’re not at the races but we’ll learn fuck all.

One from Limerick, Cork, Galway and Waterford will be in a league final. None of those four teams have pulled up trees this year so far.